We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com IHG
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Government Street, Mobile, AL 36602 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 63 hotels in Mobile
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Overall it is a good place to stay. Parking could be a limitless inconvenienced. Parking lot gets full easily and you have to go across the street for to public parking. It is free because of your hotel stay but I still did not feel my car was secured. Other then that it is a nice place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    60
    21
    13
    14
See reviews for
43
42
17
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I am a business traveler, and when I travel to Mobile, it's the Holiday Inn Downtown for me. Maura Garino has lead her entire staff in making the tired traveler really feel at home. Maura always is sure that I am satisfied with everything. All the staff are eager to help me and make me feel special. I look forward to my next stay and am sure you will feel the same after your first stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great location in the heart of downtown Mobile.
Staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms look like they have been renovated lately.
The Skyview Lounge has one of the best views in town.
Overall, nice place

Room Tip: Better view on higher floors !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

It's a beautiful hotel that was recently renovated. The staff goes above and beyond to make it the best stay! The only bad thing I can say is there is still a little smell of smoke lingering in the hallway of my floor but my co worker who stay on a different floor said he had no smell of smoke so it might have just been someone on my floor smoking. Overall I will be back without a doubt and next time I'm coming with my family since the area around the hotel is adorable!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is in the middle of all the great historic attractions. It is only 2 blocks from Dolphin street. This hotel has a great view of the bay and the city. The hotel is an older building that has been maintained very well. The staff is very friendly and always greeted me with a smile. I even saw the manager standing in the lobby greeting visitors. She was very friendly and made sure our stay was great.

Room Tip: The higher the floor that you request, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband, baby and I stayed at this hotel in November. I wasn't really impressed with the hotel, the staff is friendly but not very attenttive, I asked for a crib and it would be our room but it wasn't. I had to call to let someone bring it. I booked my stay including breakfast, expecting a buffet, but instead we had to order which wasn't very convient with our little girl. I also don't know for what amount you can order.
There is a fridge and microwave in the room wich is nice, however the fridge made so much noise I had to unplug it to be able to sleep. The room wasn't very clean either (hair in the bathroom from a previous guest etc.)
Next time when I am in Mobile I will try a different hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Stinsa,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our friendly staff and the microwave in the room.

However, We’re sorry you received poor service from out front desk and housekeeping as well a the noisy refrigerator. We will address this points and assure you that the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

When we arrived were were greeted by a very friendly man who was also helpful to us several times.We had a great room with a view of Mobile. Our room was very clean and comfortable.
No complaints. We took the elevator to the top floor, where there is a restaurant with a panoramic
view of the city. We ate dinner there. It is not an upscale restaurant (casual with a bar) and they
get the food brought up from the restaurant on the first floor-- but the view is beautiful. As we ate dinner, we watched the sunset. Great place to stay and it is interesting because the building is round. Our room had curved walls because of this added feature.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District Hotel Mobile
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District Hotel
Holiday Inn Mobile
Mobile Holiday Inn
Address: 301 Government Street, Mobile, AL 36602 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mobile
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Mobile Hotel Offers Convenient Location Welcome to the downtown Holiday Inn Hotel in the historic district of Mobile, Alabama. Located just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing quick access to many popular attractions and activities. Less than a mile from our hotel you'll find the Carnival Mardi Gras Museum, the Gulf Coast Exploreum and the IMAX Theater. Other attractions less than 20 miles from our hotel in Mobile include the USS Alabama, the Mobile Zoo, the Mobile Botanical Gardens and several well-known golf courses. Business travelers also enjoy a stay at our hotel in downtown Mobile due to its close proximity to area businesses. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB), our hotel is also within a mile of the Mobile Bay Convention Center. Businesses less than five miles from our downtown Mobile hotel include Bender Ship Building, Austal USA, Alabama State Docks, Brookley Complex, Atlantic Marine and Carnival Cruise Lines. Our accommodations offer premium amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. Guests can enjoy the convenience of free high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and lounge, laundry facilities, a fitness center and a business center. Book your reservations now for the Holiday Inn hotel in Mobile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.