We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh yeah, alright!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreamland Bar-b-que

Dreamland Bar-b-que
3314 Old Shell Rd, Mobile, AL 36607-2507
251-479-9898
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 550 Restaurants in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Holland, Michigan
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Oh yeah, alright!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Came here with a group of business associates after a long day of work. We were ready it relax with great comfort food and this place delivered! Ribs were great, not too sauced or overcooked like some places.

Pulled pork was tender and wonderful. The sides were all tasty. Service was fine, friendly and attentive. Will definitely come back on next trip to Mobile.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    22
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful BBQ in Mobile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have been traveling the US by the road system quite extensively the past 3 years,, one off my husband's favorite food is BBQ, so we couldn't leave Mobile with out at least one BBQ. Dreamland Bar-B-Que was not far from our hotel so we decided to try it put Sunday evening. When we arrived the location right near HWY 65 and a railway crossing stuck us as interesting, the non-discript building would be easy to miss the sign on the outside in Blue Neon Script says only "Dreamland", there were only a few cars in the parking lot, however when we entered we saw half a dozen other guests enjoying meals. There were Sports TV screens statically placed around the dinning area, with the NFL playoff games on, much to my husband's enjoyment.
Our server came right over with menus and took our drink order. My husband ordered the 5 rib basket with beans and cole slaw, he enjoyed every bite of the smokey ribs with the slightly spicy BBQ sauce on the side. I had the pulled pork sandwich with coleslaw, the pork was moist and tender and delicious, the coleslaw was fresh with just the right amount of dressing with a sweet and tangy taste. We found the meal to be among the top 3 in our travels,
While we were eating 4 or 5 parties came in to pick up carry out orders with large coolers, obviously the locals enjoy the fare at Dreamland very much too. We were too full yo have dessert but had we had rom the homemade Banana pudding and pecan pie both sounded amazing, maybe next time. Big Daddy has Dreamland Restaurants in other city's we may have to sample too in our future travels.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Ribs in Mobile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Bear Bryant got Big Daddy started in his BBQ business and now it has expanded to a number of other cities,Nothing fancy.Just good ribs.They provide plenty of paper towels as this can get messy but they are certainly finger licking good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yum, Yum!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Food is sooo good!!!! Portions are a good size as well, staff was friendly when we arrived. They were not very busy as they usually are. I've never received a bad meal or service here, anytime I am in the area I will come and visit. You can not go wrong!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great BBQ, sauce is gods also”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Stopped on based off of reviews as I travel alot and was in the area. the waiter recommended the ribs and they were great. Nice grilled tasted. They were very juicy and tender for being cooked on a grill. Not fall off the bone tender, but alot more tender than I would have expected from being cooked on a grill. The BBQ sauce is different from what I'm used to. It is a vinegar based sauce and was very tasty. If I'm back over that way I will stop in again. Give it a shot, the food was great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dreamland Bar-b-que also viewed

 

Been to Dreamland Bar-b-que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreamland Bar-b-que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.