We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Renaissance quality and comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64 South Water Street, Mobile, AL 36602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay For Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Mobile
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Standard Renaissance quality and comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2007

A very nice Marriot property in the historic district of Mobile. The rooms were excellent and food service good. Also spectacular views of the water front and city. The only downside is the noise on the waterview side of the hotel. There is a working railroad that services the docks and they run throughout the night. This can be a problem if you are expecting total silence thru the night.

  • Liked — The quality of the rooms and servce
  • Disliked — noise from the trains
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    77
    32
    20
    10
See reviews for
42
69
12
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, AL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2007

Stayed here on a park-cruise package. The hotel is very close to the cruise terminal and offers free shuttle service. We called for the shuttle to pick us up after the cruise and they came within five minutes.
Our room was lovely, on the 15th floor overlooking the convention center. The decor is very tasteful and appealing and the room was spacious. Service in the restaurant was very good and the food was also good. We were glad that we had made the park-cruise package deal as the shuttle took us to the cruise terminal and found the ship was late arriving. So they took us back to the hotel to wait for a couple of hours. They told us when it was time to go again and we were able to board the ship more promptly than those passengers who were on self-drive and were unable to find a space in the parking garage. Would definitely use this hotel again. Great location for cruising or for looking around the Mobile historic district. Great staff too!!

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

Hotel itself was very nice and the service was very good...BUT there were trains running all night long blowing their horns, which made sleep difficult, if not impossible. The hotel has earplugs to dish out (tells you how common a complaint this is), but even the earplugs weren't enough to block out the noise. A room that doesn't face the tracks might help, but I'd be hard pressed to stay here again unless they can get a noise ordinance passed (we were told they were trying).

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, AL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

My husband, son, and I stayed there for a weekend getaway and did not know exactly what to expect, since the hurricane and all. Wow were we surprised. The hotel staff was great, we arrived at about 8:30 pm and had no trouble checking in, the room was right and spotless. The great part about this hotel is that all the rooms are non-smoking. So there is no worry about smelling any hit of smoke. The rooms are great, the design is very modern and upscale. The beds are very comfortable and cozy. I can't wait to see the pool once it is finished. The staff was very nice and helpful, I could not find the hairdryer and they told me where to look and there it was. This was a great experience.

  • Liked — the beds and the bathrooms
  • Disliked — paying to park
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel the past 3 years and this past trip has been the best by far.They are still under a bit of construction (pool and main restaraunt closed) but it did not take away from our trip.
This nautical themed hotel is beautiful,the lobby is grand and looks as if you are out on the water on a starry night

The rooms are awesome, spacious and the beds are great , pillowtop matresses ,tons o' pillows and nice plush comforters (with duvet covers so you know they get washed)

The only thing I didnt like was the bathrooms giant magnifying mirror that made me look like She-Hulk with bad blackhead problem, that thing will shoot down anyones self esteem, everyone I know who looked in it was out buying pore clarifying cleanser that same day, but of course thats has nothing to do with the quality of the hotel :)

The location is great ,downtown Mobile, with either city or river views,walking distance to dining ,activities ect

We stayed here during construction and loved it, so I know once its complete it will be even better.I would not hesitate to go back

  • Liked — nice rooms
  • Disliked — nothing (besides the evil mirror)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelika, AL
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

This hotel re-opened just 3-1-07. There is still unfinished construction on the lobby level and the pool level. I am sure they will schedule a grand opening special when they're finished. It has opened as a Renaissance Hotel. We got a city view room on the 25th floor. An awesome sunset! My sister was across the hall in a river view room, which was nice, but she said she could hear the trains blowing their whistles at 3 a.m. The rooms are spacious with a lounge and chair and desk. There is a fridge and safe and a nice tv. A good sized closet and bathroom completed it. We had a king bed with all the fluffy bedding one expects from a Marriott property.
It is within walking distance of the historic district and all the restaurants, across Water Street from the Civic Center and the Cruise Ship Terminal. and across Government Street from the Exploreum and IMAX.. We loved the beer and munchies at Hurricanes, the food at Heroes, A Spot of Tea and Picklefish.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — ongoing construction
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2007

Well it is Mobile Alabama version of the Mardi Gras and my significant other suggested we try the other Mardi Gras as we heard it is much more friendly.After booking the hotel we were quite excited that the weather forcast was very cooperative and all looked well. Wrong....upon arriving we noted that the hotel is undergoing renovations and was constantly flooded with workers all during the day...the cocktail bar was non existent as noted in their website,ditto health spa and the biggest gripe was that i was stuck in an elevator for 2 hrs along with 9 others and had to crawl out without any assistance from the hotel mgt. They were not to be found and when we asked to speak to him or her we were advised that the problem was already noted because the same elevator broke the previous day also stranding others. Well this was not going to be acceptable to this NJ person so i asked the front desk for the time I could speak to the mgr and was told that they are on the premises but do not wish to speak to anybody anymore concering the elevators and them stranding people....well i am sorry but when i cannot express a dangerous situation to mgt i must suggest you stay somewhere else beside this sad ,sad managed and dangerous property........forgot to say that i torn my shirt and skirt while trying to escape this elevator situation which i was so adamant to speak to the mgr......

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — poor mgr
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel

Address: 64 South Water Street, Mobile, AL 36602
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#11 Business Hotel in Mobile
#13 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embark on an amazing journey at the premier Mobile, Alabama, Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza hotel, which is connected by skywalk to the Arthur R. Outlaw Convention Center and located in the revitalized Downtown business and entertainment districts. Rising majestically over the sparkling waters of Mobile Bay, guests can enjoy Southern charm effortlessly blended with modern ingenuity. Play a round of championship golf along the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, which is situated near this trendy hotel. Over 44,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space provides the perfect location for successful business engagements and flawless social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Mobile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.