We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the Malaga” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malaga Inn

Save Saved
You added Malaga Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Malaga Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   359 Church St., Mobile, AL 36602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Special Walk-in Rate
Ranked #8 of 65 hotels in Mobile
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We love the Malaga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Antebellum charm in the heart of Historic downtown Mobile, with a modern swimming pool! My husband and I have stayed here when he played BayFest and have so enjoyed it, we made it a destination vacation this time, booking a front room with the full balcony. Totally relaxing - watching the birds and the squirrels in the magnificent ancient oak – catching a breeze or watching the rain fall, while having the morning’s coffee or evening cocktail.

We have stayed in four different rooms and although this is our favorite, each has something unique and wonderful. The rooms in the front are original to the historic home and have the high ceilings and antique furniture. In the back, surrounding the courtyard, are the newer additions, which are smaller (also cheaper) but are opened up by the beautifully landscaped courtyard with the babbling fountain. You can sit outside your room under the overhang or have a seat at one of the tables under an umbrella.

Also opening onto the courtyard are the ice and drink machines, and a little nook where you can get your complimentary continental breakfast.

Not only is the inn itself enchanting, but the entire surrounding area. Mobile was settled by the French and Spanish before New Orleans was, and so has similar architecture to the French Quarter. In walking distance is Cathedral Square, where there is a Saturday morning market with live music, and also a great little café with outdoor seating.

The Malaga is in a prime location if you go to BayFest in October as it is in walking distance to Bienville Square, the site of the festival. So you can leave your car for free in the Malaga parking lot. Certain times of the year there are brown bag music events in the square, which is surrounded by unique shops and eateries.

Dauphin Street, the happening strip, is also a short walk from the inn. And this summer, Catt Sirten, who sponsors BayFest, the brown bags, and who hosts a jazz radio broadcast, Radio Avalon, is opening a music club there – Catt’s 360. As Catt is the man in Mobile, this is going to be great!

Speaking of jazz, you might hear John Coltrane or Miles Davis in the Malaga lobby, as Vonnie plays the old box phonograph there.

Vonnie is one of the desk staff and one of the sweetest people you could ever meet. She loves playing hostess to all the guests from all over the world. Last time there were some distinguished Brits , hip young Aussies, and relocated Katrinaites staying there. All different types, with one thing in common, they know how to choose their lodging for a unique experience and an authentic sense of place.

Vonnie is a stand-out, but everyone here from the housekeeping staff to Jordan, the owner, oozes southern hospitality.

Jordan has also begun a new music series in the courtyard on Thursday evenings, weather permitting. Mobile is a great music town. And just 2 ½ hours from New Orleans.

And when it’s time to go home, the interstate is mere blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    42
    10
    11
    15
See reviews for
19
72
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westwood Los Angeles County, California
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This beautiful hotel is ideally located for exploring the old downtown area of Mobile, or if you come to Mobile for Mardi Gras. You can walk to a wide variety of nearby attractions, parks, restaurants, the public library, the old city cemetery and the greater Mobile Chamber of Commerce. Government Street is one block away. The hotel has a lot of charm, a great lobby, a very nice interior courtyard with a picturesque, bubbling fountain, lots of flowers and landscaping and a very helpful, attentive staff. Parking is surface parking and immediately adjacent...not something that other hotels in the area can offer. There is an outdoor swimming pool, a little small for serious swimming but nice for relaxing.

Having mentioned the positives, if should be pointed out that the beds are quite old and its hard to get a good night's sleep....you are likely to arise in the morning very stiff and sore. The breakfast is somewhat on the spartan side, so keep your expectations modest. Interest service is slow. Most of the rooms have no desk or any place to work. Rooms on the north side face a flood lite parking light and not every room has heavy enough curtains to block out the light at night.

Conclusion: this is a great place for visitors coming for a vacation but not a great place for business travelers. .

Room Tip: Rooms 107, 207 and especially 307 face the floodlights that illuminate the parking lots to the nort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, LA, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I and 3 other ladies from our church in Hammond, LA visited Mobile to go to the Bay City Revival. Since this was highly rated, and gave a revival discount, we booked here. Oh, it was pristinely clean, beautifully furnished, lovely courtyard & pool area. The rooms are spacious and the staff is extremely helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Arrived after 7 and a half hours in the car to a cool, shady courtyard with a fountain splashing - great first impressions. We then met the front of house staff, all of whom were charming and so helpful - great dinner recommendation!
The room was comfortable and had quiet and efficient air conditioning. The pool area is good,; has shade and loungers to enable you to recharge before exploring this beautiful city.
A lovely hotel in every respect.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonviile ny
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The local historical society recommended it so we too their advice. What a jewel. This hotel has the charm and elegance of a former time with spacious rooms, lush inner courtyard and friendly professional staff. Also included breakfast. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

In this day and age, it is really nice to think you get value for your hard earned money. Well this is the place to come. We stayed here about 20 years ago on a recommendation of some good friends - We are sorry it took 20 years to rediscover it. Nothing has changed except it has been well maintained and they have installed good wifi. Everything about this place can only be described as delightful. You could ask for no more. We are going to come back.
Whilst there may not be a restaurant for evening dinner, all the good restaurants are only a quick two block walk from the hotel. (I note that other reviews have mentioned "loud" weddings - this time it was dead quiet but last time there was a wedding - the bride saw us watching them from the balcony and came up asked to join them - we had a great time!)

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

My wife, 11 month old and I stayed here one night on our way to PCB. The place is in a very nice looking area and has a cool old-timey charm to it. Courtyard is a plus and well kept. Room was ok, nothing special in my opinion. Around 11:30 (maybe a little later) all heck broke loose in the courtyard. Apparantly a wedding party rented the rest of the place and decided to be EXTREMELY loud for the next two hours (at least!). The walls already seemed to let a lot of noise through without this party, but they ruined any sleep we planned on getting for a while. I will not completely blame this on the inn.. we did not call and complain due to the fact i'm sure it could be heard a block away and figured someone would come out and stop it. After a sleepless night the morning desk clerk apologized and said this had also happened the night before. I'm not going to rate them bad just for something that was somewhat out of their hand, just wanted to inform others of what "could" happen.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malaga Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malaga Inn

Address: 359 Church St., Mobile, AL 36602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#14 Business Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Malaga Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Malaga Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaga Hotel Mobile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malaga Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.