We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Clean & Spacious Suites but $9/day parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   62 South Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HHonors Double Points!
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Mobile
Memphis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Clean & Spacious Suites but $9/day parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed in double Queen room adjoined with Double Queen Suite with 7 adults + 1 baby. Spacious with nice balcony access in the suite. The breakfast selection was very good. Oatmeal just right. Fresh Fruit, Yogurts & a featured pastry in addition to traditional breakfast breads. (Loved the beignets) Would stay here again despite the parking fee. We were in town for a family emergency & the desk clerk waived our parking fee for one day. Quality customer service! Loved the fact that they had 6 am - 10 am breakfast daily to accommodate early & late risers. Restaurants, shops all in walking distance. Excellent Security.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnMobile, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites in beautiful Downtown Mobile, Alabama. I was delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the customization of our hotel to the downtown area. I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the eggs during our complimentary breakfast. However, I feel certain that you found other healthy choices for breakfast on that particular day. Hampton is constantly striving to improve the products and services that we deliver to our guests which is why we do rotate the various types of eggs that are served each day. Our guests will often find a western omelet or a cheese omelet as well as the scrambled eggs you mentioned, depending on which day of the week they are enjoying breakfast at the hotel. I look forward to having you as our guest again in the future, and thank you for being a loyal Hampton customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    66
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
109
74
14
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, FL
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Convenient location - a few blocks form the Federal Building. Nice setup - comfy rooms, clean modern. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is typical Hampton Inn. WOuld definitely stay here again when in Mobile. I have stayed out near the airport and find this to be a better location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnMobile, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Our team at the Hampton Inn & Suites/Downtown Mobile enjoyed reading your review of our property. We take pride in our rooms and the service that we provide and we are so glad that you found our property to be comfortable and in the perfect location! We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Hampton Inn & Suites has become our favorite chain. Good beds, clean rooms, quiet atmosphere. We like the breakfasts, as well - except for the eggs. For some reason, Hilton thinks no one will notice powdered eggs. Whether they are omelets or scrambled, they are dreadful. Our other complaint was that the pull out sofa bed was pretty bad. Otherwise, the place was nice.
This hotel was typical of Hampton Inns in most ways, and better in some. It is not the prefab, generic hotel that can be found in any suburban area along a freeway. This one is an old hotel that has been redone. It therefore has a few nice touches, like the old lobby, balconies, and unusual room configurations. The parking was extra, too ($9), but not bad compared to other downtown hotels. Overall, a good place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is amazing, from the moment you walk in the door. Lindsey at the front desk was most accommodating, and went out of her way to be sure that we had everything that we needed. The breakfast buffet is great, and the location is perfect for sight seeing in the downtown Mobile area. Well appointed rooms, and fully stocked. I will definitely stay at this location again, and suggest it to everyone else as well. Thanks to the staff at this hotel for your attention. You are what makes it a great place!!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnMobile, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at the Hampton Inn & Suites/Downtown Mobile. We love to hear feedback from our guests, especially when they wish to recognize one of our Hampton Team Members. We will be sure to share your comments with Linesay as soon as we see her. We hope to see you on your next visit to Mobile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I recently spent several nights here while on a business trip to Mobile. I wasn't expecting anything special, but I actually found this hotel to be delightful. My room was surprisingly comfortable; the entire hotel was spotless; the staff was friendly and helpful. And it's in a fabulous location - right downtown, but a block away from the "noisy" street. There are a couple of bars/restaurants next door, and dozens of other restaurants within several blocks. The hotel has a private parking lot, which was also a plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMcMitchell, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your Great Review detailing everything that stood out to you about our hotel and what Mobile , has to offer in our downtown area. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and our city and hope your Review will help others find their way to Mobile, & our Hampton !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I had a great stay at this hotel. It is within walking distance from everything in downtown Mobile. There is a fun little bar next door if you want to get out for the night. They do charge for parking but it is very reasonable for a in town location. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMcMitchell, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel while staying with us in Oct. We so enjoyed reading the part that You will return. We look forward to having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stopped over in Mobile for a couple of days whilst driving from Florida to New Orleans and chose the Hampton Inn Downtown because of the excellent reviews in Tripadvisor!

The Hotel is brilliantly situated for those wanting a downtown location, with excellent restaurants close by, secure off-street parking and ready access to all of the major highways. It is a very clean and well-run hotel and we were also fortunate to obtain an upgrade to a very nice suite.

There are many interesting attractions and eateries in the surrounding area, however, from a tourist's standpoint we were very suprised by the run-down nature of the historic district which is well past its use-by date. Those local businesses that were still operational were doing a good job waving the flag but times are clearly tough in that part of town.

If you are looking to break your journey this is the spot.

Room Tip: Some of the upper rooms have nice balconies but the whole hotel is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown

Address: 62 South Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mobile
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#2 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Mobile, Alabama. Located within walking distance of all attractions and restaurants in downtown Mobile. Only 1/2 mile from the Mobile Cruise Terminal and located directly on the parade route for Mardi Gras! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown Hotel Mobile
Hampton Inn And Suites Mobile/Downtown
Hampton Inn Mobile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.