We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING SERVICE!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   62 South Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HHonors Double Points!
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mobile
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“AMAZING SERVICE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is amazing, from the moment you walk in the door. Lindsey at the front desk was most accommodating, and went out of her way to be sure that we had everything that we needed. The breakfast buffet is great, and the location is perfect for sight seeing in the downtown Mobile area. Well appointed rooms, and fully stocked. I will definitely stay at this location again, and suggest it to everyone else as well. Thanks to the staff at this hotel for your attention. You are what makes it a great place!!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnMobile, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at the Hampton Inn & Suites/Downtown Mobile. We love to hear feedback from our guests, especially when they wish to recognize one of our Hampton Team Members. We will be sure to share your comments with Linesay as soon as we see her. We hope to see you on your next visit to Mobile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    83
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
125
92
17
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I recently spent several nights here while on a business trip to Mobile. I wasn't expecting anything special, but I actually found this hotel to be delightful. My room was surprisingly comfortable; the entire hotel was spotless; the staff was friendly and helpful. And it's in a fabulous location - right downtown, but a block away from the "noisy" street. There are a couple of bars/restaurants next door, and dozens of other restaurants within several blocks. The hotel has a private parking lot, which was also a plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMcMitchell, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your Great Review detailing everything that stood out to you about our hotel and what Mobile , has to offer in our downtown area. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and our city and hope your Review will help others find their way to Mobile, & our Hampton !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I had a great stay at this hotel. It is within walking distance from everything in downtown Mobile. There is a fun little bar next door if you want to get out for the night. They do charge for parking but it is very reasonable for a in town location. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMcMitchell, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel while staying with us in Oct. We so enjoyed reading the part that You will return. We look forward to having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stopped over in Mobile for a couple of days whilst driving from Florida to New Orleans and chose the Hampton Inn Downtown because of the excellent reviews in Tripadvisor!

The Hotel is brilliantly situated for those wanting a downtown location, with excellent restaurants close by, secure off-street parking and ready access to all of the major highways. It is a very clean and well-run hotel and we were also fortunate to obtain an upgrade to a very nice suite.

There are many interesting attractions and eateries in the surrounding area, however, from a tourist's standpoint we were very suprised by the run-down nature of the historic district which is well past its use-by date. Those local businesses that were still operational were doing a good job waving the flag but times are clearly tough in that part of town.

If you are looking to break your journey this is the spot.

Room Tip: Some of the upper rooms have nice balconies but the whole hotel is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed at the Hampton Inn for a local training seminar. I was very pleased with the service I received. I got there well before check in, but figured I would see if there was any chance I could check in early. Tyisha was very helpful, friendly and immediately able to get me into a room. The room was great and the beds were super comfortable. I slept great and had a wonderful complementary breakfast each morning. I did find a pair of someone's socks in my room, but other than that everything was perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMcMitchell, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your great review about the service you received while staying at our hotel and for expressing that Tyisha, one of our Front Desk Agents wowed you with her service. We are in hopes you keep us in mind for any future travels to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pell City, Alabama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a very nice Hampton Inn. I was in town for a conference and brought my family with me. The exterior of this hotel is very impressive. I have not seen a Hampton tucked into a downtown area like this one. The room was large (with a balcony). The only complaint that I might throw out there is that this area of Mobile is a bit rough. There are many bars and 'night spots' in this area. Even though we were right next to a bar, we did not have any trouble with noise.
Overall a great stay - typical Hampton Inn experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double queen with a balcony - very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMcMitchell, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We were delighted to read your review of how our Hotel stands out in the Downtown Mobile, area. Seeing all the reviews you have done on Trip Advisor it shows you travel a great deal and know the Hilton Brand. We are in hopes you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We picked this hotel based on location, reviews, and it being a Hilton. It was perfect! So clean and fresh! Great location to downtown and easy freeway access to explore the area. Rooms were immaculate, parking was easy, great breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnMobile, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent experience at the Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown Historic District. Our team was thrilled to hear that you loved the location of the property overall and that you found it easy to navigate in our downtown area. Our team takes pride in providing a memorable guest experience. We loved to hear that your room was in immaculate condition and that you found the complimentary breakfast to be a nice added value. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown

Address: 62 South Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mobile
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#2 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Mobile, Alabama. Located within walking distance of all attractions and restaurants in downtown Mobile. Only 1/2 mile from the Mobile Cruise Terminal and located directly on the parade route for Mardi Gras! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mobile/Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown Hotel Mobile
Hampton Inn Mobile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.