We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mural in basement is a must-see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dexter Avenue King Memorial Baptist Church

Dexter Avenue King Memorial Baptist Church
454 Dexter Ave., Montgomery, AL
334-263-3970
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 31 Attractions in Montgomery
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: Leisure education, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., used the pulpit of this unassuming red brick church to lead the 1955-56 Montgomery bus boycott, which ignited the civil rights movement. Steeped in history, this church, where Dr. King served as pastor from 1954 to 1960, was also the site of many civil rights meetings during that era.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Mural in basement is a must-see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great video about the church and Martin Luther King Jr's work there, followed by a volunteer-led tour of the basement, including a beautiful mural (with scenes and stories from the civil rights movement that literally brought tears to our eyes). A visit to the room that was MLK's office when he was pastor there, then upstairs to the sanctuary where he preached. A great place to begin understanding and exploring the civil rights trail.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    18
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Ga
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Historical Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

If you are into history, then this is a must stop for any and all. I like going to places where I can stand where great people from the past have stood. Gives you an eerie feeling

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Excellent docent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We rang the bell to be admitted to the church and were let in by a volunteer docent who seemed glad to have us there. We were the only ones there on this January day. The visit began with an explanation and history lesson of sorts of a large mural painted on the downstairs wall. From there we went upstairs to the sanctuary, sat in pews, and listened to the well informed guide. Our tour ended with a video presentation about the church and Martin Luther King. From here we walked to the parsonage but it is a few blocks away and we found there was free parking at the parsonage when we arrived there. If you are visiting both the church and parsonage there is a combination ticket which saves a few dollars.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A part of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

To be in the same church as those who paved the way for the Civil Rights Movement was surreal. The church was built in the late 1800s and is simply amazing. We loved it

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin, North Carolina
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Happy Travels!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This was a great experience. After visiting the Dexter parsonage (home) we then went to visit the church, which was the only church where Rev. King was Senior pastor. It is still an active church today with two orginial stained glass windows from time of building. You start out in the basement where the tour guide presents a video and explains a mural on one of the walls detailing the events of Dr.King's plight up until his death. The mural also shows other people involved in the civil rights movement. Next you go up stairs into the sanctuary of the church where you are allowed to take pictures. Be warned there are no good places to park and a lot of walking to do.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dexter Avenue King Memorial Baptist Church also viewed

 

Been to Dexter Avenue King Memorial Baptist Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dexter Avenue King Memorial Baptist Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.