We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay here again.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Mobile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Mobile to your Saves list
Courtyard Mobile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 West I-65 Service Road South, Mobile, AL 36609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1000 Summer Bonus Points
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Mobile
North Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay here again.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Arriving late in the evening, we located a room at this hotel in Mobile, AL. The king "spa" room that we were told was the only room available and a rate of $149. plus tax was just a king room with a jacuzzi tub in the otherwise regular bathroom. Although we have both AAA and AARP and the hotel advertises discounts for both programs, the desk clerk told me that neither was available because there was a tennis tournament in town even though we had nothing to do with tournament and we were booking the room after 8:00pm and checking out early the next a.m. This tells me the hotel chain, and this hotel in particular, takes advantage of potential customers. For that reason alone, I won't again stay at any hotel in this chain.

As for our room, the bed was great, and there was a flat-screen TV. There was a small sink counter with one whole side of it taken up by the coffee maker, cups and an 8x5 basket holding coffee supplies. Not only was half of the small counter wasted, the coffee maker and cups were in the most unsanitary spot in the room. I really do not understand why hotels place coffeepots, and especially coffee cups, on the bathroom counter. We did not use the coffeemaker or cups because there were toothpaste spatters on the pot.

We were surprised there was only one elevator considering the size of the hotel.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oursideofthestory, General Manager at Courtyard Mobile, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us. While we do have AAA and AARP rates, we do not have them available on our speciality rooms such as our Spa King and our King Suite. If possible please call us in advance in the future and we will try and make sure that you are able to get our best rate possible. I apologize that due to our busy weekend we did not have other rooms available for sale. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. I do appreciate your business.
Shane Aldridge, General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott, Mobile AL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    12
    19
    11
    6
See reviews for
19
12
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Where do they do that? 4pm and the room wasn't ready. Also the tv was at the side of the bed instead of at the foot. Where do they do that? Room was cleanish, spots on the bathroom mirror were pretty gross? It is quiet though, a good place to sleep, but they desperately need to train there management and cleaning staff. Would I recommend it, yes, as a one night stop and go, no more.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oursideofthestory, General Manager at Courtyard Mobile, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you so much for letting me be aware of the room that you had reserved not being ready when you checked in . Our check in time is 3 pm (Central Time). We do try to check guest in early if the room is available. Requests for specific rooms or certain rooms such as our King Suite and our Spa King may take a little more time due to their size and scarcity. Also, occasionally a guest will check out late which does not allow us to clean a specific room as quickly. I would like to investigate this further. Please contact me at your convienence. Again thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. I do appreciate your business.
Shane Aldridge, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Everything was great except they power went out and they have no backup generator

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oursideofthestory, General Manager at Courtyard Mobile, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us. If your travels take you back to Mobile we would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford,MS
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

The Marriott family of hotels is rapidly becoming my favorite line of hotels. I can always count on the hotel to be moderately priced, very clean and comfortable. This Coutyard is no exception - the are renovating the lobby to the new bistro format which I have seen in Germantown / Memphis area - this is a great addition that really updated the hotels. The room will be nicely appointed and of cours very comfy. The staff here is nice; though generally I have minimal staff interaction when traveling domestically unless I am on a long trip. You will be able to get a great deal on this hotel via Priceline this property shouldn't disappoint. Breakfast buffet is $9 (cheeeeeeap) and very nice. The property is also located near many malls, restraunts, bars and additional shopping. Great property - looking forward to another Marriott Stay soon!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oursideofthestory, General Manager at Courtyard Mobile, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comments. It is always a pleasure to welcome our repeat guests' back to the hotel. We are very proud of our staff, who commit 100% to taking care of our guests. It is my pleasure to share your comments with each of them. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. By then, you will be able to experience our newly upgraded lobby and "Bistro" .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Caroline
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Its been a while since we stayed on a Courtyard but this place did not live up to what we normally expect at a Marriott property. Generally its old and a bit dingy. The location is quiet inconvenient as its on a service road do its annoying to come and go from it. The rooms are old and the carpets are dirty. Overall I would not recommend third place. I will day that the starry is pleasant and three guy st the breakfast gives awesome service. Breakfast was a great for $9.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oursideofthestory, Manager at Courtyard Mobile, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We appreciate feedback that will allow us to make improvements that will make our hotel an even better place to stay than ever before.

I am so proud to announce the renovation of our lobby, restaurant and business center. "The Bistro" is going to be a fun place to grab a Starbucks coffee, juice, breakfast sandwich or eggs made to order. In the evening, The Bistro will be a fun place to gather, share a meal, glass of wine, beer or specialty drink with family, friends and business associates. With the new media center, movie room and library, The Bistro will be your favorite place to gather.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and hearing your thoughts on the new lobby area and of course The Bistro. Whether its a quick breakfast, starbucks coffee in the morning or a leisurely evening watching a movie or doing work at one of our private media pods, you will certainly feel comfortable. Hope to see you soon.

Chris Turner
Asst. General Manager
The Courtyard by Marriott
Mobile, Al.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

The room was nice, beds confortable. Check-in daytime staff were very friendly & helpful, our door keys did not work that evening & when I went to the counter to ge help the evening staff were very snippy & acted like it was chore to help you. We were asked was it our fault that the key did not work. Breakfast at $8.95 was very nice and wait starff -excellent. But beware the bill and early resevation stated I would be chared $259.95, but once returning home when checking bank statement, hotel charged my card $300.00, supposedly when checking in they charge a one time fee of $25.00 - even adding that the bill should be only $284.95. When called they said should get that reimbursed back. Not once was this mentioned online or when checking in....TRAVELER BEWARE!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor - end of hall, other than hearing doors slamming, was very quite, could n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oursideofthestory, Manager at Courtyard Mobile, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We appreciate feedback that will allow us to make improvements that will make our hotel an even better place to stay than ever before.

We display a sign at the front desk that explains the 25% deposit that is debited from your debit card at check in. Obviously, any deposit is credited back to the credit/debit card immediately upon check out and should be released back to the guest as soon as the bank can process it. I am sorry this was an inconvienace to you but it is a policy that most hotels follow including The Courtyard.

I am so proud to announce the renovation of our lobby, restaurant and business center. "The Bistro" is going to be a fun place to grab a Starbucks coffee, juice, breakfast sandwich or eggs made to order. In the evening, The Bistro will be a fun place to gather, share a meal, glass of wine, beer or specialty drink with family, friends and business associates. With the new media center, movie room and library, The Bistro will be your favorite place to gather.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and hearing your thoughts on the new lobby area and of course The Bistro. Whether its a quick breakfast, starbucks coffee in the morning or a leisurely evening watching a movie or doing work at one of our private media pods, you will certainly feel comfortable. Hope to see you soon.

Chris Turner
Asst. General Manager
The Courtyard by Marriott
Mobile, Al.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

had a great week here during the lpga golf tournament, nice clean room good ac and tv,nice breakfast in the morning too.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/I-65 at Airport Blvd
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Mobile
Residence Inn Mobile
#14 of 65 in Mobile
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mobile West I-65/Airport Blvd.
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Mobile
TownePlace Suites Mobile
#20 of 65 in Mobile
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mobile I-65/Airport Blvd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Mobile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Mobile

Address: 1000 West I-65 Service Road South, Mobile, AL 36609
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Mobile 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Mobile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Mobile Hotel Mobile
Mobile Courtyard
Mobile Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Mobile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.