We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Capital” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alabama State Capitol

Alabama State Capitol
600 Dexter Avenue, Montgomery, AL 36104
334-242-3935
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 63 things to do in Montgomery
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1851, the capitol building served as the first capitol for the Confederate States of America.
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
197 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Capital”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The drive up to the front of the Capital gives a view that is nothing short of dramatic. Our tour was a combination of self-guided, guided by a person who was giving school children a tour, and an individual conversation with a very informative and gracious person who was there to actually do business. Across all there was a tremendous sense of pride of the Capital and for good reason. It is a beautiful building. I dare say that looking up at the dome from the first floor is more awe inspiring than being in the Capital in DC. The sense of history in a building housing the first confederate capital, the proceedings of the Alabama secession, and Jefferson Davis as President of the Confederacy is tremendous.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    52
    22
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millbrook, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We went with our homeschool group and had a great time. Our tour guide was wonderful and it was very interesting. A little tip though if you're going with small children: there is only one bathroom available to the public and it is in a very inconvenient area (there are other restrooms but they are staff only); make sure you take the kids to the bathroom BEFORE starting the tour because it is a real pain to go mid-tour.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We did not get to see much of the capitol because of the time factor. We will need to return at a later time to see and experience the building.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Capital Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our Capital is one of the oldest and most beautiful. The inside is decorated in antebellum style and there are guides to tell you the history. Truly worth the time to tour.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The state capitol building has been restored to it's former glory. Each room is exquisite, especially the tromp l'oil finish in the former House of Representatives. The murals above the rotunda are beautiful and depict the history of Alabama.

The capitol sits at the head of downtown and you can combine the trip to the capitol with a visit to the Alley downtown and the riverfront.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alabama State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Alabama State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alabama State Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.