We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful experience...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kate Shepard House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mobile
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kate Shepard House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Kate Shepard House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1552 Monterey Place, Mobile, AL 36604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Mobile B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A truly wonderful experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was our first B&B experience in N. America and we were a little apprehensive but what a positively delightful experience. We enjoyed everything about our stay...our room, the decor, Wendy's warm hospitality, the fabulous breakfast so elegantly served, the map of the historic districts which led us on a great tour of historic Mobile and our relaxing evening on the verandah. Wish we could have stayed longer!
Don & Heather from Vancouver BC

Room Tip: Mobile Room was easily accessible for person with limited mobility
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
47
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prattville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Wendy is a charming innkeeper and conversationalist. Her husband keeps the grounds and Victorian B & B in excellent condition. The three guest rooms are always fresh, well maintained and clean. Fresh baked goods, coffee and chocolates await the guests. Breakfast is plated and served at the guests's convenience in a welcoming, quaint dining room. Wendy's presentation and service makes you feel right at home! The Southern Pecan French Toast is amazingly delicious...and our favorite!

What we like best about the Kate Shepard House is its rich history, its location (minutes from downtown Mobile), the excellent service, and a quiet, restful overnight stay in a welcoming, immaculate facility.

What I like least is its unavailability if we book late, as it is a Mobile favorite! :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

We spent a weekend in Mobile, AL and stayed at the Kate Shepard House B&B. This is one of those special places which is able to show off a beautiful, historic home while making you feel like it is your home to enjoy. The whole place is luxurious but not stuffy and the hosts make you feel like you have the run of the place. The breakfasts are Full meals and they are Excellent! The location is just far enough from downtown Mobile that you can get away but an easy 5 or 10 minute drive to anywhere you want to go in the city. We found the room very quiet.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if we are ever in Mobile again, I will not even look for other accommodations, we'll just book at the Kate Shepard House again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

The room was beautifully furnished and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was spotless with comfy towels. Wendy is a wonderful cook and I can't say enough about the breakfast she served us. The praline french toast is to die for....I truly felt that we were staying with friends instead of visiting a B&B. Wendy had snacks waiting for us when we returned from touring and offered the entire front of the house for our use. She had a listing of restaurants and attractions for our use. We took advantage and visited several that she recommended. If you are ever in Mobile, AL...stay at the Kate Shepard House B&B....you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

I travelled to Mobile with my parents on a weekend get-away. Wendy made us feel welcome from the moment we walked through the door. Throughout our stay, she and her husband Bill provided wonderful service and put us at ease, to include chatting with us in the kitchen while she made our breakfasts! While on the topic of breakfast, you'll not find any better. Delicious, filling and served on beautiful dishes and linens. Breakfast at the Kate Shepard House is worth writing home about! On top of wonderful service and delicious food, the house is a delight. Beautifully appointed, it still feels like a home. My room was lovely with comfortable linens. My bathroom had a huge old tub that was perfect for soaking. Finally, the location was perfect for the tourist attractions we wanted to visit. My parents and I did not want to leave. If you chose to stay, neither will you. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

I stayed here with my girlfriend during a two week tour of the Deep South, and even though we didn't get to see much of Mobile this was still one of the highlights of our trip. The house has been lovingly restored to it's original grandeur, and the hospitality and cooking went even beyond that of other hotels we stayed in during the trip (even those around $300 a night). As soon as you walk through the doors you instantly feel relaxed and at home. The Kate Shepard B&B is one of the few places I would recommend travelling out of your way just to stay there, you won't regret it and you certainly won't forget it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I was traveling for business and this was such a nice break from the typical chain hotels. Wendy is so welcoming and her breakfast is to die for! The beds are super comfy and the hospitality can't be beat. Will definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kate Shepard House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kate Shepard House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1552 Monterey Place, Mobile, AL 36604
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this 1897 architectural icon located in beautiful historic district. Close to shopping, dining, downtown activities,USS Alabama and Bellingrath Gardens. Beautiful gulf coast beaches are only 1 hour away. Free parking, free WiFi and a full southern breakfast each morning. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kate Shepard House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.