We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 of 5 stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of D-Paradise Park and Resort

D-Paradise Park and Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added D-Paradise Park and Resort to your Saves list
D-Paradise Park and Resort
63, Jalan Solok Uban | Kampung Brisu, Melaka 78100 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“3 of 5 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

At first, i was a bit turned down by the reviews which were mostly negative. But then I saw that these feedbacks were made years ago, so I decided to experience it myself now in 2010. To my surprise, it's not that bad at all. Here's my point of review:
1. Accommodation - the CEO village they called it, is like an old wooden malay house with 1 living room & 2 bedrooms/bathrooms. The layout of the bathroom is unique. It is almost outdoor and the floor is embedded with river rocks which is good for foot therapy. It has a small swimming pool too!
2. Food - our package includes welcome drink/fruit samples, dinner & breakfast. Dinner is good with a tasty nasi goreng and fried chickens. Only breakfast which need some improvement - only nasik lemak & roti bakar? More variety please..
3. Activity - I am thinking that my trip is at the wrong time of the year. We should have come during the durian/manggis/rambutan/rambai seasons. I bet that during these seasons you would fill up your tummy with nothing else but fruits. Plenty of fruit trees awaiting to satisfy your appetite. This is your primary activity. So please plan accordingly.
4. Hospitality - Salute to the staff there who are always smile and eager to help and assist on every activity that you want to do. Just FYI, the staffs there are real natives people ( at least this is what they told me) coming from suku kaum sarawak and all. So they know what they do, no fake/acting.
Now here's some suggestion on improvement (hope they read it):
i. Washing basins section should be available inside cafe area. Currently you need to walk to the nearest washroom.
ii. The resort big swimming pool should be made available by now. Currently seeing it still under renovation.
iii. Each guess should be given fruit samples before they leave as a gift. Some of them are too shy to ask to hand pick those fruits even though they are free. So the staff need to inform them, which one can be picked.
iv. Safari night - please extend to 2 hours. 1.5hours is too short for us to learn about nature.

So, there you have it.
A 3 out of 5 stars from me.

-apis3

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Went to D Paradise for 2 days and 1 night.
Was welcomes with fresh fruit juice and fresh fruits.
Drove our buggy (which was fun!) to our CEO house, 2 rooms, 1 living room, 2 outdoor bathrooms, 1 small pool, tv, fridge. The house was fantastic. Traditional Malay house design, clean and quite well maintained.
Dinner was awesome, love the food served. Staffs we extremely accommodating.
Drove our buggy around the 168acres of land, saw many many different kinds of fruits, animals and plants.
Night Safari was an experience, tried various fruits plugged from plants, saw some simple firework. Night jungle trekking was available, but obviously we were not adventurous enough.

The next day was cultural dance by the aboriginal, which they got the audiences involved, I thought that was a nice touch.
The house was great, if only the pool was bigger and if only the hot water was working.

Else, it was a pleasant stay, the humble and friendly staffs made the whole experience even more special

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

The whole place was a total run down with overgrown grass, dry leaves& shrubs/no fruits bearing tress/miserable hungry animals/no robber crab/resturant & shop not operational/old rusty buggy.

Nothing to see except surrounding mountains.

Not worth the time & money to travel there. Costly entrance fees too. RM49.90 per adult & RM 29.90 per child for 4yrs to 11 yrs.

I will not recommend the place & hotel to anyone. A total not operational place

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

The resort were called D'Paradise Tropical Fruit World & Aboriginal Native Village at time of travel. Overly priced. We paid for a 4 -5 star resort hotel and what we encountered was a seriously run down resort of 2 star at max! At peak season, we were surprised that we were one of the only 2 groups of travellers at that time. Were glad that we only stayed for a night! The room was inclusive of welcome drinks, a basket of fresh fruits, dinner & breakfast. We had all meals in a small cafe, near the check in counter. The food was ok, but served big. Hubby & children enjoyed the food as we have already lowered down all expectation, the moment we checked-in.

The swimming pool was not operational, the play ground was in bad shape & the spa was still under construction. The cultural show was another let down, no big deal, it was just a simple Sarawakian traditional dance. Anyone could just walk up the stage & do it! The "kampong" style villa was ok, expected to have mosquitoes, so we got ourselves ready with repellent & cream. It was a 2 rooms villa, just right for us (2 adults & 2 children). But the the door lock gave us some problem when we arrived there with our golf buggy. They managed to fix the problem right away.

Big applause to all the staff that attended to us during the stay. They were all helpful & friendly, in the effort of making the place alive.

