We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great movie space” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Theater

Crescent Theater
208 Dauphin Street, Mobile, AL 36602
251 438 2005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 26 Attractions in Mobile
Attraction details
Oakhurst, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great movie space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We went to see Muscle Shoals, got there about 15 minutes before the start not a lot of seating but my party split up and it was fine, so get there earlier. Instead of previews they had a duo singing to entertain us, it was very well done. Sound system was great. You can purchase wine, beer and popcorn!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    16
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great way to spend the afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We followed up on great reviews about the Crescent Theatre and want to see "Enough Said" on an afternoon while visiting in Mobile. It's a charming place with an equally charming host who does indeed greet all visitors right before the movie begins. Don't be put off by the small lobby because the main theatre is a spacious room with a large screen and stadium seating. And if you're early, you can snag one of the 10 super-comfy leather recliners that line the front row. There's even a box of blankets for those who get a little chilly during the show. Watch out for the popcorn -- tasty but greasy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Lovely Downtown venue for a movie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Their upgraded sound and video systems make it a pleasure to view a movie here. The crowd is interested in movies and not talking and texting!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently made a quick weekend getaway to Mobile and stopped by the Crescent to watch Kings of Summer after reading a few of the reviews about the theater here on TripAdvisor. We arrived about 20 minutes before show time and managed to get the comfy recliners at the front. The owner, Max, came up front and gave a few words about upcoming movies/events and told us a bit about the film we were about to see. A very nice, local couple who sat beside us told us about how they had a fundraiser to upgrade the equipment and how the place was on the verge of closing. I'm so glad they're still around! We paid $24 for two tickets and two sodas... good price in my opinion. Max also offers wine and beer and lets you know you're welcome to go grab some during the film and pay at the end of the show. We really enjoyed ourselves and will definitely be back to visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superman Man of Steel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Love the recliner seating and new sound system. They also serve beer and wine. Stadium seating with the latest in new releases and Indi films

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crescent Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.