We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel. The Parking was Terrible!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Government Street, Mobile, AL 36602 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 65 hotels in Mobile
Gonzales, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice Hotel. The Parking was Terrible!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

I was in Mobile for one night for business. This hotel was very nice. It was located in a beautiful part of town. The room was nice and clean. The business meeting that I was attending was actually held in the hotel. The room the meeting was in was also very nice. My only complaint was the parking lot. The parking was TERRIBLE!! There are 16 floors of rooms but they only have about 40 parking spaces. If you had to leave you were lucky if you could find a spot when you got back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, December 4, 2010
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Downtown Mobile, AL. We appreciate your feedback and are taking measures to correct this issue. We have recently acquired the parking garage next to the hotel for our guests. This should eliminate the problem. Thank you again for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    65
    24
    14
    14
See reviews for
47
46
19
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

My husband and I were just in Mobile for one night, and received the downtown Holiday Inn when we bid through Priceline. We were very satisfied with our stay.

Check-in was quick and easy. The employees at reception were friendly and attentive. We had been assigned a 2 queen bed room, but my request for a king room instead was cheerfully met.

This hotel has undergone a renovation, and it shows. The public areas are lovely, including the spacious lobby, which has lots of comfy seating. There is a small business center with computer terminals for internet access and a fax machine, and free wifi is available throughout the hotel (we did not use any of these, so I can't comment on how well it all works).

There's a restaurant on the lobby level, and we had a very nice breakfast there. You can order from a full menu, or have the buffet.

We did take advantage of the Skyview Lounge on the uppermost (17th) floor for a couple of drinks in the evening, and it was just beautiful. I was hoping for a fancy martini, but nothing of the type was on offer, so I settled for a glass of wine instead. The lounge is decorated in a retro-mod way, and we loved it, spending an hour or so on a comfortable sofa enjoying our drinks and watching a spectacular lightening storm out of the 360 degrees of windows.

Our room was spacious with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was small (old-school dimensions, nothing much they could have done about that in the renovation), but nicely appointed with a marble tub surround and a curved shower curtain rod. The toiletries were from Bath and Body Works.

The air conditioning was an old-school wall unit rather than central, but had been updated to be controlled from an electronic thermostat on the wall.

Be aware that the free parking is very limited. We were able to snag one of the last available spots when we came in at 8pm. If you don't score a space in their lot, there is a pay garage right across the street, and you will not be reimbursed for this by the hotel (as explained in a sign at reception).

I would be happy to stay here again. We found all the staff we encountered (reception, bartender, waiter, and cook) to be friendly and efficient, and the hotel itself is beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

This was a good location hotel for a lot of downtown Mobile attractions. Got there early and room was not ready, but it was ready by the 3pm check-in time. She told us she had another room but not as good a view. We waited and got 12th floor looking at shipyard and Mobile Bay. Room was clean. Hotel in need of reburbishing. Rooms has some chipping paint in bathroom. Can tell been awhile since fixed up but still was clean as could be. Did not hear sounds from room next door wvwn though we knew there were people next to us. Daughter loved playing in outside pool that is on 3rd level of hotel. Small pool but she was the only one out there.

WARNING: Hotel has HUGE parking issues. They are free but only 60 spaces for over 200 rooms. We got there about 1 and had no problem parking. Those arriving later have to park along hotel building or park across street at public parking garage for a fee.

For Kids free meal you have to ask for a coupon at the front desk.

Will use this hotel again for any Mobile arena shows we go to see.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchez, MS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Room size was nice, bathroom EXTREMELY small, especially with three teenagers. Totally inadequate parking - plenty of parking for people visiting the 17th floor lounge, not enough for paying guests. Received parking ticket, hotel just brushed it off. Was within walking distance of Saenger Theatre, but so were other, newer hotels.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holcomb, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

Upon arrival, the hotel staff at the check in desk was very nice; however, our room was not of the type we reserved. We were upgraded for the night but then asked to move rooms again for the next day as the check in staff had overbooked that room type as well. The area was nice and within walking distance to the Civic Center and Dauphin St. which was good for us, but I would not stay there again.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

This cute little hotel is right in the historic distric. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location makes it ideal for walking tours or riding the free trolley around town. Take a trip back in time to the Skyview Lounge on the17th floor, don't know if it was meant to be retro or just hasn't been remodeled since the Johnson administration. Either way, it is very cool. The beds are super comfy too.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

I stayed at the Holiday Inn in downtown Mobile for 3 nights at the beginning of November. Was in town for a conference at the Renaissance Riverview, but got a much better rate at the Holiday Inn (through Hotwire) than at the conference hotel. The Holiday Inn was excellent, with friendly staff, a clean room with a good view, and a very comfortable bed. The breakfast at the restaurant downstairs was good, and served quickly & with a friendly attitude. This hotel was also an easy and safe walk from everything on Water St. and the nightlife on Dauphine.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Address: 301 Government Street, Mobile, AL 36602 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mobile
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Mobile Hotel Offers Convenient Location Welcome to the downtown Holiday Inn Hotel in the historic district of Mobile, Alabama. Located just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing quick access to many popular attractions and activities. Less than a mile from our hotel you'll find the Carnival Mardi Gras Museum, the Gulf Coast Exploreum and the IMAX Theater. Other attractions less than 20 miles from our hotel in Mobile include the USS Alabama, the Mobile Zoo, the Mobile Botanical Gardens and several well-known golf courses. Business travelers also enjoy a stay at our hotel in downtown Mobile due to its close proximity to area businesses. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB), our hotel is also within a mile of the Mobile Bay Convention Center. Businesses less than five miles from our downtown Mobile hotel include Bender Ship Building, Austal USA, Alabama State Docks, Brookley Complex, Atlantic Marine and Carnival Cruise Lines. Our accommodations offer premium amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. Guests can enjoy the convenience of free high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and lounge, laundry facilities, a fitness center and a business center. Book your reservations now for the Holiday Inn hotel in Mobile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District Hotel Mobile
Mobile Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.