We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good, service was excellent!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wintzell's Oyster House

Wintzell's Oyster House
605 Dauphin St, Mobile, AL 36602
(251) 432-4605
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 566 restaurants in Mobile
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Food was good, service was excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Since the Fried Dill Pickle here has been recommended so widely, I started with that. In fact, it was pickle slices, so the visual was already different from what I expected, but that's okay. Sadly, the dish was so salty that I could only eat a few pieces. I kept gong back to it, hoping that it was simply a matter of getting used to it, but to no avail. In fairness to the staff, a waitress saw me move the mostly full basket toward the middle of the table, enquired if everything was okay, and then took the basket and removed the item from my bill. I had also ordered a wedge salad. Now my readers know that I don't complain a lot, but the simple truth is that the salad was substandard. The lettuce was fresh but the dressing (including the bacon pieces) was not very substantial or imaginative. I was debating whether to have 1/2 dozen raw oysters or 1/2 dozen grilled oysters. When I asked the waiter, he was happy to serve me three of each. They were delicious: meaty, fresh, and -- in the case of the grilled oysters -- perfectly dressed and seasoned. They were served with horseradish but no cocktail sauce. I suppose I could have asked for some but chose not to. The waiter could not have been nicer. In fact, that's true of every staff person I dealt with there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    140
    129
    40
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Starkville, Mississippi
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic Seafood with a Non-Chain Feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

A group of six went there, mostly folks that were not from the area. Wintzell's definitely impressed. It's a down-home feel, but the variety and quality of the seafood was better than many upscale restaurants I've been to. I had the redfish special, and several in the group had oysters. Everyone walked away very well pleased.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Oysters Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Being from South Louisiana we thought we had been eating the best most tasty oysters our whole life...wrong! These oysters were the most delicious oysters we have ever eaten. If you like raw oysters then don't pass this place up!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamosa, Colorado
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Friends wanted to take us here on our way through town driving west. We are so glad we stopped. The atmosphere of the place is so down-to-earth and authentic of the times. The servers greeted us so warmly it felt sincere. We started with the Cream of Crab Soup and it was a "died and gone to heaven" moment. Hubby and I had the fried and grilled versions of the J.O. Platter Jr. with shrimp, oysters and fish. It was a knock-out. Loved everything about this place...a must-do!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fresh Oysters are a must.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I ate here with work colleagues and we had a great night. The theme is your standard American bar/diner and the oysters were really nice as was the local IPA. The main courses were nice even if a bit over cooked and fried. I would eat here again if i was out in Mobile.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wintzell's Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Wintzell's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wintzell's Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.