We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where has the Malaga Inn been all our lives?????” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malaga Inn

Save Saved
You added Malaga Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Malaga Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   359 Church St., Mobile, AL 36602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Special Walk-in Rate
Ranked #8 of 65 hotels in Mobile
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Where has the Malaga Inn been all our lives?????”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

My husband and I often take spur of the moment road trips to quaint southern towns to taste the flavor of days gone by and experience the hospitality of local businesses. Many times we discover gems that simply make our stay memorable. The Malaga Inn was that and more. Staff becomes like family it seems and the guest rooms made me feel a bit like Scarlett! It's in the heart of the historic district amid trendy restaurants, a "live band" entertainment strip and the state's number one tourist attraction, the USS Alabama. Don't want to go on and on but simply wanted to say how happy we are to have discovered this jewel in the South.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    42
    10
    11
    15
See reviews for
19
72
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Daphne, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We had our wedding at the Malaga Inn everything was great! The suites are awesome and have so much character. Such a great hidden gem in downtown mobile.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

A really good friend of mine had their wedding here last month and it was so much fun! Perfect venue for a wedding and our room was great! Loved our little porch rite outside our window as well as the courtyard. The staff was great and I would definitely recommend this place to my friends! So quaint and great prices.... Also within walking distance from downtown mobile!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

A few weekends ago my boyfriend and I joined some old highschool friends to celebrate a wedding at The Malaga Inn. Seeing as the wedding and reception were both held at the hotel, we, along with many of our friends, booked rooms there. Our stay could not have been any more pleasant! The old southern charm of the Inn was the perfect back drop to a summertime wedding in the south. The staff was friendly and helpful and each room I visited was uniquely decorated with a sophisticated nod to the old south. Most rooms sat right off of a two storied porch that overlooks the courtyard in the middle. The Malaga is also nestled right in historic downtown Mobile, Al and is just blocks from resturants and nightlife. Overall, we were very pleased with stay and would highly recommend to anyone traveling who is looking for more than the same boring hotel or inn.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Recently, the Malaga Inn hosted a wedding for a dear friend of mine in which I had the honor of being a groomsmen. The Malaga Inn's old southern charm and ambience served as a perfect backdrop for a beautiful ceremony. The management and staff were very courteous and friendly. More importantly they paid careful attention to all details no matter how large or small in order to provide every guest with an exuisite experience. I give this hotel a 5 star rating and would recommend to anyone who enjoys old southern charm and hospitality.

BVD

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern States, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Staff very friendly and accomodating. Not alot of other guests were here so it felt like our own private party. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Pleasantly suprised and very relaxed upon returning home. Nice place for friends gathering or a romantic escape. Hope to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

My husband and I are new to trip advisor so I felt compelled to write about the wonderful experience we had at the Malaga Inn. It was our first trip to Mobile, Alabama and we wanted to stay in the historic district of downtown Mobile and we weren't disappointed. Our room was beautifully furnished and we had our own private balcony over looking church street. The room came with a continental breakfast but the real gem of the Malaga Inn is the courtyard. It was nice to sit and relax and listen to the fountain while having our coffee and toast.
The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The lady on duty in the evening told us all about the history of the property and gave us a very nice recommendation for dinner. We will certainly recommend the Malaga Inn to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malaga Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malaga Inn

Address: 359 Church St., Mobile, AL 36602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#14 Business Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Malaga Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Malaga Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaga Hotel Mobile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malaga Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.