We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dirty room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Malacca Straits Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Malacca Straits Hotel to your Saves list
Malacca Straits Hotel
No. 37A Jalan Chan Koon Cheng, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very dirty room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed for one night. Misleading ad by roadside. The actual room rate is about RM50 more than the large "special rate" signboard. The receptionist said the special rate applies everyday of the week, except on that day we check in. Hmmmm...

Our room was uncarpeted. Settling in, we soon found that it was terribly dirty. The windows ledges and wall wooden trimmings looks like it has never been wiped for a year. The floor tiles are oily. Yes, oily - did they used a mop from the kitchen? The foot carpet beside the sofa was dirty, sticky and greasy. Well, at least we are glad the room is not fully carpeted! Blanket was greasy and threadbare. Moulds on bathroom's sink and shower glass partitions edges were not green, but has turned black.

The reason for this sheer lack of housekeeping standards seemed to review itself the next morning. A team of workers went from room to room to change the bedsheets and towels, watched by a supervisor at the door. These did not look like hotel staff. This hotel sub-contracts it's housecleaning work to another company?

There is a narrow and short swimming pool. Many tiles were missing. Water smell strongly of chlorine, an indication water is seldom changed and perhaps reasons while the missing tiles were not fixed.

At least the breakfast was free and for all.

Room Tip: Beware of the misleading "Special Rate" sign by the roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    12
    11
    4
    9
See reviews for
7
10
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Klang Bah Kut Teh
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during my business trip. Surprisingly, this hotel is much better than what I expected as the rooms are quite huge. At least, much better that the previous hotel that I stayed in Malacca. The reception staff is very helpful and friendly. Not hesitate to change the bath towel as minor water leaking inside the bathroom. Parking is free but is limited. The internet connection is rather poor as I can surf during the first night but not on the second night. The hotel location is good as well which is just behind Equatorial Hotel and near to Pahlawan Square and Mahkota Parade shopping centre. The downside when I stayed here is the air conditioner water leaking throughout the night but I just need to push my bed a little bit to avoid the water dripping on my bed.. The upside is, I've a very good night sleep and the breakfast is good!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We came here a few days sight-seeing and we had heard that this hotel was very nice.
Well, it is very nice in some areas but in some other areas needs to change.
The check in and service was very good, very pleasant staff. The staff are malay and did all they could to help when needed.
The room on the upside is very spacious with good, adequate dark wood solid furniture for hanging clothes. There is a nice area with 2 seats and a small coffee table.
The down side is that the room was quite dark (even with lights on) so i think it is difficult to keep up a good standard of cleanliness.
Another positive is the location. It is so close to the shopping malls, excellent eating places and the river amenities also. Normally good location for these things means it is on a busy road, but here is very quiet and peaceful.
This place is good for a base, the breakfast is okay if you can eat the local foods. However, it's not the kind of place where you would spend majority of your time inside the hotel. The swimming pool is quite small and right next to the dining room. The cleanliness does need to improve but if you are spending the most of your time outside then it is satisfactory.

Room Tip: First floor was a bit dark, maybe 2nd or 3rd floors may be a bit lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

stayed 1 night at rm158.00 plus breakfast. , advertised outside 1 night at 118.00 plus breakfast if you come checkin in a batik shirt , very misleading . room was ok , a bit old , towels were at least 10 years old. breakfast was ok. parking is free. Value for money , if you stay for 1 0r 2 nights , located behind Equatorial ( which charges rm300.00 for a similar room )

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011 via mobile

I have ordered the room with hard wood floor as per lonely planet's sugguestion. The room is dirty and I had to ask them to change bed sheet. The room looks really old. Internet was super slow at night. It is not so cheap as I paid RM200 for that. Not recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011 via mobile

We just wanted to spend a night in Melaka, and after an hour walk we found this hotel, which seemed ok for $60.
The rooms are big, but apparently have no maintenance, so there was mould in the bathroom ceiling and the AC didn't work so well.
Even worse than that was that the bed sheets hadn't been changed. We called reception for another room, but they just sent someone to change the sheets.
They offer a beautiful bath kit with shower gel, shampoo and tooth brushes, but the towel are very small, old and ripped.
At least we didn't see any cockroaches.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We book a hostel near Jonker street but was not what we expected. So we hunted around and found this cute boutique hotel. Had to bargain for the price because we were a group of 6. In the beginning they did not budge but eventually they gave us a discount because we stayed 3 nights all int he suite room.

Pros : Clean and spacious rooms. Nice hot jacuzzi showers. OK view. Eleven (one of the staff) was great. Knew what we wanted and gave us directions and recommendations on place to visit, eat and relax.

Cons : The breakfast was not up to standard for a hotel. Eggs were cold and odd texture. Coffee was weak. Noodles and rices were in clumps. A bit quiet though out the hotel. Pool was right in front of the coffee house so basically when you are in you bikini everybody would be looking. A bit uncomfortable.

Overall it was an alright experience. Would defiantly go back if the price was 40% cheaper. Walk in directly and look for Eleven. If she'll around, your stay would defiantly be bumped up a notch.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malacca Straits Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malacca Straits Hotel

Address: No. 37A Jalan Chan Koon Cheng, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Malacca Straits Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malacca Straits Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.