We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   62 South Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HHonors Double Points!
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alabama
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
337 helpful votes 337 helpful votes
“Great Downtown Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on business, which happened to be during Mardi Gras week. Very nice hotel that appears to be new, although it has the character of an older restored property with balconies overlooking downtown (on the street side). Staff was very friendly and helpful. Free breakfast was very good and included sausage, etc. Hotel is across the street from the Riverview Hotel, which has a walkover to the convention center. So walking to the convention center is fast and easy. On-site parking is $9/day...not terrible for a downtown hotel, but the lot is not large and can be a bit cramped for large vehicles coming in and out. The 1BR suite I had was very nice with a huge radius balcony facing the front of the hotel (excellent for watching parades if Mardi Gras season) as well as a wet bar area and nicely appointed bathroom. Elevators seemed to be fast and security was good. Everything was well maintained and clean. I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelfC, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much and especially that you got to experience Mardi Gras! We are very proud of our hotel and love our location to all of downtown's most popular spots. Your recommendation means the world to us. Thank you for taking the time to share with us these kind words and we hope you come back and stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Christy Self
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    87
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
129
98
19
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed here 2/19 for Sunday/Monday Mardi Gras parades downtown. The BEST location in my opinion, right in the heart of everything. Had a King Suite and a great view of Govenment St. looking toward the Science Museum. Was able to check in at 2:30 pm on Sunday, and was actually given wristbands early around 12:30 so that my family could use the restrooms during the parades but before check-in. I was travelling with my 75 yr. old parents and 6 yr. old daughter, so this was really appreciated by them. The breakfast buffet was very good, with special Mardi Gras Krispy Kreme donuts and delicious beignets from a sandwich shop down the street (Painini Pete's). The BEST beignets I have ever had, very moist unlike the yucky ones at Cafe du Monde in NOLA. We are from Pensacola, and always do the middle weekend of Mardi Gras in NOLA, but now plan to do the last weekend of the season in Mobile and hope to stay two nights next year. The Hampton Inn will be our first choice for sure!!

Room Tip: The balcony rooms facing Royal St. will be great for parade viewing, but will cost you a ton of $$ o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelfC, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel! Mardi Gras is always a little hectic here, so hearing this positive review will definitely make the staff feel good about all of their hard work! We love being in the middle of the Mardi Gras festivities and have our great location to thank for that. We try and embrace Mardi Gras to its fullest and the beignets from Panini Pete's are a huge treat! We will definitely pass your compliments along. Please "like" us on Facebook to find out when you can start making reservations for next year. We are thrilled that you will be staying with us again!

Sincerely,
Christy Self
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton for several days during Mardi Gras in Mobile, the room we reserved was ready for us several hours before normal checkin time.
Our room had a balconcy overlooking Royal Street which is one of the main parade routes.
The room was spacious, and very clean. The staff was very attentive to our needs.
The free breakfast every morning was very inviting and well prepared.
We are looking forewasr to staying there again next Mardi Gras.

Room Tip: All rooms I saw were very spacious, this is a great hotel to use as a home base for discovering hist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelfC, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! We absolutely love our location in the heart of downtown Mobile and are proud to say that our balcony rooms give the best view in town during Mardi Gras! We look forward to having you stay with us again next year. Please "like" our Facebook page to find out when you can start making your reservations for 2013!

Sincerely,
Christy Self
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Our stay in Mobile was great, due in large part to the wonderful staff at this hotel. They were generous with their time and knowledge. The hotel was exceptionally clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelfC, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! We will definitely be sharing this with the rest of the staff to put a smile on their faces today! Our staff works so hard to be helpful and accommodating to all of our guests and it is so refreshing to hear that it is paying off. Thank you for being a fabulous guest and we hope you come back and visit the Hampton Inn Downtown again soon!

Sincerely,
Christy Self
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvey, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I have stayed at this property several times. The rooms are great, however the staff is lacking in customer service. My last stay was on December 23, 2011. I left an item in the room and called back to inquire about it. Unfortunately the staff did not turn it in. I had very little support from management in trying to retrieve or locate this item. This was the second time this happened at this property.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions in February, 2012, one in a double Queen, and one in a double Queen studio with balcony. Both rooms were perfect, completely smoke-free as reserved, and still appeared to be completely new (great upkeep!). The balcony was a nice wraparound, and the extra space of the studio a definite plus. Soft towels, basiic toiletries (and of course a sign that others were available at the desk for travelers who'd forgotten theirs). Checkout is automatically completed with the standard receipt under the door and you just drop your key in the drop box as you exit the secure parking lot ($9, a great value for the area as of 2/12). I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelfC, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel! We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Our staff tries so hard to make each and every guests stay an enjoyable and convenient one. Whether you are here for work or vacation, we want you to be as comfortable as possible being away from home. We love having you here and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Christy Self
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Ran a marathon in early Jan. 2012 and stayed at the Hampton because it was close to the start/finish. Hotel staff was excellent. Breakfast buffet was one of the best I have ever had. I forgot an item in my room after I left and they sent it to my home. Excellent service and friendly!! Also, this hotel was very close to many nice downtown restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelfC, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
We are so glad that you chose to stay with us! We love our location and being able to be a host hotel for a lot of the downtown events. Our team works extremely hard to make your stay the best it can be and it is so nice to hear that our hard work does not go unnoticed! Please consider us family here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Mobile and come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown

Address: 62 South Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mobile
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#2 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Mobile, Alabama. Located within walking distance of all attractions and restaurants in downtown Mobile. Only 1/2 mile from the Mobile Cruise Terminal and located directly on the parade route for Mardi Gras! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mobile/Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown Hotel Mobile
Hampton Inn Mobile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.