We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hank Williams Sr” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hank Williams Memorial - Oakwood Annex Cemetery

Hank Williams Memorial - Oakwood Annex Cemetery
Upper Wetumpka Rd, Montgomery, AL
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 62 things to do in Montgomery
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grave sites of Hank Williams, Sr., and his wife in the Oakwood Cemetery Annex.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hank Williams Sr”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Beautiful cemetery and beautiful memorial to Hank Williams Sr and Audrey Williams! A must see if your a Hank Williams fan.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Okay, not really a Hank Williams fan. But thought I should see this. I was fortunate. A good friend is the daughter of the artist that designed the memorial so she made a perfect guide. Much of what is interesting is the Oakwood Cemetery. It is a very historical place and I would suggest getting a tour. There are several each year. Around the HW Memorial are the graves of piglets from France and England who came to Montgomery to learn to fly when Montgomery opened the first flight school. So, interested in HWor not, check I tut.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A must for any country western fan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

On our way from Georgia thru Alabama we stopped to see this memorial. Very elaborate monument for Hank and his wife. If you have time to wander thru older part of cemetery there is alot of history in this cemetery. I had expected a bigger place to park and visit near this memorial, but wasn't disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
143 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Gravesite is well taken care of”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The site is taken care of and well done. Grave site is made of beautiful marble. One of the good stops in Montgomery.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Happy for Hank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A talented man with demons is laid to rest not far from downtown Montgomery, A little gaudy but fitting for the man, his wife and the time of his life. It can be a little complicated to find--you have to go by the main Oakwood cemetery and the St. Margaret cemetery till you come to the Annex but there is a sign by the road. Surrounded by graves of unknown soldiers from the Civil War, these cemeteries lay testament to the men and women buried there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank Williams Memorial - Oakwood Annex Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Hank Williams Memorial - Oakwood Annex Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hank Williams Memorial - Oakwood Annex Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.