We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malaga Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Malaga Inn to your Saves list
Malaga Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   359 Church St., Mobile, AL 36602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Adorable place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

An unique setting with a stunishing building and a marvelous atmosphere from a past time. Overall a very beautiful place, but not manteined as it should be. Taking it at count that restoring a place like that is not easy. The furniture it was quite outworn, the people of the front desk was strange to say the least, poor breakfast. Very nice swimming pool area, very kind maintenance guy and, by the time we were there, there was a music night show - that was very nice. It´s well worth it for the experience of being in a true historic place, better than any chain hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malagainn, Inn Keeper at Malaga Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. You are right. Restoring an old building like that does take a lot of work. That is why we value the feedback from our guests so greatly, so we know what needs to be improved upon. We are sorry about the breakfast. We are trying to improve on this and if you have any suggestions we would love to hear them. Tony, our maintenance guy, is thrilled that you mentioned him in your review. We are so glad you were able to attend our weekly music series. It is a new project for us and so far we have nothing but positive feedback. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Mobile.
Sincerely,
Jordan
Beem
Inn Keeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    60
    14
    15
    16
See reviews for
32
101
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temperance, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff, beautiful neighborhood. Courtyard a great place to have your coffee. One downside, could be a little cleaner and quirky electricity. Mold in the shower and couldn't make coffee unless the lights were on, lol. I would stay again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Malaga Inn for one night, but I wish it could have been longer. The outside was like something out of an old movie, just so elegant and "old South" We were greeted by Vonnie, who is a treasure herself. She was so friendly and so helpful. Our room was on the front, and was like something one would see in homes years ago. The four poster bed, the old fashioned telephone, the decor - I felt like I was in "Gone With the Wind" We had our own balcony to sit out on and we had such fun watching the squirrels scampering up and down on the huge oak just out front of our room. For me a hotel is a hotel, they are all much the same, but the Malaga Inn is a totally different experience, charming and elegant, and the people who take care of the inn are so very nice. We definitely recommend it if you want to experience something completely different than the usual accommodations. Mickie & Stirling B.

Room Tip: While I am sure all the rooms are lovely, ask for the room on the front with the balcony. I think it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just returned from Bayfest and had a wonderful time in Mobile. Of course we stayed at the Malaga – wouldn’t stay anywhere else. The Malaga captures the charm of the city.
We stayed in our favorite room again, with the balcony overlooking the ancient oak. Spotted a cardinal and a possum this time among the Mardi Gras beads. (yes - this is a great place to stay for Mardi Gras)
The first night we enjoyed the “Music at the Malaga” performance, one of a new series of free musical offerings held in the beautiful fountained courtyard of the Malaga. That night the musician was the great New Orleans guitarist, Jimmy Robinson, of whom I’m great fan. The music is from 6-9:45 and there is a Happy Hour from 5-6 with free hors d’ oeuvres. The bar is off the courtyard in the same nook where they serve their complimentary continental breakfast. This musical series is such a treat for the guests and locals alike. In fact, some of the staff were even in attendance with their family members and mates.
After the performance we took a 5 minute stroll to The Mediterranean Sandwich Shop on Dauphin St (the happening strip) for outstanding orzo and gyros. We were so pleased with this find, especially since it is open so late – till 2:00 a.m.
We also discovered some other great eateries less than a ten minute drive from the Malaga, “Yen” and “Kitchen on George”. Yen, in Mobile since 1997, where we had lunch, has authentic Vietnamese cuisine, delicate and delicious. Don’t let the squat white building fool you. And Kitchen on George, in the Historic Oakleigh neighborhood is a chic new tapas restaurant.
We’re already planning our next trip to the Malaga and will have to make choices between old and new favorites, as well as some restaurants that we wanted to try last time but which were closed due to their proximity to Bayfest. Such a delightful dilemma.
Fall is such a great time to visit Mobile and the Malaga. There is a crispness in the air and the first stirrings of a breeze, yet still warm enough to have a dip in the Malaga’s pristine swimming pool. The Market on the Square is happening, five minutes from the Inn. And Catt Sirten, the master of all things musical in Mobile, is having the grand opening of his club, “Catt’s Avalon 360” at 360 Dauphin St (again – walking distance from the Malaga) this weekend.
We are so in love with this town and this Inn. Having worked in the hospitality industry in New Orleans for years, I can appreciate when a place is run right, where the staff is treated with the same courtesy and respect as a guest would expect. It really feels like a family, proud and happy to welcome you into their home. You get the warmth of a bed and breakfast but the privacy of a hotel.
Mobile is only a little more than two hours from New Orleans, and makes for a great weekend getaway for us. Even if you had to drive further, it would be worth it. But if you really want to make it special – Make it the Malaga!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Malaga end last weekend. The owner, Julie, and all of the staff are so nice and accommodating. This was my second time staying there, and i will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I decided to do a weekend getaway to Mobile. We selected Malaga Inn because it looked rustic and got great reviews. Upon arrival, the room we were put in wreaked of mold and there was mold actually coming out of the air vent. We called the front desk and were moved to another room facing the courtyard. This room was musty smelling but wasn't moldy. Mediocre at best. We saw that there was a wedding being set up in the courtyard and at the time didn't think much about. We left to go grab dinner and explore a bit and upon our return heard booming music coming from the hotel. The wedding reception was taking place in the courtyard and they had a DJ with blaring dance music. We called the front desk and we were told that it would be over at 10pm. We were exhausted and were looking for a quiet getaway and had not been informed that there was a wedding reception scheduled during our stay (and we had called to confirm our reservation just a couple days prior). So for 2 hours we had to blair our TV to be able to hear it over the dance music. The music stopped at 10pm but then there was another hour of loud partiers left over from the reception. We had already decided not to stay the second night and were scheduled to check out the next morning.
The next morning we woke up feeling like we'd been hit by a bus after a night on the uncomfortable bed. We wanted to make some coffee but there was a hair in the back of the coffee maker (where you pour the water in). Breakfast was to be served starting at 7:30 and about 8am we went down. When we got down there, it was a dark room with the remnants of the wedding decorations. There was an opening into what I guess used to be a restaurant but was now a storage room. All there was to eat were bagels, cereal, and a waffle maker. We made waffles (which we could have done at home) and as we were eating, the staff was still bringing items out like juice and yogurt (even though it was 45 minutes after breakfast was supposed to start).
As we were walking to check out, we got a full view of the front desk employee's plumbers crack and heard him jamming to music off of his laptop. He didn't bother to ask us how our stay was and when we asked if there were comment cards he said he guessed they were out.
So the moral of the story is if you want a dirty, moldy, generally uncomfortable place to stay, this is a great choice. I feel like all the reviews that were great were talking about a totally different hotel. We could have paid less to stay in a chain hotel and had a much better experience.
Needless to say, we will not be going back. It's amazing how an unpleasant place to stay can ruin a trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mobile
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I would recommend this place to everyone I know. The staff were helpful and polite and my room was very comfortable and quiet. Julie B, the owner, seemed to genuinely care about my stay. I recommend staying in a historical room, they have hard wood floors and high ceilings. The place invites a peaceful environment, especially the pool area and courtyard. I enjoyed a night of live music which I learned happens every Thursday in the dining hall.

Room Tip: Choose a historical room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.5 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites / Downtown Mobile
10.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mobile - Tillman's Corner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malaga Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malaga Inn

Address: 359 Church St., Mobile, AL 36602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#10 Family Hotel in Mobile
#17 Business Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Malaga Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Malaga Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaga Hotel Mobile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malaga Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.