We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michael and Linda's Wedding Weekend In Mobile, Al” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District to your Saves list
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Government Street, Mobile, AL 36602 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Michael and Linda's Wedding Weekend In Mobile, Al”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

First, I would like to thank all the wonderful staff at the Holiday Inn Downtown Mobile Historic District for their professionalism. I am from Mobile but live out of state and needed a downtown location for our wedding guest who traveled from various states to stay. Maura and the hotel staff were friendly, helpful and encouraging to our wedding guest. I highly recommend this hotel. The hotel is convenient for touring downtown Mobile. The beds sleep very comfortably and all of our guest had nothing but great things to say. The Skyview Lounge is elegant and romantic. Very beautiful hotel. Will recommend to anyone traveling to Mobile, AL.

Room Tip: Stay at this hotel and you will not go wrong!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    82
    31
    18
    17
See reviews for
63
57
21
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Location is right downtown. This is an older facility and somewhat dated, but some recent remodels and perhaps some excellent maintenance staff seem to make the difference. The room was a very nice king with a "knock out view". Bath was a bit tight, but I made it work. Went up to the penthouse lounge for a couple drinks and enjoyed the view of Mobile Bay and saw most of downtown.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Ah Mobile Alabama.... A historic town with an obvious eye on keeping to the "look" of old times.... Yet hidden right on the main street was the Holiday Inn.... Now please understand I've stayed in a plethora of hotels over the past few years from dives to some high class places. This hotel sits on the high end of the spectrum.

For background I was announcing a tournament at the Mobile Civic Center (a mere block and a half away) so this hotel was perfect for our needs.

This is a "round" Holiday Inn which for the uninitiated means the room isn't all squared off... their are a limited number of rooms per floor and when you exit the elevator it does not matter which way you go because you will end up at your room...

So onto details... As that's why you're reading this.

1. Parking: There is a parking garage across a side street that is easily accessed. You do pay for parking but it's worth it. There are security cameras which is a plus.

2. Lobby: Beautifully decorated with a fireplace prominent along one wall. Also a nice sitting area to unwind and read.

3. Check in: Fast and efficient. (Oh quick side note- There is a sundries shop next to the counter with a little bit of everything for the seasoned traveler including toiletries and food stuffs).

4. Elevators: Easily accessed and they were fast.

5. The ROOM: Nice crown molding along the ceilings. Comfortable beds with 2 sets of pillows on each bed with a cute wrap. One set said "soft" the other "firm" so you could choose the type of pillows you prefer.

6. The view: Not much to say on this. We were on the 10th floor on the East side so we saw the parking garage and a little bit of the city. It was ok.

7. Maid service: They kept the room immaculate.

8. Pool. There is one though we didn't have time to enjoy it.

9. Other: There is a bar named Skyview Lounge on the top floor. The view from there was spectacular.

10. Room service: They have it though we didn't use it. However I would note they have a breakfast delivery service from their restaurant.

11. Restaurant: There is one just off the lobby with a good buffet breakfast on most days.

Anyway I liked it. My wife LOVED it and we're going back in December for another stay.....

Safe travels!

Room Tip: Ask for a street side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel if you will be staying in Mobile. It is conveniently located and the staff are great. I love rooms with microwaves and refrigerators when I travel and the bed was super comfortable. I had a great view from my room and am heading to the Skyview Lounge for some dinner and to check out the view of Mobile bay. There is an amazing lunch buffet across the street in the "sister" hotel The Admiral Semmes hotel with all homemade food and family recipes that will make you drool!! Can't wait to come back next time I am in town!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the best Holiday Inn hotels that I have stayed in. The staff is tops, the restaurant had good food and is nicely appointed. Although it is an old hotel it has recently been refurbished. Great place to stay

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuscaloosa, alabama, usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

maura and the staff are the best. they were the host hotel for our internationally televised boxing event on fox sportsnet and made our stay a pleasure. they handled tons of logistics with ease and a smile and made all the boxers, lighting, sound, camera and ring personel feel at home, or even better than home. would have them as the host hotel again in a second!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful!! Maura treated myself and colleagues to a wonderful lunch!! I highly recommend this hotel. Walking distance to many great restaurants and 5-10min drive to historic areas. I def would consider coming back with my spouse as a leisure visit

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Address: 301 Government Street, Mobile, AL 36602 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Mobile Hotel Offers Convenient Location Welcome to the downtown Holiday Inn Hotel in the historic district of Mobile, Alabama. Located just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing quick access to many popular attractions and activities. Less than a mile from our hotel you'll find the Carnival Mardi Gras Museum, the Gulf Coast Exploreum and the IMAX Theater. Other attractions less than 20 miles from our hotel in Mobile include the USS Alabama, the Mobile Zoo, the Mobile Botanical Gardens and several well-known golf courses. Business travelers also enjoy a stay at our hotel in downtown Mobile due to its close proximity to area businesses. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB), our hotel is also within a mile of the Mobile Bay Convention Center. Businesses less than five miles from our downtown Mobile hotel include Bender Ship Building, Austal USA, Alabama State Docks, Brookley Complex, Atlantic Marine and Carnival Cruise Lines. Our accommodations offer premium amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. Guests can enjoy the convenience of free high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and lounge, laundry facilities, a fitness center and a business center. Book your reservations now for the Holiday Inn hotel in Mobile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District Hotel Mobile
Mobile Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.