We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 North Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warren, New Jersey
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel itself is luxury level, with nice convenient location, spacious room, high ceiling, hard wood furniture, nice linen and appliances. But the most wonderful part about this hotel is its staff. Everybody we met was nice and helping, making us feel so welcomed. Every detail is perfect. There is also fresh coffee in the lobby in the morning. Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
I appreciate your comments and feedback about the hotel and staff. I will make sure to share with the entire hotel team.

Thank you for staying at the Battle House Hotel & Spa. I appreciate your business and feedback.

I hope you make the Battle House Hotel & Spa part of your next trip to the city of Mobile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    120
    28
    11
    6
See reviews for
93
175
21
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Staff was wonderful. Internet 512 free but that's only good for emails so I had to pay more for streaming video bandwidth. Conference rooms had silver round cylinder and large fake diamond on the tables that were a pain because attendees knocked them down 80% of the time during the sessions I attended. Room was great, tub and shower perfect, nice view of river. I enjoyed watching the river activity. Worth repeating - the staff were wonderful.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
It was nice to see your comments posted on Trip Advisor this morning. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and were able to experience the activity on the busy river. It is fun to watch the ships, tugs, and other boats load and unload their cargo and manuever through the river.

I appreciate your business and hope you will have the opportunity to stay at the Battle House Hotel & Spa in the future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We just returned from our stay @ Battle House.Our request for early check-in was granted.We were told @ check in we had a great view. This wasn't true.All we could see was the roof of a building & the RSA Tower next door.Wish we were given an option to request more than a roof top view.The room was very well maintained & spacious. Valet service was @ times a little slow.We visited Joe Cain & enjoyed our visit there.Although, we heard some complain about the volume of the music.We loved our stay with the exception of no view& the loud door slams.This will not deter us from staying here when in Mobile, we know to now request a room with a view.You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Battle House Hotel & Spa during your trip to Mobile. I was happy to hear we were able to honor your early check-in request and that you enjoyed Joe Cain Cafe and the room overall. I apologize for the lack of a view. Many of our rooms look out over the city or at building rooftops due to the hotel's location in downtown Mobile. We do have a limited amount of rooms that do face out over the river. Please feel free to request a room with a river view during your next trip to the Battle House Hotel & Spa, we will be happy to assist you in this request.

I appreciate your business and thank you for your comments and feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in February 2012 when in town for Mardi Gras. Previously always stayed at the Admiral Semmes or Holiday Inn, but this was a much better option. Great location, very nice lobby, excellent staff, room was great. Highly recommend this hotel when in Mobile for business or fun!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Battle House Hotel & Spa during the city's Mardi Gras celebration.
I hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again next Mardi Gras!

I appreciate your business and comments.

We look forward to having your stay with us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Like most reviewers I really liked staying at this hotel. The enjoyment started with the valet, we stopped and chatted for a while about the area as I had not spent much time in Mobile before; I even learned about the New Year Mobile Moonpie drop! (And valet parking was well worth the $17)

The hotel has a lovely old part plus a new wing - I stayed in the older side and loved the room and bathroom decor. A colleague stayed in the new wing and was perfectly happy with it.

I'd also recommend this for business meetings and small events - great ballroom and meeting space.

If you want a genuine taste of Mobile, try the half-mile walk or short taxi ride along Dauphin street to Wintzell's.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you choosing to stay at the Battle House Hotel & Spa. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and your stay. If you have the opportunity to visit Mobile on New Year's Eve, the MoonPie Drop is a great way to ring in the new year! I am glad the Valet Team shared that experience with you.

Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We just returned from a 6 night stay at the Battle House... We have stayed there several times for business or conference's in the hotel... The hotel is a beautiful hotel in downtown Mobile. The pool area in the roof is very nice with snack bar/bar... It was a nice get away from work. Male bar tender over the past weekend was not very friendly and kind of a jerk. He would walk over and would give comp drinks to a few couples sitting together and hang out with them, however he would walk past other people in their chairs and not ask them if they wanted anything. ( I was sitting next to those people and could hear everything while relaxing in my chair....If you wanted something you had to go to him. Ok no problem, but when I get there and ask from a drink don't be jerk because I do not know your beer on tap because it is specialized to your area. Spa was beautiful, but the employees were rude.. seriously I was in the gift shop area for 10 mins looking at things and not one person spoke (not even to say hello) they just kept talking to each other...I wanted to purchase something or ask about services I wanted to schedule.. but after being ignored for so long I walked out. The hotel doors are very loud, but we are aware of it each time we go.. so bring some ear plugs if that bothers you.. Valet parking is 17 dollars a day and the valet attendance's were the nicest of all the employees at the hotel.. Overall a nice hotel, with nice sized rooms and bathrooms... I have stayed in the historic section and the tower and both are about the same.. we will be back. We have conferences in the hotel every so often. FYI there is a coffee shop just down the street Serdas which has great coffee and salmon bagels. :) There are also some cute shops Inside up near the park and quaint cafe... If you have a car, I recommend going to Fairhope... I loved that area... 20-30 min ride but so worth it...Nice shops and restaurants. While my fiance was in meetings I was in heaven shopping all day :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Battle House Hotel & Spa. I want to apologize to you and your fiance for the poor service you experienced on the pool deck and also in the spa. This level of service is not acceptable to me or the hotel. I am very sorry you had to experience this during your stay. I appreciate your feedback and brining it to my attention. I will be following up with the departments involved and correcting this type of behavior immediately. I assure you this level of service is not part of the hotel's day-to-day operations. We will correct this moving forward.

I hope that the above mentioned incidents won't deter you from visiting the hotel in the future.

If there is anything I may do for you, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel and ask for me.
Scott Maison, Rooms Division Manager.

Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
covington, GA
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

After a dysfunctional 90 minute delayed Delta flight from ATL, an Avis rep who can't tell the difference between Odometer and "miles before empty," it was a pleasure to walk into the Battle House and be treated like a REAL customer. The staff at check-in were incredible, the facility was in superb shape, the staff all exceeded the Marriott Mantra of "exceptional customer service." Room was spacious and comfy, internet fast, food was very good in the restaurant downstairs. I did a speaking program in the TreeHouse room for a nursing group. They had it set up perfectly and about 5 different staff continued to stop by to be sure "all is well." They were ahead of time on the coffee breaks and lunch, which helped keep us all on schedule. Can't wait to return on a vacation type trip !

Room Tip: I was on the waterway side and thought I'd hear a lot of boats coming thru during the night, sim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Battle House Hotel & Spa. I appreciate your business and thank you for your compliments about your stay at the hotel. I hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again in the future for some rest and relaxation. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa

Address: 26 North Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#3 Business Hotel in Mobile
#3 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Battle House Renaissance Hotel & Spa, one of the premiere hotels in Mobile, Alabama, located downtown in the Central Business District across from the Mobile Convention Center. This downtown hotel in Mobile, AL has been a favorite of entertainment celebrities, sports legends, a president and a king since 1852. The Battle House was thoughtfully resorted to its original grandeur and is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. This legendary AAA Four Diamond Hotel also offers The Trellis Room, Mobile's only Four Diamond Restaurant. The Spa at The Battle House is a 10,000 sq. ft. oasis boasting a full salon, eight treatment rooms, and a Zen-like fire pit in our spectacular, tranquil Quiet Room. Host unforgettable affairs inside the magnificent Crystal Ballroom & marvel at our whispering arches (our acoustical feature). Join us in Mobile's Living Room, located just steps from Mobile's Entertainment District, Gulf Coast Exploreum & Imax, the Carnival Museum, Museum of Mobile & Fort Conde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Battle House, a Renaissance Hotel Mobile
The Battle Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance Mobile
Mobile Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.