We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of O'Charley's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
O'Charley's
725 Schillinger Rd S, Mobile, AL 36695-8909
251-633-9710
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #178 of 568 restaurants in Mobile
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Mobile, Alabama
2 reviews
“Not so great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The server had no idea what he was doing, he did not know the menu at all. We asked him a question about the drink menu and his reply was rude and sarcastic. The chicken on the the grilled chicken salad was sliced deli meat. We returned it and requested grilled chicken and they came back with the same salad with deli meat on it saying that it was grilled chicken. We did not even attempt to get a steak since the drinks and salad were so disappointing. Moving on!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    6
    9
    1
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good Service, Nice Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

After a weary day, this is just what the doctor ordered. There was a 20 minute wait, so we opted to sit at the bar area. The service was attentive. The glasses for the beer were very cold.
They have an unusual assortment of food to choose from, so I think there's something for everyone. We both had the prime rib Philly Cheesesteak sandwich with fries. For $8 it seemed like a good lunch deal and left us full.
We went back the following day, this time for a late dinner. Again, we ate at the bar, but at one of the tables. Our server, Graciella, was terrific. We both thought their Ceasar salads were very good. They use fresh shaved parmesean instead of grated, which made all the difference. I had the grilled 6 oz Atlantic Salmon and my partner had the baby back ribs. The ribs were fall off the bone and they salmon is fresh. The food was served promptly and we were happy campers. It was late and we lingered over our beers, but they didn't rush us out, which I appreciated. I'd recommend this restaurant if you're staying nearby.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“the best potato soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I love everything I've ever eaten here, especially their loaded potato soup and yeast rolls!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We chose this restaurant on the advice of our hotel staff and enjoyed a nice dinner while on a road trip. The menu selection and prices were good, and the service was great; the manager checked in several times to assure that we were satisfied. In short: nice place, with lots of locals eating there.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice meal at O'Charleys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We ate at O'Charleys while in Mobile and were impressed with the quality of food and atmosphere. The only negative is the smoke from the bar area would waft its way to the main restaurant but it was not too overwhelming. Not bad for a quick bite while on the road.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Charley's also viewed

 

Been to O'Charley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Charley's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.