We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for an overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Battleship Inn

Save Saved
You added Battleship Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Battleship Inn
2701 Battleship Parkway, Mobile, AL 36601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 65 Hotels in Mobile
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great place for an overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed here after visiting the USS Alabama memorial. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. The person working the front desk was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    12
    13
    17
See reviews for
28
19
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roland, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

First appearence and check-in were nice. We and another couple had two separate rooms, their's was nice and accomodating, our's was nice enough at first. We were watching tv and it went out, we called the front desk and someone was sent to look at it, he turned it on and off, unplugged it and plugged it back in, told us it wasn't working. So we had no working tv that night. The bar was pleasant and drink prices were reasonable, the food was ok but a little pricy. Employees were friendly, but some were unknowledgable, the morning we woke up there were ants crawling on my grandbaby's head, my daughter's and myself, on all our pillows and bedding, we called the front desk, someone was sent, he sprayed bug spray on the sheets and bed and wall behind the bed and left. Bestwestern refunded us with a $50 gift card for another stay at any Bestwestern.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dipak P, Manager at Battleship Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Hi,

I would like to know when did you stay at the Best western Moffet Road Inn as we cannot find you on the system as a guest. Did you stay at the Best Western Battleship Inn as that is now NOT a Best Western.

Secondly, we do not have a bar on the premises and never have done either.
Thirdly, according to the review after taking a sharp eye to looking through it this review was supposedly to be carried out 12 months ago when you actually stayed at a Best Western.

We love to hear what our guest think and see when they stay at the Best Western Moffet Road Inn


Thank You

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

This clean and well priced motel is walking distance to Battleship Memorial Park. It has a nice salt water pool, clean rooms, comfortable beds and nice restaurant adjoining. You are 5 minutes from downtown Mobile and it's historical homes! A true find!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Recently spent 42 consecutive days here while working in Mobile.
The hotel USED to be part of the Best Western chain but in no longer, and it shows.
What you get is the standard US motel room, two double beds, bath with shower, toilet and wash basin and a TV with over 50 channels of utter tosh.
The rooms are spacious enough and the beds comfortable, however I had to remind them to change my linen and provide fresh towels on a few occasions.
The AC units are good but a bit noisy if your not used to them.
The rooms are quiet, with no road noise being heard.
The location is great, just off Battleship Parkway, and only a few 100 m away from the I-10 intersection, the view of the USS Alabama most mornings is very good and you never tire of that!

However the rooms and the rest of the motel need a good clean. There are pets everywhere (the owners have three dogs) which have free roam of the place, plus several feral cats that scamp about the place. There are cobwebs in every external location.

There is a swimming pool which some patrons used, but considering the number of animals I saw drinink from it and deficating in it, there was no way I was going in there.

When housekeeping are servicing a room they leave the doors wide open thus the animals, flyies, spiders etc can easily get in.
I had to spray my room each night with fly killer just to be sure I was alone!

I didn't eat at the hotel at all, but some of my work associates did and commented that the food was fair.
The bar prices are a bit high too, and with no shops close buy you need a car to get anything you need.
The resturant is worth a visit as there are some fablious photo's of war time aircraft and ships, the owner being a decorated fighter pilot.
There are a few vending machines and ice machines around but there were very tempremental.

The staff are helpful to a point and friendly but they are mostly family members of the owner and have worked there for years, as a result they are a bit blind to the problems the pets cause.

In all I would not stay here again, I'd stay across the river down town Mobile.
If your passing by an need a room then it will do fine, but not for longer than a few days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the USS Alabama.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

The BEST WESTERN Battleship Inn meets our 3Cs for traveling - Clean, Comfortable, & Convenient. This was our third stay here. Had to book directly with the hotel as the Best Western operator couldn't locate this property in their database. The nearby restaurants are decent and the Battleship Memorial is right across the way.

Room Tip: Be sure to call the hotel directy for reservations (251) 432-2703
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Hey, we stayed here because its next to a battleship. Its a very nice hotel, a bit dated, but clean, comfortable, and nice rooms. the price was a little high, but not bad. VERY QUIET

Room Tip: Room 113 has great view of the staircase..... not the water.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were passing through Mobile and heading for Florida when we saw the sign for this motel.. It was clean, if a bit dated. The front desk was friendly and helpful. The motel is right next to the USS Alabama which has self guided tours.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the ship
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Battleship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battleship Inn

Address: 2701 Battleship Parkway, Mobile, AL 36601
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 65 Hotels in Mobile
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Battleship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battleship Hotel Mobile
Best Western Battleship Hotel
Best Western Mobile
Mobile Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battleship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.