We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walkers Will Love It” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Semmes Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Admiral Semmes Hotel to your Saves list
Admiral Semmes Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   251 Government Street, Mobile, AL 36602 (Formerly Radisson )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Mobile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Walkers Will Love It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

This was my third time to stay at the Admiral Semmes for a downtown conference I attend annually. I choose it over the Renaissance or the Battle House as it is only a 3- block walk from the convention center. It is beautifully appointed in rooms and entry, yet is more affordable than either of the larger venues. Waiting time for check-in if you are attending an event is less than average, and the staff is very accommodating. Unfortunately, the restaurant isn't open at supper time, but in the bar, a menu is available. During restaurant hours, the breakfast and midday dinner buffet is quite good, although a bit overpriced. Parking is available in the adjacent municipal parking deck for a fee. In- room wi-fi works well. This hotel is old and has been a Mobile landmark for years, so there may be glitches with heat or A/C. I heard others complain about rooms being too hot, but that did not apply to me in any way. Anytime I have to be in downtown Mobile, I will be at the Admiral Semmes.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    40
    22
    30
    36
See reviews for
34
53
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you are looking for a modern Ritz-Carlton, this isn't the place for you...but if you are looking for a decent hotel in the heart of downtown, this may be the place for you.

This is a historic hotel, and walking into the lobby, I felt like I was taken right back into the forties (or at least what I would imagine it to be like). The smell of cigarette and cigar smoke drifted in from the bar.

The rooms were comfortable with Sleep Number beds, and the amenities you'd expect from a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Location next door to the Court House was a big plus for us. The staff, including Gerald, Susan, Tiffani, Goddess, and manager Sherri, were helpful and courteous throughout our two-week stay. Our room was clean and functional. The bathroom was small, typical of older hotels. Housekeeping was OK, although they missed our room one day and arrived very early on two other days. We ate in the hotel restaurant only once because of many excellent choices within walking distance. We would definitely stay at the Admiral Semmes again since we like older historic hotels and the staff here was wonderful to us. They even presented us with a gift box of goodies from a local bakery and a handwritten note of appreciation during our stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Check in/out at front desk was unnecessarily slow for no apparent reason. No room service and terrible service in restaurant. No notebooks in room with suggestions on places to eat or any information on the hotel. Very frustrating to have to go down to front desk to get questions answered. Air conditioning in room worked for only 1 day then condenser could not keep up with the heat outside. Sleep number bed in the room was not comfortable. Water faucet in sink and bathtub had 2 temps... Really hot and really hot. Hotel was overbooked and friends we were staying with could not get the room type they originally requested. Our time in Mobile was great, but this hotel was anything but!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Clean room, friendly staff. Susan was especially helpful with a switch during check-in, as well as after check-out in emailing my receipt. As a former hotel GM, I easily spot well trained and genuinely friendly staff, and wanted to take the time to commend your team.

L.M.
Birmingham, AL

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SherriJacobi, General Manager at Admiral Semmes Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to recognize our staff and Susan here at the Admiral Semmes Hotel. We are very lucky to have such a great staff here at the Admiral Semmes. I will be sure to share this with the owner and all of the staff. It is a pleasure to serve our guest and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. Again, thank you for staying with us.

Sherri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Admiral Semmes over Easter weekend, 2012. My parents had recommended the hotel to us, saying that the location was perfect and that it had beds that you could sink into and stay in forever. We found their comments to be accurate. The hotel is on Government Street in downtown Mobile, just a short walk from Cathedral Square, Fort Conde Village, Christ Episcopal Church, Government Street Presbyterian Church, and many historic buildings and homes. On our first morning we took about a ten minute walk to Spot of Tea, on Cathedral Square, for breakfast, but the next two mornings we had breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The blueberry pancakes, sausage, and Starbuck's coffee were excellent. My wife was also impressed by the Sleep Number beds in the rooms. We found that the service was friendly but not remarkably efficient. On our first morning, housekeeping came by around 8:30 to make up the room for the day. We were still in the process of showering and getting dressed, so we asked if they could come back later, and they said that they would put our room on the list for that evening. However, they never returned. Like I said, they were very polite and friendly, just not very efficient.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SherriJacobi, General Manager at Admiral Semmes Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments and feedback they are greatly appreciated. We utilize your feedback to improve or implement any changes needed. Please feel free to stop by my office on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Hotel was fine but seems not to have much business currently. Rooms good, bed excellent, no HDTV. Smoking bar was fairly busy but the restaurant for breakfast was deserted.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiral Semmes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Semmes Hotel

Address: 251 Government Street, Mobile, AL 36602 (Formerly Radisson )
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Admiral Semmes Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Mobile, the Historic Admiral Semmes Hotel is a unique and beautiful destination for all types of travelers. The Admiral Semmes Hotel provides modern accommodations and is conveniently located near major Mobile attractions. The Admiral Semmes Hotel also features Oliver's Restaurant and the Admiral's Corner Lounge, along with ample banquet and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Admiral Semmes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Mobile
Mobile Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Semmes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.