We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and close to downtown area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Government Street, Mobile, AL 36602 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 65 Hotels in Mobile
Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and close to downtown area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the First Light Half Marathon. This hotel was located at the start and only a few blocks from the finish. It was a very nice hotel to stay at and a great value for a downtown hotel.

There is plenty of parking around the hotel but you will be charged per day to park in the hotel lot. The hotel gives you a pass to put on the dash of your car.

Check-in was quick and friendly. The room had a slight cleaning smell when we first went in but it wasn't bad and dissipated during our stay. The HVAC was quiet. Internet speed was very slow but adequate for email and browsing. I had some skips when streaming SiriusXM. The High Definition TV did not have high definition channels - only standard definition.

There is a nice bar on the top floor with great views. It is quite large but not that active when we were there (it was early and the night before the marathon.) It did smell a bit smokey so I assume smoking is still allowed in bars in this area but I didn't see anyone smoking.

You are a few blocks from Royal St. and a lot of nice restaurants. Easy walking distances from a lot of places to go to eat.

Overall this a nice hotel for a great price.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    70
    27
    15
    15
See reviews for
53
47
19
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
houston
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn downtown Mobile Alabama. In my work I stay at many of the holiday inn chain hotels, however I have never stayed at one that was of this quality and hospitality. It was exceptionally clean, with a fantastic staff, and the room was newly furnished and kept in good order. I had the pleasure of meeting the Vice President of the hotel; and had the honor of having lunch with her. Maura truly represents herself and the hotel in the utmost professionalism, and it is my pleasure to strongly recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This Holiday Inn is located in the charming historic area of downtown Mobile. The lobby was clean, gorgeous, and exuded the charm of a bygone era. John, the front desk agent, was extremely cordial and ensured I received a complimentary beverage given to all Priority Club members. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable so we had a refreshing night's rest after a long day of driving and visiting. The sink area and the actual toilet and tub were separated. This made for somewhat tight quarters in this area, which is the only small complaint about the room. The hotel does have an onsite restaurant, however, we did not dine in it. It is close to several museums and in driving distance to a unique and fun restaurant named Lambert's Cafe (aka The Throwed Roll), located in Foley, AL. Of course, locally, one can get their fill of local seafood and great barbecue. I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I booked a 2 queen bedroom for one night on Hotwire and it was just amazing! The staff was wonderful. The lady who checked us in, Sonya, was so polite and helped us with everything! The lobby is just beautiful and the location of the hotel is amazing. I suggest you ask for a high floor so you get a better view of the city! One thing that was difficult was the parking. There is not that much parking around the hotel itself. It took a while to find a parking space. Overall, this is a really nice hotel to stay at!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I was very impressed with this establishment. I was expecting a low key, quick in and out stay on a road trip from Florida to Texas. The front desk really went above and beyond to make it a great experience. Erin offered me a free drink coupon from the bar, and called about 2 hours in to make sure everything was all right. It was. I didn't use the coupon but it was a nice thing for them to do. The room was average, with a nice view of Mobile. Nothing was out of order. For the price, a fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors= better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Today 12/23 is my birthday, my girlfriend and I just drove from Tampa and are exhausted. We arrived without a reservation and were greeted with very pleasant and very professional Sonja at the front desk. We were checked in at a very reasonable price and made great conversation with Sonja along with getting a great dinner recomondation. I want to thank sonja and the rest of her staff for making our arrival and stay feel like we are regular guests. We will be back on our round trip.

P.s. the room is very clean and updated. No problem at all

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed here a couple of nights ago and was very pleased with the hotel. I was first impressed by the size of the Holiday Inn and when we enters we were greeted by the front desk staff among them was Susan who made sure we had everything we needed for a pleasurable stay. I also met with Maura during afternoon and she recommended the in house restaurant as well as the Admiral next door. I chose to venture out and I'm glad I did I had a delectable meal there during a not so typical lunch buffet. I would love to suggest items on that we're served, however they vary the selections daily.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Address: 301 Government Street, Mobile, AL 36602 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Mobile
#12 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Mobile Hotel Offers Convenient Location Welcome to the downtown Holiday Inn Hotel in the historic district of Mobile, Alabama. Located just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing quick access to many popular attractions and activities. Less than a mile from our hotel you'll find the Carnival Mardi Gras Museum, the Gulf Coast Exploreum and the IMAX Theater. Other attractions less than 20 miles from our hotel in Mobile include the USS Alabama, the Mobile Zoo, the Mobile Botanical Gardens and several well-known golf courses. Business travelers also enjoy a stay at our hotel in downtown Mobile due to its close proximity to area businesses. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB), our hotel is also within a mile of the Mobile Bay Convention Center. Businesses less than five miles from our downtown Mobile hotel include Bender Ship Building, Austal USA, Alabama State Docks, Brookley Complex, Atlantic Marine and Carnival Cruise Lines. Our accommodations offer premium amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. Guests can enjoy the convenience of free high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and lounge, laundry facilities, a fitness center and a business center. Book your reservations now for the Holiday Inn hotel in Mobile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District Hotel Mobile
Mobile Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.