We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64 South Water Street, Mobile, AL 36602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay For Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Mobile
Panama City, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel the past 3 years and this past trip has been the best by far.They are still under a bit of construction (pool and main restaraunt closed) but it did not take away from our trip.
This nautical themed hotel is beautiful,the lobby is grand and looks as if you are out on the water on a starry night

The rooms are awesome, spacious and the beds are great , pillowtop matresses ,tons o' pillows and nice plush comforters (with duvet covers so you know they get washed)

The only thing I didnt like was the bathrooms giant magnifying mirror that made me look like She-Hulk with bad blackhead problem, that thing will shoot down anyones self esteem, everyone I know who looked in it was out buying pore clarifying cleanser that same day, but of course thats has nothing to do with the quality of the hotel :)

The location is great ,downtown Mobile, with either city or river views,walking distance to dining ,activities ect

We stayed here during construction and loved it, so I know once its complete it will be even better.I would not hesitate to go back

  • Liked — nice rooms
  • Disliked — nothing (besides the evil mirror)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    77
    32
    20
    10
See reviews for
42
69
12
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Opelika, AL
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

This hotel re-opened just 3-1-07. There is still unfinished construction on the lobby level and the pool level. I am sure they will schedule a grand opening special when they're finished. It has opened as a Renaissance Hotel. We got a city view room on the 25th floor. An awesome sunset! My sister was across the hall in a river view room, which was nice, but she said she could hear the trains blowing their whistles at 3 a.m. The rooms are spacious with a lounge and chair and desk. There is a fridge and safe and a nice tv. A good sized closet and bathroom completed it. We had a king bed with all the fluffy bedding one expects from a Marriott property.
It is within walking distance of the historic district and all the restaurants, across Water Street from the Civic Center and the Cruise Ship Terminal. and across Government Street from the Exploreum and IMAX.. We loved the beer and munchies at Hurricanes, the food at Heroes, A Spot of Tea and Picklefish.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — ongoing construction
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2007

Well it is Mobile Alabama version of the Mardi Gras and my significant other suggested we try the other Mardi Gras as we heard it is much more friendly.After booking the hotel we were quite excited that the weather forcast was very cooperative and all looked well. Wrong....upon arriving we noted that the hotel is undergoing renovations and was constantly flooded with workers all during the day...the cocktail bar was non existent as noted in their website,ditto health spa and the biggest gripe was that i was stuck in an elevator for 2 hrs along with 9 others and had to crawl out without any assistance from the hotel mgt. They were not to be found and when we asked to speak to him or her we were advised that the problem was already noted because the same elevator broke the previous day also stranding others. Well this was not going to be acceptable to this NJ person so i asked the front desk for the time I could speak to the mgr and was told that they are on the premises but do not wish to speak to anybody anymore concering the elevators and them stranding people....well i am sorry but when i cannot express a dangerous situation to mgt i must suggest you stay somewhere else beside this sad ,sad managed and dangerous property........forgot to say that i torn my shirt and skirt while trying to escape this elevator situation which i was so adamant to speak to the mgr......

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — poor mgr
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2007

Just spent 3 nights at the Riverview Plaza, Mobile. Cab for two to the hotel $27 from airport and 35 minute ride during Friday rush hour afternoon traffic. Cab driver great. Gave us Mardi Gras beads. Return trip: different cabbie, a no show. Took the airport shuttle after waiting 1 hour. $13 each, one way, took about 35 minutes during the middle of the afternoon.

Great non-smoking rooms! All smoke-free. Clean. Our room was brand spanking new. Two double beds were awesome. Great mattresses. Lots of nice pillows. 23rd floor room overlooking downtown...and the roof. Had to call for "do not disturb sign" arrived in 15 minutes. Used room service every morning. Was 15-25 minutes late two mornings. One morning forgot one item, but brought it back 15 minutes later. At night, bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper: Riverboat horns and the train can be heard, woke me up several times each night, but they didn't bother my husband.

We were there for a meeting. Construction noise very annoying during all speakers in all rooms on the first and second floors. People were raising their voices over jackhammars and heavy machinery.

Used free trolley on Monday. Doesn't run on weekends or nights. Too bad! When you need it most. Ate at Wentzels three times (20 minute walk from hotel). Great food as always. Saw Mardi Gras parades right outside hotel Friday and Saturday. Great location.
Went to Imax, Mardi Gras Museum, Peanut Shop, downtown bookstore and other shopping. To the downtown Hurricane Brewing Co. twice. Good beer. So, so service. Downtown is much more happening than 4 years ago. No tours pick up from the hotels!!! You will need a rental car, car of your own, or pay a cab to take you to anywhere outside of downtwon (Zoo, Botanic Garden, Battleship, boat tours, etc)

Would stay there again.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2007

I recommend not staying in this hotel until the construction is finished if you need to conduct business there. The construction noise was quite disturbing while holding meetings. On the other hand, the actual hotel rooms were perfectly nice and the employees were very friendly. The real drawback for me, however, was the noise in the bedrooms. I stayed on the 22nd floor for 3 nights and the noise from the train whistle was horrendous every night. I am not a light sleeper but woke up every hour or so.

  • Liked — Employees
  • Disliked — Noise, construction
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2006

I had a most enjoyable stay at the Riverview Plaza. I found the staff was very friendly and outgoing. Although the renovation was occurring, this did not effect the service that I was provided. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — New rooms
  • Disliked — renovation
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2006

I was aware that the hotel was under renovation when I reserved a room to stay. I was fortunate to get a "new room'" that was very modern. The colors were bright and the bed was so comfortable.

I found the staff to be over accommodating and very friendly. My room service order was both timely and delicious. When I visit this area again, I would definitely stay at the Riverview Plaza again. I would recommend this hotel to my colleagues and friends.

  • Liked — Guest Rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel

Address: 64 South Water Street, Mobile, AL 36602
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#11 Business Hotel in Mobile
#13 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embark on an amazing journey at the premier Mobile, Alabama, Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza hotel, which is connected by skywalk to the Arthur R. Outlaw Convention Center and located in the revitalized Downtown business and entertainment districts. Rising majestically over the sparkling waters of Mobile Bay, guests can enjoy Southern charm effortlessly blended with modern ingenuity. Play a round of championship golf along the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, which is situated near this trendy hotel. Over 44,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space provides the perfect location for successful business engagements and flawless social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Mobile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.