We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Gonna Like It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites / Downtown Mobile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites / Downtown Mobile to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites / Downtown Mobile
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 North Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Mobile
FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Your Gonna Like It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Candlewood Suites Downtown Mobile is top notch! I stayed from March to December on business and have no complaints! The building is kept in great repair. They have a beautiful brick courtyard with grills, premium outdoor furniture, a gas fire pit and pool. The interior is spotless. The rooms have amenities to make you feel at home( the beds are very comfortable). The best part in my opinion is the customer service. The General Manager, Assistant General Manager, front desk clerks and housekeeping are very professional and curteous. They always made everyday I stayed there a pleasant day. The management team at this hotel raises the bar for all other hotels. The Candlewood Suites Downtown Mobile has my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    19
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
19
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have stayed at Candlewood Suites Downtown Mobile Al several times on busines. Every trip has been made easy by the staff and service at this hotel. They are friendly and allways helpful. I would happily stay here anytime I come to this beautiful city. The hotel is well placed for access to the downtown area as well as access to all major roads in the area, without any of the traffic noise. Perfect location, no matter if you're coming for Mardi Gras, Bay Fest, the Senior Bowl or any other reason. Great restaurants and pubs/taverns are very close by. Free laundry. Secure elevator. Secure gym. Great outdoor BBQ area with pool. Free parking. Couldn't ask for anything better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unknown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I lived in the Candlewood Suites in downtown Mobile for a brief seven months and I can honestly say there is nowhere else I would have chosen. The staff all the way from the housekeepers to the general manager will make you feel at home and like family. The rooms are very well kept. The location is ideal for anyone staying in Mobile, whether for business or pleasure. The sight has a nice gym, free washers and dryers, a great pool and patio area with two large grills and free parking. It is also super convenient that the hotel is a short walk from a barber, local restaurants, bars, a park, cathedral and museum. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandlewoodSuitesMobi, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites / Downtown Mobile, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Gary T.

Thank you for your "Fantastic" review!! We enjoyed having you stay here for the brief seven months! Also, we appreciate you taking the time to mention some of our extra amenities offered. We hope, whether it's for business or pleasure, that you will stay with us on your next trip to Mobile!

Ashley Baggett
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have been staying in and out of Mobile now for the past 6 mos and have stayed in a total of 4 different local hotels. With its friendly/courteous staff to its lengthy stay amenities in the room, the Candlewood Mobile has become my new home away from home. To date, I have logged over 100 nights at the Candlewood and from the first night to my last night, the staff has always been attentive to my needs, and truly define that good ol' fashion "southern hospitality".

The amenities include a full size fridge with ice maker, stove with dishes, utencils, pots, pans and even a dish washer! I have two flat screen TVs, a lazy boy sofa chair, dvd player and access to many popular dvd movies provided by the front desk! The carpets in every room I have stayed in all feel like new (important to me). I have spent many evenings working late in my room and can do so comfortably in my high back office chair working one of two desks.

This location is conveniently located in the heart of Downtown Mobile and gives you easy access to many restaurants, businesses, public transportation and churches. The Candlewood is 1 block away from the main post office and a few blocks from Wintzells Oyster House where you can buy a dozen oysters for $6.00 from 3-7pm. Right across the street from the Hotel on Royal St. is a great breakfast restaurant called Royal St. Cafe. They sell a BIG breakfast for less than $5.00.

If I run out of groceries and don't feel like crossing the street to eat, I just head down to the lobby where I have access to everything from coffee and cereal and soda, juices and beef stew. This in-house pantry is always fully stocked with chips, canned goods, microwave meals, ice cream, jerky, trail mix, fruit and just about any else you get the urge for. The best thing about it is that its open 24/7.

The gym is far better than any of the other hotels I have stayed in and I love to work out while I wash clothes in my FREE washer and dryer! Yes, FREE, no charge for guests to do their laundry.

After a certain time at night, all perimeter doors require a room key to get into the building. At ALL times, a room key is required to use the elevator and to use the gym/laundry room.