Being urbanite, the children loved the place. This is the only place where they can run around under fruit trees & pluck the fruits. They learned a lot from the trip. From naming the tropical fruits to the origins of the fruits. The "kampong" style villa excite them too as they have not experienced living in a rural area. Everytime they complained about muds & bugs, we reminded them to appreciate life better. Which they do now, better.

No doubt, the idea of the resort was excellent, but the maintenance was way below our expectation level. If maintain well, this place is ideal for family with children, family & senior citizen & also young travellers... Will i consider the place again in the future? It's a No No, with the price we're paying, it's not worth another round. Unless, the management sees the potential of the resort & give it a total facelift, new fresh attraction, new services, I might.... But then again, as for my children, it's a different story...

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

The broucher says "Traditional style Maylaisan Kampong bungalows with 5 star interiors" . The property has a variety of fruits and animals that you can see via your own private golf buggy.

1. You have to find its location, which is not an easy task.
2. The 5 star interiors are ok once you dodge the blanket of mosquitoes and rat droppings.
3. For dinner I had the choice of 3 seafood dishes and one vegatable. Umm not a great choice if you dont like seafood or have children with you.
4. The golf buggy's battery died on the second day while we where out looking at the orchards. We had to push it all the way back to reception.
5. The animal enclosures where very run down and even included a couple of dogs that looked like they hadnt eaten for a while.

Now I dont mind roughing it at all, but when you pay 5 star accomoodation rates you expect a much accomodation and meals.

On the positive. The bathroom was nice. The kids had fun.

  • Liked — The bathroom
  • Disliked — The price for what it was
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2008

General rating - Very Disappointing!!.

We formed an impression that this was a place, a retreat that was very exclusive and suitable for senior executives and hence was priced at the very high end of resort stay prices in Malaysia.

The impression given by their website and other promotional literature makes it out to be a 5 star resort. But this is totally misleading.

Count your woes if you believe this place is a resort and is a Tropical Fruit paradise as claimed:

1. The so called restaurant was not more than a small town cafe equivalent. Food quality, quantity and variety that is included in the resort stay package is poor.

2. Thier free fruit sampling dish was in fact a small dinner plate with a few pieces of local fruit. Their welcoming drink was a real joke. It was lime water with a big dose of sugar.!!! This is from a place that claims to be a fruit orchard and where we notice there are thousands of tropical fruits rotting on the ground and hundreds of good ripe coconuts on the tress etc,

3. We entered our first villa and found the following:

- locks on the front door not working
- locks on the bedroom to bathroom door not working
- locks on the bedroom to living room fitted inside out i.e you can lock it only from the living room instead of the bedroom.
- Two packets of coffee present but no teaspoon and no kettle to boil water

After lodging a complaint with staff, they shifted us to another villa. We found the following:

- Mosquito bites over our faces the next morning despite having all doors/windows shut and aircon running.
- Phone in unit not working.

4. When we entered the villa the first time upon checking in we found a fruit basket in the room. We were happy to see " fresh" fruits in the room and was about to pick one of the rambutans to eat when suddenly realised these were all plastic fruits. They claim to be a fruit orchard but put out a basket of plastic fruits for their guests in the villa rooms.

5. The paths leading up to the villas are overgrown with grass and lack maintenance.

6. A few of the so called " attractions" in the so called " resort" were closed or very lacking in maintenance. Others were very disappointing and failed to elicit any interest or appreciation.

7. The children's playground and reptile enclosure area next to the restaurant were an abject disappointment. The swimming pools were empty, the bird/reptile enclosure had a few miserable looking creatures in them and that was it.


Summary

We were very disappointed with the low quality of the product ..

The property was opened with a great concept in mind but regetably and very unfortunately has experienced failure in implementation and deliverance of service and product quality.


The place is best visited as a day visit only and day visit tickets are sold.


The villas themselves are well designed, comfortable and a great concept but in the wrong location. The staff are to be complemented for being ever obliging, polite and trying to do their utmost for their guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to D-Paradise Park and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D-Paradise Park and Resort

Address: 63, Jalan Solok Uban | Kampung Brisu, Melaka 78100 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D-Paradise The World's largest collections of tropical fruit tropical forest little Taman Negara at Melaka. Find out more tropical fruit, forest, tropical forest, Malaysia native, nature in Malaysia, discovery in Malaysia adventure & discovery in Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your D-Paradise Park and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d-Paradise Park Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D-Paradise Park and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.