We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright and Cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Melaka to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Melaka
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bright and Cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

This hotel present a very fresh and cozy impression the moment you step into the lobby. Staffs are customers focus and responsive. The rooms did not disappoint either. Great views of malacca straits and
swimming pool. My 17 months baby was jumping around with delight
when she saw the pool and seaview. Will definitely return to this "Happy" hotel when in melaka again.

  • Liked — Great sea and pool views
  • Disliked — slow check-in
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    524
    124
    30
    16
See reviews for
480
275
50
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany, Munich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

This is the best hotel in Melaka. It is just one year open and staffis very helpful and friendly!!!!

Location with to the city (5min walk) and the newly developed The Jetty (entertainment pier) is fantastic. This place makes you want to come again.

  • Liked — nice modern look
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

Have always wanted to visit Malacca but was a little disappointed with the town .Apart from the attractions of the Dutch houses and coloninal churches ,the town was run down. Although there is alot of money being spent around the harbour.

The Holiday Inn was a very pleasant hotel to spend a few days , the staff were very aware of customer care.

We had a small problem with our room and it was sorted within 30 minutes.

Although the lobby staff seemed to be laid back they were very efficent and fully aware of what was going on in the reception area.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — bar prices they don't include 3 taxes
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

HOLIDAY INN, MELAKA

I have stayed there in 2007 and 2008 and would be staying there again later this year.

It's very nice hotel and very clean. Rooms are big and well furnished and arranged.

Staff are freindly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

Stayed one night at the Holiday Inn Melaka. Chose it after reading various reviews and posts on this forum and not disappointed. In short it is a new hotel and hence everything is clean, works well etc.

Two connecting King executive rooms facing Straits of Melaka - good view, quiet, good size. Bathroom was clean, well designed. Bed was firm but not uncomfortable.

Hotel restaurants are good value for money - both the a la carte and especially buffet lunch and dinner went down well with kids. They have this promotion where kids under 12 eat for free if accompanied.

Only quibble was the location - slightly away from the old city and Jonkers Street, about 10-15 mins walk. One only hopes that the good condition will be maintained over time - have seen many Malaysian hotels that were once good allowed to deteriorate to a sad state.

  • Liked — Clean, well kept hotel with good restaurants
  • Disliked — Location - 10-15 min walk to town centre
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

I have stayed in the Equatorial for two nights. The lobby and room smelled bad. The breakfast was good, and my room has a lovely balcony facing the Dataran Pahlawan. But that was about it. I couldn't stand the smell of the room, which in the matter of fact, the room looked aged. Then I decided to changed to the Holiday Inn after reading some good reviews about it.

Decor wise, it is much comtemporary than Equatorial. Also, Holiday Inn is a relatively new hotel in the town, therefore the lobby and room are still clean and tidy. However, I must say that the breakfast is on a disappointing side. The breads and pastries were pretty dry. I tried the cake at the Sirocco Bar, it was old and hard. tsk tsk tsk.....

The swimming pool at the Holiday has a superb view, facing the strait of Melaka. During sunset, the view was fascinating. However, they only open till 7pm. With such great view, I think they should at least open it until 8pm.

Tried the Sirocco Restaurant, the Duck Breast (appetizer) was wonderful! The duck breast has the right proportion of fat and lean meat, served with cooked pear and beef bacon and a salad. I highly recommend this dish to anyone who is intending to dine in there. However, I was highly expecting the Spaghettin Vongole after that. Frankly speaking, it looked like a Chinese fried spaghetti than a Italian dish for me. Rather disappointing than what I expected , but I thought it was pretty creative. Just don't expect too much as the original Spaghetti Vongole, then you won't be disappointing.

Overall, the Holiday Inn is fine for the value of money. I would recommend this hotel, especially the rooms that are facing the strait of Melaka. The staffs were also friendly and helpful to most extend.

  • Liked — Swimming Pool
  • Disliked — Breakfast & the Cakes at the Sirocco
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

My kids convienced me we should go to Melaka for the weekend, and after reading a few reviews on this website, I went ahead and booked 2 rooms at the Holiday Inn.

I booked rooms on one of the the executive floors, and had an extra bed added to each room. This was done via the online booking system and it was easy to use.

Upon our arrival we were led directly to the third floor to check-in, which was great as we were sat down with cold drinks and the staff came to us to take all our details. We were in out rooms quickly. The extra beds were not in the rooms when we arrived, but after a quick phonecall they were deliverd within minutes. The children loved them as they were of good quality and were an oversized single.

The pool was excellent being an infinity pool of about 30 x 15m, and looked out over the Melaka Straits. On our first evening, we ate at the ground floor resturant and loved the food. It was fresh and tasty, cooked in front of us at the open kitchen.

The service in the hotel was really good - the staff were attentive, but not overpowering. They arranged taxi's for our group of six, and made excellent recommendations on where to visit.

The third floor exectuvie louge was like an oasis with cold drinks and small snacks available throughout the day. I would recommend this, it is only a small upgrade cost.

The only negative comment I can come up with, is that you have to take your life in your hands if you choose to cross the busy expressway (a dual lane road between the town and the hotel), or you have to make a 10 minute detour to go under the bridge.

We all enjoyed the Hotel, the rooms were clean and very modern, it was well priced. When we return to Melaka, we will go and stay at the Holiday Inn again.

  • Liked — It was clean and modern and the staff were great
  • Disliked — Crossing the busy road to get to the Historic town
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melaka

Address: Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Melaka
#2 Business Hotel in Melaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#5 Family Hotel in Melaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#5 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#13 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melaka is the choice for families and business travelers alike who are looking for a relaxing base with award-winning service, close proximity to shopping and business district, all in a new contemporary setting. This hotel in Melaka boasts an unrivaled location, residing on the stylish waterfront overlooking the Straits of Melaka, with easy access to the hidden gems surrounding Bandar Hilir or shopping around at Melaka Raya. Retreat to the 275-rooms including deluxe, suites, and Kids Suite with featuring Wi-Fi Internet service throughout the hotel. Soak in the fun at the hotel's infinity pool complimented by a picturesque view. Conduct business and meetings in comfort with its state of the art function rooms and pillar-less ballroom, all with floor to ceiling windows for natural sunlight. Discover a brand new you at the Balinese inspired Tea Tree Spa by pampering yourselves with its wide range of treatments. At es.Sense kitchen, indulge in the international favourites and local inspired cuisines such as Baba Nyonya and authentic Peranakan. Then there is Sirocco Italian Restaurant, a relaxed dining outlet serving the best wood fired pizza in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melaka Hotel Melaka
Melaka Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.