We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rooms & Fine Bathrooms........(LOUD DOORS)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 North Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good Rooms & Fine Bathrooms........(LOUD DOORS)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We enjoyed our three night stay here. The bathrooms were probably the best part. Plenty of soft pillows and the valet service was speedy and nice. The buffet in the morning was most excellent. Perfect location. Would love to stay here again.

* One serious problems. The weight of the doors at this hotel will shake an entire floor when not closed softly. What i mean is, expect to here people walking out of their rooms and "BOOM" their doors slams shuts. Heard it every morning. These doors need some kind of cushion to soften the blow.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in your comments to Trip Advisor. I appreciate the feedback in regards to the hotel entry doors. I have shared this information with the hotel's engineering team for their review.

I was happy to hear that you enjoyed the room itself, the bathrooms, the morning buffet and that our valet staff were very nice and speedy.

I appreciate your business, thank you for staying with the Battle House Hotel & Spa. I look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    128
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
104
188
23
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

This is probably the best hotel I've ever stayed at. The room was super comfortable and clean. The only thing I disliked was the view in the Historic section of the hotel. You open the window and all you see is parking garage haha, but other than that everything was AMAZING. The service was extra helpful and nice in all areas of the hotel and the inclusion of a downstairs bar area and restaurant made our stay ideal. I definitely intend to stay here again soon!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Battle House Hotel & Spa. We do offer other room types that have different views of the city of Mobile. Next time you stay at the hotel, please feel free to ask one of our front desk ambassadors to assist you in finding a room with a different view.

Thanks for staying with us during your visit to Mobile.

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Honestly the town of Mobile has nothing much to do. I spent more time in this fantastic hotel more than staying outside. Plus it's below 50 degree and windy by the time I got in town.
Katie at the front desk gave me a welcoming check-in and Toni offered an excellent check-out experiences. I also love the spa and the ladies quiet room as well as the steam room. My weekend getaway was totally worth it!

Room Tip: One night staying in this little town is good enough to discover its all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments that you have shared on Trip Advisor. I appeciate your kind words.

I am glad you were able to enjoy our spa and relax a little while at the hotel.

You will need to schedule a return visit when a little warmer. There is much to discover in the city of Mobile.

Thank you for choosing the Battle House Hotel & Spa. I look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, LA
Level Contributor
372 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent the night at the Battle House last week and had a wonderful visit. The lobby is amazing and the Christmas decorations were stunning - including a giant tree in the center of the lobby. The staff was wonderful - from Tori at the front desk to the valets for our car. We went in and out a good bit and they were always there to quickly get our car for us. The room we had was in the historic area of the hotel and overlooked Royal Street. The bed and bed linens were terrific. The bed was very comfortable and everything was in great condition. The towels were thick and spotlessly white. We loved having both a wonderful deep tub and a seperate shower stall in the bathroom - which was one of the most beautiful bathrooms I have ever seen in a hotel. We ate a light supper in the casual restaurant - service and food were OK, but the music was much too loud. We also went to the bar after dinner for a drink. The bar is beautiful and the live entertainment there was nice, with a piano and singer. We had the breakfast buffet in the Trellis Room of the hotel and it was very good. All in all, I would never go to Mobile again unless I stayed at the Battle House! If it were possible to give it an even higher rating than excellent, I would.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I was excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Battle House Hotel & Spa. I appreciate the great comments and feedback in regards to the music in one of our outlets. I will follow up on this with the Food & Beverage team.

I am going to share your comments with the entire hotel team. The ambassadors that you mentioned by name will be happy to see your comments about them.

Thank you for staying at the Battle House Hotel & Spa. I look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Hotel is in a great location convient to the convention center and shops downtown. Room was great and had the largest bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel and was clean as a pin. Stayed a week and used the valet parking daily with no problems. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Only thing was I had a room facing the roof.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in your comments about your recent stay at the Battle House Hotel & Spa. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our valet staff and hotel during your visit.

If you have the opportunity to visit the hotel in the future, we do offer varying views of the city throughout the different room types that we offer. Please feel free to ask one of the hotel's front desk ambassadors and they will be happy to assist you.

Have a happy and safe holiday season and I look forward to having you as one of our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a wonderful room with a nice view of the river. We had a great balcony although didn't stay there long enough to use it. The bed wasn't as comfortable as we expected but the hotel is beautiful, clean and close to downtown restaurants and events.

However, the valet parking area can be challenging if the hotel is crowded.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room in the new tower. It was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in your comments about your recent stay at the Battle House Hotel & Spa. I appreciate your feedback. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your room during your stay. I hope you will have the opportunity to visit the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I was impressed with the historic elegance and modern comfort of the Battle House Hotel. Rooms were impeccably clean and comfortable with the upscale touches you would expect from a Renaissance Hotel property. I dined at the casual cafe for lunch and enjoyed that as well. Unfortunately there is little in the way of quality dining options in walking distance, especially for breakfast and dinner. So the location, while convenient to the Mobile Convention Center and downtown, is subpar. But that is more about Mobile than this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mobile
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites / Downtown Mobile
0.5 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#10 of 65 in Mobile
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
5.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mobile I-65/Airport Blvd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa

Address: 26 North Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#3 Family Hotel in Mobile
#3 Business Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Battle House Renaissance Hotel & Spa, one of the premiere hotels in Mobile, Alabama, located downtown in the Central Business District across from the Mobile Convention Center. This downtown hotel in Mobile, AL has been a favorite of entertainment celebrities, sports legends, a president and a king since 1852. The Battle House was thoughtfully resorted to its original grandeur and is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. This legendary AAA Four Diamond Hotel also offers The Trellis Room, Mobile's only Four Diamond Restaurant. The Spa at The Battle House is a 10,000 sq. ft. oasis boasting a full salon, eight treatment rooms, and a Zen-like fire pit in our spectacular, tranquil Quiet Room. Host unforgettable affairs inside the magnificent Crystal Ballroom & marvel at our whispering arches (our acoustical feature). Join us in Mobile's Living Room, located just steps from Mobile's Entertainment District, Gulf Coast Exploreum & Imax, the Carnival Museum, Museum of Mobile & Fort Conde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Battle House, a Renaissance Hotel Mobile
The Battle Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance Mobile
Mobile Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.