We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64 South Water Street, Mobile, AL 36602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay For Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Mobile
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was a great hotel to stay in! The check in was flawless, the concierge was knowledgeable about local places to see and eat. I was upgraded so I had a room with a wonderful view of the river and access to the the executive suite. The breakfast was good and they serve a special sausage that was tasty with just a little bit of spice. The hotel staff was accommodating and welcoming, from the valet to the housekeeping staff. They have live music in the lobby and the bartender will provide you with just about any beverage you request. I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side and high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Good day Felicia F,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience here at the Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel. It is great to hear that your stay either met or exceeded your expectations. Please know that your feedaback will be shared with our entire hotel team. We look forward to servicing you again in the very near future. Have a great week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    77
    32
    20
    10
See reviews for
42
69
12
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I enjoyed my overnight business stay at the hotel. The view of the river was outstanding, and the room service dinner was fantastic -- shrimp and scallops over cheese grits -- highly recommended. The pool is outdoors and it happened to be a chilly day, but it looked nice. The room was spotless. They did a very good job taking care of me.

Room Tip: See if they will give you a river view room -- really nice. I had a corner room which seemed bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for providing us feedback on your recent stay with us. Please know that we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the great view from your room. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our shrimp and scallops dish. This too is one of my favorite dishes and your comments will certainly be passed along to our culinary team. We hope you elect to stay with us again should your travels bring you back to our area. Have a great week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

As a platinum member I was upgraded to a upper floor room with a fine harbor view. Everything about the hotel was top notch including the concierge lounge which had great, helpful and informative staff (and food). Looking forward to a return visit !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Good day Nestor D,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on tripadvisor. Please know that I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful visit and that you enjoyed both your guest room and our concierge lounge. It is always great to hear from our most loyal guests and I wanted you to know that your comments will be shared with our team. I do hope that we have you back as our guest in the very near future. Again many thanks for your time and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed for a conference early March and the hotel was packed! Attempted to have dinner at restaurant after a very long day of work. We were advised the wait for a table would be up to 1 hours. As we were waiting we observed epmty tables in the restaurant and inquired why so many empty tables if we have to wait. We were informed the kitchen just "can't handle this many guests". And we were offered to dine at the bar. We asked, isn't it the same kitchen? To which the response was, "yes, but we can serve you in the bar instead of at the table". Really????? We were hungry so we ate at the bar which was very uncomfortable and made no sense to us since the menu was the same as the restaurant. Won't go back.

Room Tip: Plan to go off property for dinner if the hotel is crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking time to respond to us on TripAdvisor. Let me be the first to apologize for the inconvenience and challenge you were faced with in our outlets. Please know that your response has been sent to our Director of Restaurants. We will be sure to look into your response to determine why this happened. We will also use this to learn from our mistakes and take necessary steps to make sure this does not repeat itself moving forward. We do hope you will consider giving us another opportunity should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I expected better overall for a waterfront property. Check in was slow but very pleasant after waiting out the line. Gym was stocked with cardio machines and some free weights but it seemed cramped and potentially a bit unsafe (e.g. distance from back of treadmills to other equipment).

As for room: It was fairly comfortable. Shower pressure was good. There was an interesting electronic connections box on the desk next to TV allowing for different devices to use the TV for display...didn't use but haven't seen that before.

Conference space was OK for most part but we ate lunch at tables set up in the hallway area at top of escalator...unusual.

Some things that made my stay less-than-memorable include calling for battery change on the safe, which was not working. I felt like the décor was dated, including the 70's style striped carpet. One of the towels in the bathroom was ripped in 3 places. And, most of all, one of the bar servers was deemed "less than friendly" by our group on the couple of occasions she "served" us.

It was cool that we were there for Mardi Gras parades but if returning to Mobile I would look to try another hotel.

Room Tip: I was on 22nd floor with a good view of the water, boat traffic, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay. Please know that I am disappointed to hear about the challenges you faced. Your feedback is important to us and will be shared with the rest of the hotel team. I do hope you change your mind about staying with us in the future should your travels bring you back to Mobile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our family has been staying at this hotel for many years for the annual Mardi Gras festivities. (Long prior to its ownership my Marriott.) For quite a few years now we even book a suite for our large family to gather together. This year however we were quite disappointed with the quality of our rooms and suite. To begin, the floors were extremely dirty (my children's feet quickly turned black while in the room and suite). I wonder when the last time was that the rugs were properly cleaned? The tub was stopped up, the hot water was out for at least 6-8 hours during Saturday, March 1, the towel rod fixture was beginning to come loose, there was mold around the edge of the toilet. It also took over 24 hours into our stay for the ice maker in the suite to be repaired
(mainly because it took several requests to get someone up to fix it). All of these things completely unacceptable at a Marriott Renaissance property. It was by far inferior to many other Marriott properties we have stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking time to comment on your most recent stay with us. Our room cleanliness product is very important to us here at the Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel. In reading your feedback, it is clear that we failed to meet our own expectations. Please know that your comments have been sent to the appropriate department heads so the necessary follow up can occur. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you and your guests may have experienced. Our team takes great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction and our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Springs, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were here for Mardi Gras. The room was very nice and clean, and overall, we had a great stay, with the exception of a rude bar tender or two. The hotel is the perfect location for parades and access to restaurants and nightlife. Our only problem was how hot the room got when the sun came up. We had a bay view, which we normally would request, but the heat was intolerable until about 11am. I would request a city view, even though the bay view is much more aesthetically pleasing!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for recently staying with us at the Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel. I am glad to hear that overall you had a good stay. I was also disappointed to hear that one of our bartenders was rude to you and that you had some HVAC issues in your guest room. Please feel free to contact me at 251.415.3068 is you wish to speak further on either of these issues. Your feedback and time is very important and your comments will be shared with the appropriate individuals. I do hope you will elect to stay with us again should your travels bring you back to our area. Have a great week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel

Address: 64 South Water Street, Mobile, AL 36602
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#11 Business Hotel in Mobile
#13 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embark on an amazing journey at the premier Mobile, Alabama, Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza hotel, which is connected by skywalk to the Arthur R. Outlaw Convention Center and located in the revitalized Downtown business and entertainment districts. Rising majestically over the sparkling waters of Mobile Bay, guests can enjoy Southern charm effortlessly blended with modern ingenuity. Play a round of championship golf along the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, which is situated near this trendy hotel. Over 44,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space provides the perfect location for successful business engagements and flawless social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Mobile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.