We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, quiet, average capital” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alabama State Capitol

Alabama State Capitol
600 Dexter Avenue, Montgomery, AL 36104
334-242-3935
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 31 Attractions in Montgomery
Type: Government Buildings, History Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1851, the capitol building served as the first capitol for the Confederate States of America.
Camp Pendleton, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly, quiet, average capital”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Very easy to get to, lots of parking space, friendly people, and nice place to spend a day visiting all the sites within walking distance. Worth a detour to visit but compared to other state capitals it rates average. Unfortunately not a place I would visit more than every few years.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    41
    16
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thorsby, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Girl Scout Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had plans to attend the Alabama State house to walk in the footsteps of lawmakers. We finished our agenda early so decided to take the girls to the Capitol. FYI pack lite because you have to go through a metal detector. It's a self guided tour so you go at your own pace. I would've loved a map of the Capitol explaining the different rooms but one wasn't available. The girls enjoyed seeing everything. The last time I visited the Capitol was in 1984 and I remember this building being gigantic but now it's only large.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice historical things to see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

A nice place to visit for some architectural beauty. Statues on the grounds and flags of the US. A must see if doing the historical sightseeing thing.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tour Docent is a Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We toured the state capitol building on Saturday morning and were blessed to have as our docent a personal, knowledgeable, informative, and gracious gentleman with a great sense of humour. He brought to life the interesting history of the capitol and its previous governors including very personal anecdotes about his personal relationships and experiences with George Wallace. The stories were wonderful and I would wholeheartedly recommend that you try to schedule a tour when Doctor Ibery (not sure of the spelling) is the docent. And the tour was free!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
113 attraction reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Interesting Juxtaposition with Other Sites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We found the mixture of the capitol building, the first White House of the Presidency and the Dexter Avenue Baptist Church, all within a block of each other very interesting. The capitol building is beautiful, inside and out, particularly the colorful inside dome and murals from history of the state. Of note for me was the portrait of Governor George Wallace, whom I remember from the Civil Rights era. Then to learn that the President of the Confederacy was inaugurated on the front steps of the capital, and lived just a short distance away was fun. Then to visit Dexter Avenue Baptist Church, which has a view of the front of the capitol just a block away, and learn that this is where Martin Luther King, Jr. planned much of the civil rights movement, was mind blowing. All of this history within such a short distance of each other, much of it of conflicting views and interests. This really was a wonderful learning experience.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alabama State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alabama State Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.