We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of True Midtown Kitchen - CLOSED

True Midtown Kitchen
1104 Dauphin Street, Mobile, AL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Halliet Street
Transit: City Bus
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We loved the dinner rolls and spicy butter. Try the lamb meatloaf and in season the cranberry cheesecake is to die for.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Simple and super.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Great food. Server was pleasant, but not efficient. Definitely on our list of places we would return to visit.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“A great find - excellent food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Not particularly elegant or atmospheric surroundings (way back a commercial bakery), but the food makes you forget. Only one other couple in the restaurant when we were there (early on Tuesday evening;) we wonder about the noise level when there's a crowd. We had shrimp & grits (made with a barbeque sauce) and the catch of the day, pan-broiled but a tad over-cooked for my taste. Prices are generally good - mostly under $20, except for some of the fish dishes, which run upwards of $25. Portions are not huge (we wondered about the reviewer that had left-overs,) but we did not have any appetizers. Service was excellent. Just a good dining experience with excellent food, and mostly reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianna, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I love the presentation of the food. It offered a unique variety of delicious food. Our waitress was kind and answered all of our questions. I felt very welcomed and comfortable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Found this place on the way back home from Orange Beach. Got there early before the lunch crowd on a Monday. My wife and 4 kids were treated like VIPs. Sat outside and enjoyed the beautiful oak-lined streets of downtown Mobile. The salads and sandwiches were fantastic and the service was superb. It will be a regular stop from now on.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed True Midtown Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage True Midtown Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.