We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner was good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Thai Cuisine

Bangkok Thai Cuisine
5345 Hwy 90 W, Mobile, AL 36619-4205
(251) 666-7788
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #195 of 574 Restaurants in Mobile
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dinner was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We eat the buffet and enjoyed the food. I would recommend going early in evening, don't wait till 8.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sublime Spring Rolls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Awesome lunch specials with tasty spring rolls featured every day

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unimpressive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

First off, what is the deal with the plastic on the chairs and booth benches? I almost slid under the table! Secondly, the waitstaff is ridiculously slow, uninformed, and clueless on how to service a table. The waitress brought out 1/3 of our order then brought the rest out 10 minutes later? The food... Can't really say it was bad but the pad Thai was nothing special and the sushi was small, the rice wasn't regular sushi rice, and it just wasn't "special". Service needs to improve because the food isn't good enough to make you forget the bad service.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thai Cashew Chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Thai Cashew Chicken is the Specialty of the House and deservedly so. I've been going to Bangkok for years and just now discovered this dish. Very generous portion of boneless chicken fried crispy and tossed with a hot and sweet sauce that preserves the crispiness. Cashews, scallions, carrots and bell peppers complete the dish. Outstanding. There are 2 cashew chicken dishes on the menu. Make sure it is the one with Thai in the name.
The lunch buffet is also very good.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“It has a buffet... limited but we love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

This restaurant is one location of three in the area (there's one on Airport Blvd. in Mobile, and the newest location is across the bay in Daphne, Alabama. I believe this is the original location and has been in business for years now. It's in what used to be a house so it feels a lot more casual than the others and might not look great from the outside, but don't let that stop you. The biggest problem with the building is that it doesn't have big commercial doors & allows flies to get inside sometimes. The server apologized and said they were trying to take care of that.

This location is the only one of the three locations that has a buffet, and that's what we go here for. Currently the buffet is only offered for weekday lunch and Friday evening but that changes, so check before you go.

The buffet is very limited compared to the huge Chinese buffets in town, but they have a decent variety of Thai food and I believe you can also order off the menu. There's always a tray of Pad Thai and there's extra peanut sauce by the salad area. There are usually at least two different kinds of curry and this place is where I really started liking curry. There are other spicy and not-spicy things to choose from... plenty to eat. The items on the buffet change from one time to the next and they're a bit lax sometimes in labeling the different things. I would like to know what everything is because I might want to order it off the menu some time.

I really like that they have an area where you can get the different sauces in little dishes and take them to your table. The salads are unique... I've liked every kind I've tried. There are fried wontons, rolls like egg rolls (fried) and the transparent kind (don't know for sure what they're called), rice, noodles... a good variety. My son, who kept saying he didn't like Thai food for years, now likes it because he was able to choose things that looked good to him.

One thing I dislike at this location and the others is the big heavy chairs. They're really beautiful but nearly impossible to move, especially when the tables are pretty close together. The tables also have BIG pedestal bases/legs so the big chairs bump into them and make it harder yet to move them around. But they really add to the atmosphere and are beautiful.

We've taken my toddler granddaughter there and she loved it, too, but she loves just about anything right now. We've seen quite a few children there. We weren't charged anything for my granddaughter and no one asked her age (she was 2½ the last time we were there).

Parking is never a problem. Their lot has never been full when we've been there.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.