We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character in abundance but get a room in the historic part of the building.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malaga Inn

Save Saved
You added Malaga Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Malaga Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   359 Church St., Mobile, AL 36602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Special Walk-in Rate
Ranked #8 of 65 hotels in Mobile
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Character in abundance but get a room in the historic part of the building.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've always wanted to stay here and now that I've moved away from Mobile I finally spent four days here in May 2011. The hotel is actually two ante-bellum town houses joined with a newer lobby (ca. 1970s from the decor) and a modern multi-story annex at the rear surrounding an open courtyard.
The only recommendations/warnings I can offer:
*If you are looking for posh boutique hotel with everything trimmed in latest country house fashion, then this hotel is not for you.
*If you don't mind it being a bit faded and odd but full of character and reasonably priced, then this is definitely the hotel for you.
***The one caveat I would add is to make certain you get a room at the front in one of the original ante-bellum townhouses.

The room was large and comfortable if a bit quirky. It was clean and opened onto the balcony however, it was in the modern annex although it had a certain charm. There was a wedding party there on our last night with caused considerable disruption to our sleep so you may wish to inquire if there are any parties being held there in the evening as any party activity in the courtyard will be heard by all.

The hotel is within easy walking of downtown Mobile's sights and restaurants and also has secure parking. A new transit service stops outside for those less mobile in the Alabama heat. There is a very pleasant pool, as well.
Breakfast is basic and decent but nothing spectacular. Try the Spot of Tea on Cathedral Plaza for their bananas foster french toast instead.
The lady who worked the afternoon/night shift was an absolute delight; always greeted us in the evenings by name, asked us about our day, offered suggestions on food/sightseeing and generally charmed my English-born finance.

Room Tip: Do get a room in the historic townhouse part of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    43
    10
    11
    15
See reviews for
20
74
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I prefer local places with character, and this hotel has it. Probably 5 coats of paint in the owners' efforts to brighten up the place, but I still prefer that to stainless and glass. 37 rooms on 3 floors surrounding a Spanish style open courtyard with fountain. A local wedding was preparing the Friday night my wife and stayed (rm 217, corner overlooking the courtyard). Don't expect lavish extras if you stay here. The toilet was not adult "comfort height", but clean and functional. Queen beds quite comfortable. Walls not soundproof (and what, 100 years old??). Unfortunately despite the sign the hotel kitchen is not functioning now, but several good restaurants within 4-5 short blocks. A small, somewhat under-stocked bar is on premises. A great overnight with live jazz or flamenco music in the courtyard, at least on week-ends. Downtown Mobile is still a bit gritty, so my wife insisted we drive the short distance to dinner (at "Noja"--see my review). Oh, from the balcony we had an excellent view of the round-top Holiday Inn a few blocks away. No doubt a better, panoramic view, but I'll return to the Malaga, thank you.

Room Tip: On music nights, ask for a balcony courtyard room facing the musicians. (Our room did not.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable room, loads of classic southern style and culture, and a great walkable neighborhood make this a wonderful place to stay. Excellent staff provide friendly local advice. Great quality and variety of local food all walkable. Will return here often.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night and found that the hotel had a great amount of charm and character. We stayed in one of the 'historic' rooms and although the beds weren't quite as comfy as one could have hoped for, the hotel made up for it in just being quaint and charming.

We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the historic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was a perfect location for access to historical downtown Mobile. We could walk or trolley everywhere. The people at the front desk were more than helpful. We loved the quaint courtyard with the fountain. The room was large and very clean. We enjoyed our stay much more than a large, sterile cahin hotel stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed in the Malaga for one night and I can't have better things to say. The center atrium has all the character in the world and it was a pleasure to work on one of the wrought iron table and chair sets overlooking it (especially because the wifi was so strong there). We stayed in one of their more historic rooms and we were gently awoken by a soft red light coming through their stained glass window. We had a balcony on the room that was connected by a floor length window, and the bed itself I could have easily crawled under it was propped so high on its four post bed. Great experience and I'm looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed for one night on a road trip through the gulf coast. In a great historic area right off government st as well as a short walk to all the restaurants, bars, and shopping on Dauphine st. Room was awesome with 4 post beds and a balcony. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malaga Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malaga Inn

Address: 359 Church St., Mobile, AL 36602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#13 Business Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Malaga Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Malaga Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaga Hotel Mobile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malaga Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.