We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Architecture” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alabama State Capitol

Alabama State Capitol
600 Dexter Avenue, Montgomery, AL 36104
334-242-3935
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 62 things to do in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Leisure education, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1851, the capitol building served as the first capitol for the Confederate States of America.
Little Elm, Texas
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
117 attraction reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Wonderful Architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The balconies add a wonderful and unique twist to the beautiful capitol building. This was the 7th of our 8 capitols we visited on our recent vacations and this one is towards the top of the list because of its beauty and elegance. The back features stained glass windows with the iron clad balconies featured on both the front and the back. The grounds do not offer near as many monuments as others we visited but the building is the focal point.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    45
    20
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“State Capitol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

When the state legislature moved out to acquire more office space, the Capitol building (c. 1855) was completely renovated and decorated to reflect its appearance during the days of secession. Beautiful furniture, murals, and informational exhibits make this a "must see" stop on any visit to Montgomery.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Huge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

It is very large and beautiful. However, they need to pay more attention to individual guests for tours instead of just groups.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I took my daughter to visit and we took pictures outside the Capitol. The flowers and grounds are so well maintaned and beautiful.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Striking buildings and great flag lawn!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Kids love to see all the US state flags and the rock plates with etched with each state's name in local material--granite, slate, marble, etc. Fun visit that can be done in an hour. Go to Chris's Hot Dogs afterwards for historical food treats!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alabama State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Alabama State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alabama State Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.