We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of True Midtown Kitchen - CLOSED

True Midtown Kitchen
1104 Dauphin Street, Mobile, AL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Halliet Street
Transit: City Bus
Marianna, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I love the presentation of the food. It offered a unique variety of delicious food. Our waitress was kind and answered all of our questions. I felt very welcomed and comfortable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Found this place on the way back home from Orange Beach. Got there early before the lunch crowd on a Monday. My wife and 4 kids were treated like VIPs. Sat outside and enjoyed the beautiful oak-lined streets of downtown Mobile. The salads and sandwiches were fantastic and the service was superb. It will be a regular stop from now on.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Our New Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I see that TMK is rated 20th in Mobile. I think it should be at least one of the top 5! We have been there twice now and we plan to make it a regular part of our dining rotation. To start with, I highly recommend the charcuterie. There is nothing like it in MOB, and truly it is hard to find a good one even in tthe big cities. For entrees, we have had the shrimp and grits, the kitchen and dumplings, the skirt steak and a pork special. All were wonderful and most are large enough that we had leftovers to enjoy at home. Bar selections are varied and sophisticated. The only place in town where I've seen a pisco sour! The atmosphere is interesting: it's clear that the space has industrial roots, but the restaurant remake is comfortable and classy. It reminds me of Typhoon in Portland, OR, which used to be a car dealership and garage.

Richard True is a terrific host for the front of the house. Get to know him!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth the Ride from Ocean Springs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have been out of town over the last year, and was sorry "The Bakery" was gone but absolutely thrilled that True Midtown Kitchen was in the location. Three of us enjoyed a delightful, extremely tasty lunch at reasonable prices. The hostess was very gracious and service was surperb! You simply MUST try the Pork pappalette with garbonza, seasoned greens, and sundried tomatoes. I was leary of this combination but it is a taste sensation. We will definitely go back and try the evening menu.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Coast
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Relaxing Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Glad we gave this place a try back in March of this year. We have now eaten here 5 or 6 times and have enjoyed each visit. Friendly and courteous staff with no pressure to meet a deadline... you may dine at your own pace. The crispy oyster small plate is outstanding and the shrimp and grits, the pork tenderloin and the chicken dishes are also very good. Good selection of desserts which changes regularly. Will go back again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed True Midtown Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage True Midtown Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.