We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Geo. F. Barber House in all its GLORY!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kate Shepard House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mobile
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kate Shepard House Bed and Breakfast
1552 Monterey Place, Mobile, AL 36604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Mobile B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
USA
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“It's a Geo. F. Barber House in all its GLORY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

George F. Barber designed the most amazing homes and this is one beauty!
The history that spins around the home is fun, lively and historically very important (!) as Inn Keeper Wendy will explain. It's all quite fascinating!
There are MANY original items in the home and the stay is very comfortable from the furnishings, to the bed, to the great breakfast.
This was our first visit to Mobile and were surprised by the historic district boasting of over 2000 historic homes and businesses. It's really quite amazing....and the Kate Shepard House is the first place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
41
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you want to experience true Southern Hospitality, stay at The Kate Shepard House Bed and Breakfast. The Inn Keeper and owner is a wonderful hostess and superb cook. Her knowledge of the historic house and Mobile, as well as her interest in learning about her guests, made our seven day stay a fun, memorable and relaxing vacation. We left the B&B feeling we had made a new friend.

Julyette & Bryant

Room Tip: We stayed in Isabel's Room. All rooms looked attractive and beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, LA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Ms Wendy is an amazing lady who runs an amazing B&B. we felt like family the moment we walked through the front door. She was mind enough to let a friend of mine who lives locally join us for breakfast Sunday. We are so ready to drive back to Mobile for another weekend here! She took care of our Saturday dinner reservation and we could not have been happier! So not miss a chance to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great southern hospitality at a wonderful historic house ... Very relaxing.
Escape with ur companion to a slower time in old mobile home and enjoy fantastic breakfast . Never heard the ghost and super quite room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Staying at the Kate Shepard B&B was the perfect ending to our trip around the south. Wendy, the owner, was the epiphany of the perfect southern hostess. She is such a friendly and lovely person. We only stayed one night so we requested her famous pecan praline french toast and, wow, they really lived up to all the praise! You could spend days just looking around this historic home. Wendy has plenty of stories about this house and its rich history that we could have spent all day just talking to her. This B&B is located near downtown (less than 10 minute drive) in historic Mobile. The homes around the Kate Shepard house are gorgeous and, not to mention, most are historic. Ask Wendy for a driving/walking map of historic Mobile. Also, make sure to stop by Fort Conde's visitor center for maps. There's plenty of things to do in Mobile but the Kate Shepard house will make you want to forgo all your plans and just hang around this lovely B&B!

Note: This B&B is pet friendly. She has a sweet chow chow named Koa (spitting image of Martha Stewart's dog).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Stone, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay in this historic inn. Wendy, our innkeeper, was warm, welcoming, and a font of knowledge. Our queen sized bed was sooo comfortable and we really appreciated the ironed bed linens. The soaking tub and separate toilet room were amazing.
Our two breakfasts were outstanding (see photo).
The B&B is pet friendly and Wendy was very solicitous of our miniature schnauzer, Katie. The inn dog, Koa, is a quiet, dignified chow chow.

Room Tip: The Barber room is large and away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Bottom line: Excellent in all respects.

My wife and I stayed 3 days over the MLK holiday weekend. Our time at the Kate Shepard house will always be looked back upon fondly. The house is interesting and uniquely historic located in a nice neighborhood. The home is furnished with authentic antiques. The bed was comfortable with the highest quality linens. If clean is important to you... it was spotless. As for the food, I wouldn't be surprised if a cooking show was going on in the kitchen... they food was that beautiful and wonderfully tasty. Our Innkeeper Wendy was gracious and very hospitable. She could conduct clinics on how to do it right. Want a B&B in Mobile? I can recommendation this one without any hesitations. Just don't skip the breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kate Shepard House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kate Shepard House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1552 Monterey Place, Mobile, AL 36604
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this 1897 architectural icon located in beautiful historic district. Close to shopping, dining, downtown activities,USS Alabama and Bellingrath Gardens. Beautiful gulf coast beaches are only 1 hour away. Free parking, free WiFi and a full southern breakfast each morning. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kate Shepard House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Kate Shepard House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
;