We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as aways” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   62 South Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HHonors Double Points!
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Mobile
Mobile, AL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent as aways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed here Feb 3rd thru 6th for Mardi Gras.
Staff, as always, is very courteous and helpful.
The room was clean and comfortable and housekeeping was very attentive to our needs.
We had a 3rd floor room with a balcony facing Royal Street, perfect for watching the Mardi Gras parades.
Complimentary breakfast every morning was fantastic and ready at or before advertised time. Check-in and checkout were a breeze.
Thanks to all who always make our annual stays pleasant.
See y’all again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnMobile, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
What a wonderful review of our property! There is no greater compliment than a guest who chooses to stay with our hotel on repeat occasions. Our team loved to hear that you enjoyed your balcony room overlooking Royal Street during your recent Mardi Gras stay. Be on the look out for information on our Facebook page for the start date to book your 2014 Mardi Gras stay with us, as the balcony rooms on Royal Street are the first to sell out. Thank you again for the positive review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    78
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
115
79
14
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Usually when people think about downtown Mobile, thoughts of decay and dilapidation enter the mind. The reality cannot be further from the truth. Downtown is a vibrant place with restaurants, bars, and history all about. Plus southern charm is oozing all over the place. In the middle of it all, is this hotel. The Hilton company really went gang busters with this property: clean, large rooms, beautiful decorated, friendly staff. One of the best things about this hotel are the fresh beignets from the local store served during the complimentary breakfast.
It is a bit more expensive than the outside surrounding hotel, plus it is well worth it, especially for the numerous happy hours in the area.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: My recommendation would be to snag a higher room for wonderful views of the city. Ask for upgrade if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBDT, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Mobile! We are delighted you had an opportunity to enjoy the liveliness of Mobile’s downtown. Our hotel’s central location to city attractions and 25+ restaurants within walking distance has proven to be a favorite among hotel guests. Again, we appreciate your kind words on TripAdvisor and look forward to the opportunity to host you during your next stay in Mobile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is our second year in a row staying at the Hampton Inn in beautiful downtown Mobile, Alabama. Check in was really organized, and our room was super clean with a nice view of downtown. My parents also had a great room with a view of Government Street street and the science museum. The breakfast buffet was standard Hampton Inn fare, but kicked up a notch by being really plentiful, fresh and hot, with Mardi Gras Krispy Kreme donuts. They also do benigets sometimes which are so much better than the ones at Cafe du Monde in NOLA, but not this weekend and that's OK. We can drive over for breakfast soon because we were craving them. We so love doing at least one weekend in Mobile during Mardi Gras, since we live not too far away in Pensacola. The staff at the Hampton Inn are awesome, from the friendly lady who checked us in, to the security guards stationed at the door off Royal Street, to the housekeepers, and everyone we encountered. Same friendly experience as last year. We will be booking again for next year for the 3rd weekend of Mardi Gras, and may do a few weekends over the next year as a special treat. FYI, we also always try to do one weekend in NOLA durin Mardi Gras, and we love carnival there, but Mobile's Mardi Gras is special to us because the folks in Mobile are so nice, the throws at the parades are so much better than in NOLA and the floats in most parades (MOT especially) are just as good or better than some in NOLA, and the Hampton Inn makes the weekend perfect. Thanks guys and see you soon!

Room Tip: During Mardi Gras, get there EARLY in the day, as near the start of check-in time as possible, in or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBDT, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your stay with us at Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Mobile. We are delighted to have you stay with us again. As you mentioned, our complimentary hot breakfast buffet is a guest favorite– especially on the mornings we include beignets! So glad you were able to experience our warm Hilton hospitality and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Stay tuned to our Facebook page where we’ll post information on the start date to book your room for Mardi Gras 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, USA
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Wow. Perfect location in the old town center, blocks from anything you would want to see. Cheaper than the other brand across the street, and not as gaudy or showy. The building fits into the area, but is extremely well-kept, clean beyond belief, with all of the amenities. Super-friendly staff, convenient parking with in-and-out privileges, breakfast included. If you are a Hilton Honors member, wifi is included too. And the suites on each floor are palatial... Mine had a thirty-foot long balcony overlooking the street below, and enough floor space inside to bowl a few frames. Not that I did. I'm just saying. Wow.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBDT, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Mobile. We understand you can stay anywhere in Mobile and appreciate you choosing us. As always, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Beautiful hotel! We just stayed for Mardi Gras. We had excellent service and the staff was so kind. We will definitely be back next year!!! The rooms and suites were a great size. The breakfast was wonderful also. We loved the beignets from Panini Pete's!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBDT, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Mobile. I am very happy to hear that the staff took such good care of you and you found the amenities of the property to your liking. Hope to see you return soon. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I can't say enough about this Hotel. Location-right in the middle of historic area; NO security issues at all; Hospital clean ;all areas;lobby hallways elevators and rooms. Breakfast was just enough to get started with staff people very eager to serve and help. Room service done by 12 noon each of the three days we were there!!!
Here's the best part. I recovering from 2 major surgeries last JUNE. I did
enquire about a handicapped room when i originally booked, none were available. When we checked in I casually asked about it again. The entire from Desk then proceeded to do everyhting possible for this change. Less than 10 minutes later we were changed to a Handicap Room. WE then had a great time in their wonderful Mardi Gras celebration. Th whole town gets an "attaboy" and should be congrtaulated on their beautiful celebration and parades. There's still time to go there till Fat Tuesday. This is a family oriented party!
Mobile congrats WELL DONE!!!
WE will return again! Hampton Inns are THE cleanest operation and beds are fresh every NITE!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBDT, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Mobile. We appreciate your gracious words and your business very much! It is a delight to hear that everything was up to your expectations and we were able to accommodate your room change request. Mobile is a wonderful place to experience Mardi Gras and with Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown right on the parade route, one can enjoy the festivities with even more convenience. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Pros
-GREAT Location
-AWESOME customer service
-VERY CLEAN rooms and public areas
-LARGE Rooms
-COMFORTABLE beds

Cons
-Pipes made rattling noise from 5am-8am each morning. Think this problem is isolated to room 212 as others in our group had no problem with noise from the pipes.
-WIFI speed a little slow

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBDT, Stephanie Ward, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown! We are very happy to hear our team took such good care of you and you found the amenities of the hotel to your liking. We haven’t been able to identify the reason for the noise from pipes. It has been on our radar and we’re unsure if it’s an isolated event as we have not heard any additional concerns from guests. However, we certainly appreciate you bringing this to our attention because every guest may not provide that feedback resulting in a missed opportunity to provide a resolution. Hope to see you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown

Address: 62 South Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#2 Business Hotel in Mobile
#2 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Mobile, Alabama. Located within walking distance of all attractions and restaurants in downtown Mobile. Only 1/2 mile from the Mobile Cruise Terminal and located directly on the parade route for Mardi Gras! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mobile/Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown Hotel Mobile
Hampton Inn Mobile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.