We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Mobile

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Mobile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Mobile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   950 West I 65 Service Road South, Mobile, AL 36609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 63 hotels in Mobile
Charleston, WV
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Stay away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I decided to stay here based on reviews of the hotel. Neither one of us felt safe. We both noticed several things. First the hotel in front of the Residence Inn had a gate that could be closed to block their entrance, Second the hotel adjacent to the hotel had a cop car sitting in front the entire time we were there. Third, we had to use our room key to enter the front door at 7 o'clock when it was still light. On a different note, when we arrived at the hotel at 4 o'clock, we were informed that our room wouldn't be ready for at least an hour. They offered us a studio instead which we took. I don't recommend staying at this hotel or in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy G, General Manager at Residence Inn Mobile, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Saturndriver,

We are very sad to hear that some safety precautions caused a negative perception. Mobile is a safe and enjoyable place and we regret that you didn’t get to see it this way. We thank you for your feedback and taking the time for this review, we do apologize if your room was not ready at the time of checking in; we have addressed this with the staff.


Thank you,
Christy Gurene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    15
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
7
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed the recurring a visit to see my husband who's ship is being built there. Wonderful staff always very friendly! Breakfast was always hot and ready and so was dinner. Staff always ready to help with any issues. Kimberly , Melissa and Tiffany were some of the front desk personal that always greeted us with a smile!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy G, General Manager at Residence Inn Mobile, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear OSC022704,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Residence Inn Mobile and for your kind comment s about our staff, breakfast and social, I wil make sure to share with all of them.
We hope that you get to come back soon to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalmar, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I move to work 4 months to Mobile and I lived 4 months in this hotel.
The hotel is really nice, clean and the people that work here are friendly.
The room was really big, it was more a small flat then an hotel room.
4 days a week they serve dinner, they don't offer really delicious food, but sometime is good have this opportunity instead to go out and eat in a restaurant. Unfortunately they serve the dinner a little bit too early, and most of the day I was still at work (but I think it was my working time strange).
They have a small swimming pool, but indoor. But outside they have a bbq that all the guest can use, and it's a really good opportunity.

The location is also good, close to the highway, a mall and a few miles from the airport.

If I need to come back to Mobile, I will stay for sure again in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy G, General Manager at Residence Inn Mobile, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear 8jack83 ,

We really appreciate you for taking the time to share your stay of 4 months at the Residence Inn as we strive for all of our guests to have a "home away from home" experience while staying with us and it seems as we succeeded!

We hope to see you again whenever you are in the Mobile area.

Thank you,
Christy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Excellent staff and very relaxing outdoor fireplace for the evening as well and breakfast when it is cool. We had the 2 bedroom suite and each bedroom has a bathroom. Great for family travel when you need more space. Great location and a full hot breakfast. Very comfortable beds off the road quiet location. Recommneded !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy G, General Manager at Residence Inn Mobile, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Nextdoorguy,


Thank you for taking the to recommend our Residence Inn in Mobile and for your comments about our staff and our suites. I wil make sure to share your comments with the staff! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed here for three weeks and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The rooms are newly remodeled and very nice - stainless steel fridge and dishwasher. The beds are typical Marriott which I think are very comfortable. I liked the location - a few minute drive to restaurants, bars, the mall, Starbucks, Kinko's - all the things a business traveler needs. It's also right down the street from a Fresh Market making grocery shopping easy. The staff was great, very friendly. It's about a 15 minute drive to the airport and about 10 minutes to downtown.

My only complaint was no partnership with a local gym but I was able to go Omni fitness just down the street and they gave me a great deal when I said I staying at the Residence Inn.

All in all I would stay again and recommend this hotel.

My one tip is regarding transportation from the airport. My experience with the cab drivers at the airport was a bit weird and I didn't feel very safe. I would talk to the hotel and see if they can arrange transportation to pick you up at the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy G, General Manager at Residence Inn Mobile, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear lwalker1967,


Thank you for sharing your recent three week stay at the Residence Inn Mobile! It's great to know that our location worked perfectly for you. And thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, I will make sure to post your review for all to see. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here on our way from Montgomery to Biloxi and this is a great mid point, especially if you arrive on a late flight. Check in was a breeze, the room was clean and comfortable and the morning breakfast was nice. The eating area was a little small, but the selection good. While it's visible from the high way, you really need to get off before you see it. It's on a service road that runs parallel to the highway. That makes it great for easy on and easy off, it's just navigating to it that's challenging. Look it up on google maps before you go.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy G, General Manager at Residence Inn Mobile, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the Residence Inn Mobile, we hope we can always be your mid point hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arab, Alabama
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Upon arrival I was warmly greeted by Tiffany at the front desk. Her kind demeanor let me know that I had made the correct decision of hotels in this location. When entering the room, I found it to be of a good size, clean and appropriately appointed. After unpacking I decided to go for a walk to stretch my legs and back from the 6 hour drive, so I went back to the front desk to ask about parks or other locations to walk. Tiffany again made recommendations and followed up with maps and other information which made me feel like a valued guest.
The only negative comment that I could make is that the evening reception was less than I had expected. It consisted of packaged salad, chicken noodle soup, beer, wine, tea and lemonade. I always consider light meals a plus, but it does not affect my accomodation decisions.
I will be returning to this area for work in the future, and I feel certain that this will be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy G, General Manager at Residence Inn Mobile, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Iwalker1967,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us! and we will make sure Tiffany gets a copy of your review. We are delighted to know that we are your hotel of choice when in Mobile. And we are sorry to hear that our soup and salad night was not something you prefer but please know that we serve our Social, Monday through Thursday's and we have a different menu every day.
We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Mobile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Mobile

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Mobile Hotel
Residence Inn Mobile Hotel Mobile
Mobile Residence Inn
Address: 950 West I 65 Service Road South, Mobile, AL 36609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Mobile
#12 Business Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Mobile 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Mobile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Mobile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.