We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 North Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Mobile
College Park, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a wonderful room with a nice view of the river. We had a great balcony although didn't stay there long enough to use it. The bed wasn't as comfortable as we expected but the hotel is beautiful, clean and close to downtown restaurants and events.

However, the valet parking area can be challenging if the hotel is crowded.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room in the new tower. It was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in your comments about your recent stay at the Battle House Hotel & Spa. I appreciate your feedback. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your room during your stay. I hope you will have the opportunity to visit the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    101
    20
    11
    6
See reviews for
83
151
20
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I was impressed with the historic elegance and modern comfort of the Battle House Hotel. Rooms were impeccably clean and comfortable with the upscale touches you would expect from a Renaissance Hotel property. I dined at the casual cafe for lunch and enjoyed that as well. Unfortunately there is little in the way of quality dining options in walking distance, especially for breakfast and dinner. So the location, while convenient to the Mobile Convention Center and downtown, is subpar. But that is more about Mobile than this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were upgraded to nice large room with a big closet and bathroom. The location is just one half a block from the downtown restuarants and bars and the staff were very friendly. The only starge thing was the very small shower in the very large bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Stayed here on a wedding anniversary trip. Great location. Well appointed room. Historic building with a rich history. Super friendly staff. Close to many Mobile attractions and restaurants. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Battle House is a wonderful hotel in the heart of a beautiful historic city. Walking in tio the rotunda takes you back 100 years and helps to improve the experience the historic city provides. The updated amenities are nice as well. Clean, spacious and comfortable rooms. The spa is also first class and priced very reasonably! Don't stay without trying the Eggs and Crab Cake Benedict for breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We didn't think that there was much to commend Mobile as a place to visit--they are trying hard to return it to a more glorious past but it is still a downtown of many abandoned buildings and neighborhoods that don't feel safe after dark. But the Battle House is a beautiful exception to most of the rest of downtown--a blend of a historic restoration and modern high rise with a great gym, spa, pool and jacuzzi on the roof of the adjacent building. It is about 30 minutes from the nearest Robert Trent Jones courses (which brought us to Mobile) but within easy walking distance of several pretty good restaurants in the Dauphin Street district. Parking is pricey but ask the house "historian" for information on the area and the hotel. If you like learning about places by visiting their major cities, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

October 13 and 14 my wife and I stayed at the Battle House on our way to New Orleans. I was wondering if all the positive reviews were accurate and true, well they are. We were blown away from the moment we walked into the lobby. The lobby alone is one of the most impressive sites in all of Mobile. Now to the staff, first you will be greeted by the ladies at the front desk. Heather, Bianca were always wearing a smile and ready to assist in any way. After check in we walked to a restaurant the hotel recommend. The meal was excellent if one loves sea food. However, this review is about the hotel, so back to the hotel. After our second day we retreated to the hotel to enjoy the offerings of the Battle House. We started at the roof top pool and enjoyed the views, drinks, and the staff on the roof. Arron at the pool bar was constantly checking on us and making sure we had all we needed. He also made a speciality drink for my wife, I have no idea what it was but my wife loved it. Later the same evening we made our way to The Joe Cain cafe and enjoyed the duck pizza, trust me it is excellent. Once again we we found another employee ready to serve us. Tyler was always at our table when we needed another drink or information about the menu or hotel. The next morning we had the pleasure of taking a tour of the hotel given by Katie at the front desk. If you decide to stay here please take the tour of the hotel, much history resides in the hotel. I would recommend that one check in the Battle House and not leave, the hotel is the destination unto its self. We really enjoyed our stay and now were are heading to New Orleans, I wonder if the next hotel will be as good as The Battle House.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa

Address: 26 North Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#2 Business Hotel in Mobile
#3 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Battle House Renaissance Hotel & Spa, one of the premiere hotels in Mobile, Alabama, located downtown in the Central Business District across from the Mobile Convention Center. This downtown hotel in Mobile, AL has been a favorite of entertainment celebrities, sports legends, a president and a king since 1852. The Battle House was thoughtfully resorted to its original grandeur and is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. This legendary AAA Four Diamond Hotel also offers The Trellis Room, Mobile's only Four Diamond Restaurant. The Spa at The Battle House is a 10,000 sq. ft. oasis boasting a full salon, eight treatment rooms, and a Zen-like fire pit in our spectacular, tranquil Quiet Room. Host unforgettable affairs inside the magnificent Crystal Ballroom & marvel at our whispering arches (our acoustical feature). Join us in Mobile's Living Room, located just steps from Mobile's Entertainment District, Gulf Coast Exploreum & Imax, the Carnival Museum, Museum of Mobile & Fort Conde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Battle House, a Renaissance Hotel Mobile
The Battle Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance Mobile
Mobile Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.