We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Melaka

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Melaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melaka
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #7 of 142 hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Melaka for 2 nights during the August 2009 school holiday. Despite that it is school holiday, the hotel was quiet and we got one of our free night upgraded to a Straits View Club Room. The room was quite spacious and we added an extra bed. Everything in the hotel was new & clean and the room is quite comfy. We don't have the lift issue that many others have complaints, maybe it was off peak for the hotel. Swimming pool is nice - they have one for children and one for adult.

The hotel is within walking distance to nearby shops and Mahkota Parade Shopping Centre. They have a few restaurants opposite the hotel as the hotel is facing a boat jetty.

We saw in the internet that the club room comes with in-room DVD player and was quite dissappointed that it was not provided as we brought along some children DVDs for my girls to watch. Was told by the manager that the DVD is only provided for long term guest but it was not stated in their website.

Overall, quite a pleasant stay except for the DVD issue. The hotel could do better if there is a supervised kid's club with activities (as I thought Holiday Inn is supposed to be a family hotel). Currently, they have a small play area for the children at the far end of the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIM_MARCOM, Marketing Communications Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, September 15, 2009
Dear littlem0use,

First of all, we are honored that you have selected Holiday Inn Melaka as your recent trip.

As we are dedicated to providing you with the genuine personal service and gracious amenities in your travel experience, we would like to extend our humble apologies in some areas that you did not experience the entire Holiday Inn Brand service and product standards as expected.

We do take all comments seriously and appreciate your valuable feedback. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    431
    477
    108
    24
    14
See reviews for
420
243
45
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

The hotel is quiet. Staff are attentive. The shuttle bus is fantastic. The room was spacious and quiet. Its clean and spacious. It has a rain shower room. Can't complain. Will definitely return again

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIM_MARCOM, Marketing Communications Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, September 11, 2009
Dear R & R,

Thank you very much for staying with us. The team here is very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and had a great experience.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to your return to Holiday Inn Melaka.

Have a GREAT day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

Good, clean rooms. New building and interior, with views out over the Malacca Straits. Good facilities including gym, spa and pool. Recommend booking room only and having breakfast out at one of the numerous local coffee shops, for example Selvam for good roti canai. I have looked at all the other nicer hotels in town and the Holiday Inn is better kept than all others except for the Majestic, which is a real top-end classic hotel. To get the best of both worlds, stay at the HI and dine at the Majestic as we did!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIM_MARCOM, Marketing Communications Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, September 9, 2009
Dear Taras_Bulba_v_SG,

Thank you very much for staying with us. The management team is very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and had a great experience.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back!

Have a GREAT day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

Even though it's a short walk from the town, if you don't mind the walk it's a great hotel. Modern and smart, it sits by the sea so you can get the benefit of night time seaviews and quiet nights. There is a shuttle bus that gets you into town, but when you realise how far you are it is so much easier to walk :-)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We stayed here during our holiday during 3 nights. A bit above our budget, but due to the fact that it was the week before Ramadan many hotels in Melaka were fully booked. We did enjoy our stay here very much. The room was a "kids-room" with a seperate small chamber with a bunkbed. The kids loved it. The breafastbuffet was huge and had 8 ethnic themes. The pool was very large and of the infinity type, great for relaxing after a day sightseeing. So was the Spa, with affordable treatments. Location is also not bad, about a 10 minute walk to the centre of town. In front of the hotel is a great foodcourt.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIM_MARCOM, Marketing Communications Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, September 3, 2009
Dear Hansje,

Thank you very much for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and looking forward to your return.

Our team here is looking forward to your return. Have a great day ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perak
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

After a wedding function, we were supposed to head back home but diverted and decided to stay one night at Holiday Inn Melaka. The staff were friendly upon check in, even the manager on duty was extremely helpful as we arrived around 0100hrs. Greeted by smiles and wishes just as we enter the main entrance. Check in was prompt though we had no prior reservation.
Noticed a very unique way of promoting donation proceeds to mentally disabled and handicapped children centre. Buying a piece of the jigsaw at RM50 the proceeds would go to them. And it also promotes the Merdeka which is just around the corner.
The room given was comfortable enough to enable hubby and I to have a good night sleep after travelling. The front desk staff's is very accomodating and polite to assist eg, hotel maps, direction.
Since the hotel was so near to shopping centre's, we had requested for a late check out and they were willing to extend it till 3pm. Which was simply great to us.
Overall satisfaction is the hospitality and warmth that the staff at Holiday Inn Melaka had that made us feel great spending a day there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIM_MARCOM, Marketing Communications Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, September 3, 2009
Dear GoodLife Perak,

Thank you very much for staying with us. The management team is very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and had a great experience.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the team here in Holiday Inn Melaka is looking forward to welcome you back!

Have a GREAT day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singaopre
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

i stay in the hotel last week...

The lift are too slow...only 3 lift serving the whole hotel......

Breakfast no good...slow service...top up very slow....

Room not bad....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIM_MARCOM, Marketing Communications Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, September 4, 2009
Dear Edmundlaw,

First of all, we are honored that you have selected Holiday Inn Melaka as your recent trip.

As we are dedicated to providing you with the genuine personal service and gracious amenities in your travel experience, we would like to extend our humble apologies as you did not experience the entire Holiday Inn Brand service and product standards as expected.

We do take all comments seriously and appreciate your valuable feedback. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melaka

Address: Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Melaka
#2 Business Hotel in Melaka
#4 Family Hotel in Melaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#5 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Melaka 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melaka is the choice for families and business travelers alike who are looking for a relaxing base with award-winning service, close proximity to shopping and business district, all in a new contemporary setting. This hotel in Melaka boasts an unrivaled location, residing on the stylish waterfront overlooking the Straits of Melaka, with easy access to the hidden gems surrounding Bandar Hilir or shopping around at Melaka Raya. Retreat to the 275-rooms including deluxe, suites, and Kids Suite with featuring Wi-Fi Internet service throughout the hotel. Soak in the fun at the hotel's infinity pool complimented by a picturesque view. Conduct business and meetings in comfort with its state of the art function rooms and pillar-less ballroom, all with floor to ceiling windows for natural sunlight. Discover a brand new you at the Balinese inspired Tea Tree Spa by pampering yourselves with its wide range of treatments. At es.Sense kitchen, indulge in the international favourites and local inspired cuisines such as Baba Nyonya and authentic Peranakan. Then there is Sirocco Italian Restaurant, a relaxed dining outlet serving the best wood fired pizza in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melaka Hotel Melaka
Melaka Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.