We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop for a history buff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First White House of the Confederacy

First White House of the Confederacy
644 Washington Ave, Montgomery, AL 36104
334-242-1861
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 31 Attractions in Montgomery
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1835, this was the home of the Confederacy President, Jefferson Davis.
Alabama
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great stop for a history buff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The tour guide was very informative and spent lots of time answering questions since we were the only ones in there. If you like southern history, this is a must see!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    36
    10
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“El Jefe, "American Patriot?"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Montgomery is filled with a rich fleet of historical nooks--if you have several days there, stop by the White House for a few minutes to see the original furniture. Otherwise, devote your time to learning about and honoring this man's victims instead.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed this quaint little place. I guess back then it was a huge house, but not by today's standards. There is no admission charge, but we had to put $10 or so in their donation bin. That amount was well worth the self guided tour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Interesting History and Southern Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The history of this building, the CSA and Jefferson Davis were fascinating and very well-presented. The guide, Mr. Henry, welcomed us warmly to the house and enthusiastically showed us all the details we might have missed. He was thrilled talk to us about the building, which really added to the experience.

Definitely stop by if you're interested in history. A great way to spend an hour or so!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, MN
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Self guided tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a very good tour. There was so much history here and the self guided tour is perfect for kids with shorter attention spans. You can go at your own pace instead of listening to a tour guide that is long winded. We would have liked to look around outside, but it was pouring rain. However, we still enjoyed it and learned quite a bit.

This site is free, but we gave a donation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First White House of the Confederacy also viewed

 

Been to First White House of the Confederacy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First White House of the Confederacy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.