We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great piece of history plus more!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Battleship USS ALABAMA

Battleship USS ALABAMA
2703 Battleship Pkwy, Mobile, AL 36601
251 433 2703
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 Attractions in Mobile
Type: Educational Sites, Ships, Cultural
Activities: Walking, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Mobile’s Battleship Memorial Park, you don’t have to look very far to find heroes. From the Battleship USS ALABAMA to the Submarine USS DRUM and over 25 aircraft, the spirit of military pride is alive and well.Aboard the battleship you will be able to explore 12 decks. Among those, you can climb inside gun turrets, get locked in the Brig, man a 12mm gun and much more.Also at the park, you will be able to go below and explore inside the oldest Submarine on display, Submarine USS DRUM. In the Medal of Honor Aircraft Pavilion as well as in the park, you will be able to view many rare and historic aircraft. A few in our collection include: A-12 Blackbird Spy Plane, OS2U Kingfisher, F-86L Sabre Jet, B-52 Bomber, just to name a few. While in the pavilion, don’t forget to take a ride on the Flight Simulator and experience flight without ever leaving the ground. It’s an unforgettable experience for the entire family. All tours are self guided. Allow approx. 2.5 hours.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great piece of history plus more!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

If you are anywhere near Mobile, you really need to take the time to visit this battleship. It was commissioned during WWII and used all the way through the Vietnam Era. Also, there is a hanger next to the ship that has a number of planes on display, including one used by one of the Tuskegee Airmen. My favorite experience of all was the USS Drum, a submarine on display. It's so rare to find these old diesel subs to tour and it's still in wonderful condition.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    725
    266
    32
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belize City, Belize
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Welcome Aboard!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

USS ALABAMA Battleship Memorial park is the perfect place to experience history and pay tribute to our Veterans of all branches of the United States Armed forces.

The Park is self-sufficeint since opening on January 9, 1965 and depends solely on admissions and Park revenue for daily operations. Active Military personnel has free admission, other guests pay a $2 parking fee and either $12 or $10 (55 and older), to view the Submarine USS DRUM (SS-228), the Battleship USS ALABAMA (BB-60), and the Aircraft Pavilion.

I enjoyed an entire afternoon here on all three tours aboard the USS ALABAMA. Being a history buff, a shipbuilder and loving all things military, I was throroughly impressed at the authenticity of the exhibits. In addition to being emotional and silent upon reading actual events that transpired in many of the aircraft on display in the Pavilion.

I have great pics of WWII jeeps and trucks in addition to Battleship armaments. Yes, cameras are permitted. There's also a Theater onboard to watch actual footage from WWII and Vietnam. Kids and adults alike will enjoy the Flight Simulation for a mere $4.50 ... Really fun!

When you're in the area don't miss an opportunity to visit ... another great way to honor our Veterans!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxworth, Mississippi
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Great tour....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Great place to tour for a little history about battleships.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Battleship Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Friendly employees, fun family activity. The ship is amazing to go through and see and learn about everything it has been through. The hangers were fun for the kids, and the snack place was good for a quick lunch.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, TN
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Fun for All Ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We spent 3 1/2 hours (including a short break for a snack) touring the USS Alabama battleship, USS Drum submarine and the Aircraft Pavilion. There are three different color-coded self-guided tours that lead you around to the various areas of the ship. We decided to do first the tour that led to the top, outside portion of the battleship. Since it was a sunny, hot day, we did that portion first before it got even hotter. Even though there are water fountains near the restrooms as you start the tour on the battleship, it would be a good idea to take a bottle of water with you as we did. I put one in a light weight sling-sack that I wore on my back to keep my hands free for navigating the steep ladders. There are handrails for the steep steps.

We really enjoyed touring all three of the color-coded tours. There are many interesting displays to see what life was like being on duty on a battleship. Lots of information to read to learn about the history of that time period. And the USS Alabama would even appeal to young kids with all the ladders to climb and holes to go through. But your kids need to be at an age to be safety conscious on the ladders. We saw one boy who had injured himself somehow.

It does get warm and stuffy on board the battleship. If it's a hot day, allow plenty of rest breaks - and be sure to bring that bottle of water with you.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Battleship USS ALABAMA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battleship USS ALABAMA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.