I recommend making reservations in advance as Candlewood Suites Mobile seems to be the choice for many.

Room Tip: Make reservations in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandlewoodSuitesMobi, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites / Downtown Mobile, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
BoilermakerB0B,

We appreciate your generous review of the hotel! The staff is pleased that you find our hotel and its many amenities for extended stay travelers good enough to be your "home away from home". Thank you for highlighting the many benefits (like the gym, laundry room, and location) that Candlewood Suites Downtown Mobile offers to travelers. We look forward to accommodating you on your future trips to Mobile!

Ashley Baggett
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have stayed at The Candlewood Suites Hotel in downtown Mobile twice in the past 3 months and have been thoroughly pleased with EVERYTHING both times. I live in Mobile so my visits were during Bayfest and New Years Eve. Every staff member I have spoken with are always friendly and professional. The rooms are always very clean and have plenty of space. I find it an added bonus that the rooms have kitchenettes fully stocked with dishes and a full refrigerator. This saves a lot of money. The atmosphere is so welcoming and it is within walking distance to restaurants, shops, and bars. I always feel very safe walking in the parking lot to my car or down the street to grab something to eat. I have never been disturbed by other visitors or any loud door slamming. I am returning to this hotel for a Mardi Gras weekend and I absolutely can not wait to see the friendly staff again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandlewoodSuitesMobi, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites / Downtown Mobile, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Paige H.,

Thank you for your rave review! We are pleased that you continuously choose to stay at Candlewood Suites Downtown Mobile! It is through repeat customers like yourself that we know we are doing something right. We look forward to accommodating you during your stay for Mardi Gras, and please let us know if we can be of assistance while you are here.

Ashley Baggett
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Recently stayed here while attending an event in the Downtown Mobile area. This is one of the few hotels where I have stayed and it actually felt like a home away from home. The Staff was very nice and willing to help with whatever I needed. The rooms are spacious and VERY VERY clean, this is a BIG deal for me! I will be staying here again and thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandlewoodSuitesMobi, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites / Downtown Mobile, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Travler_007,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy that we could provide that "home away from home" feeling for you! Our staff strives everyday to make guests feel at home and have an easy travel experience while staying here. We look forward to accommodating you during your future travels to Mobile!

Ashley Baggett
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel, amenities, and staff. Newer hotel and it shows. Our suite was immaculate, beds were extremely comfortable, no problems at all. In close proximity to attractions downtown. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandlewoodSuitesMobi, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites / Downtown Mobile, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dave H.,

Thank you for your excellent review! We are so happy that you and your family loved being in the heart of downtown Mobile as much as we do! We strive to provide the best service and quality at a comfortable value. Again, thank you for your comments and feedback. We look forward for the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to Candlewood Suites Downtown Mobile!

Ashley Baggett
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites / Downtown Mobile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites / Downtown Mobile

Address: 121 North Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mobile
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#17 Business Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites / Downtown Mobile 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Hotel Mobile Downtown. This hotels's accommodations are strategically situated in the heart of Mobile's historic district, within walking distance of historic sites, local entertainment venues and prominent area businesses. This top-notch location paired with amenities that grant the freedom to come and go ensure a terrific travel experience. Business in Mobile, AL is always a pleasure thanks to the hotel's proximity to US Army Corp of Engineers, FBI Federal Building, Homeland Security, Austal USA, Alabama State Docks,and Kimberly Clark. With free wired and WIFI access and a 24-hour Business Center, guests can also work productively.Here, patrons have free parking, 24-hour access to free laundry facilities, the Candlewood Cupboard and a Fitness Center. There's also an outdoor pool complete with cabanas and gazebo area equipped with grills and a TV for barbecuing your favorite foods and watching the game. Next time you're looking for that unique hotel stay in Mobile, AL, "Consider Us Home!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites / Downtown Mobile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites / Downtown Mobile Hotel Mobile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites / Downtown Mobile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;