We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel at a nice location in Melaka.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Melaka

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Melaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melaka
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #7 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel at a nice location in Melaka.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

One thing I like about this hotel other than location is the room is always smell good and clean too. I've been staying in this hotel every time I'm in Melaka. Lately I have to make reservation otherwise very hard to get the room. However I noticed the Holiday Inn logo on the top of the building is starting to fade out. I suggest the management to change it so that the hotel will always look new.

Room Tip: I like the room that facing the sea rather than the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing.

Rest assured that the management will look into rectifying the Holiday Inn's signage as prompted. In fact, the hotel has contacted our supplier whom is actually in the midst of arranging the work. Nevertheless, thank you for your observation.

Stay Relaxed. Thank you again for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    459
    492
    112
    24
    13
See reviews for
441
252
46
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Being part of a large chain and with a building that definately sticks out like a finger into the sky we were expecting a functional but nothing special hotel. We were instead plesantly surprised. Having splashed out for club class our room was on the top floor with views stretching for miles. Seeing large ships sailing in the Melaka Straits took me back to history lessons. The infinity pool was a good size, though young children were at times loud and slightly annoying - they are entitled to have fun but flinging the 'noodles' around without any concern for who would get hit was not good. The food in the club class lounge was of a good standard and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The hotel location means you do have to cross a busy road to get to the malls and old township but it wasn't difficult to cross. Melaka was a gem of a place with facinating history and plenty to see.

Room Tip: Go up high - the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Assistant Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences.

We are grateful for your kind words and your words are a reflection of our believes in delivering our brand promise of 'Great Hotels, Guest Love.' When at Holiday Inn - Be Yourself and Stay Relax for the best is yet to come!

Stay Relaxed and only stay at the Holiday Inn. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Booked deluxe king with Straits view and it didn't disappoint. Very modern, new and large with small fridge and great furnishings. 10 minute walk to Centre but with a free shuttle bus - no worries. Located near modern shopping malls.

Room Tip: High floor Straits view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Assistant Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing.

Your kind words are much appreciated and further motivates us to do better in delivering our promise - "Your Stay, Your Way."

Stay Relaxed and only Stay at the Holiday Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

It is charming, clean and quiet but a little bit expensive but is worth it.
The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful.
Nice room and loved the comfortable beds.
Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Holiday Inn is located in a fairly quiet area on the coast, across the road from Makhota Parade shopping mall and about 1km from the old heritage area. It's a pleasant walk to get there (definitely sunscreen and hat), but the hotel also provides a free shuttle. You need to book, particularly if you want to be picked up for the return journey.

The shuttle will also drop guests at the mall, although we found it easier to cross the multi-lane road - traffic lights meant there were regular breaks in the traffic.

We had a straits-view room which also looked over the pool - a big room with a good view. It had everything we needed, although the bed was a bit firm for us (common problem in Asia). Originally all the pillows were feather, which causes me allergy problems, but comfy synthetic ones were sent up straight away when I asked. We also had very minor issues with housekeeping forgetting to replace tissues and flannels - again, everything we asked for was provided very quickly. Full marks for responsiveness.

The 300+ room hotel was quiet during the week but became busy at the weekend, which over-stretched some of the facilities. The pool has only 5 shade umbrellas and virtually no other shade for the loungers. There are also only 3 lifts, which meant 5 minute waits at peak times.

Good range of tasty food at breakfast, although it was chaotic at 9.00am on the weekend (yes, should get up earlier!) There were no heaters in the food warmers, though, the food just got colder as it sat. A bit dodgy from a hygiene perspective, particularly during the week when the turnover isn't as great. However, they made coffee fresh from an espresso machine which scored big time with us.

The staff were what made me rate this as 'very good' rather than 'average' (for a hotel of this type). All the people we spoke to were friendly and helpful, that's enough to make a big difference in my book.

Room Tip: It's good to have the view across the straits, interesting to see the boats too. We asked for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Assistant Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to share your thoughts.

We do admit that the 275-rooms hotel can get a little busy especially during peak and holiday season. Therefore, we have taken some practical actions to ease the traffic such as utilizing the staff lifts for the guest and adding additional buffet counters at our coffee house. Apart from that, guests that are staying on Club Floors can have their breakfast at the Executive Lounge on Level 3.

Quality and safety of food have always been and will always be a priority for us. Hence, our food servers and stewards are highly trained and certified with adhering to our FSMS (Food Safety Management Standards) to ensure that standard of the food hygiene level are up to international standards. The hotel is audited yearly by a 3rd party (Diversey Consulting) on these standards and monthly audits are done by the Head Chef to ensure that these standards are practiced and adhered too. Nevertheless, we appreciate your observation and rest assured that an internal investigation will be carried out for the benefit of doubt.

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words towards our colleagues. Stay Relaxed and we look forward to having you back in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I booked an executive club room with lounge-access and free wi-fi. I was given a free upgrade to their Suite room (nice), which was really big and airy. Celing was high.

Check-in was quick and easy, the staff was polite, though not exactly friendly during check-in.

We have a great view of the Straits of Melaka from our room. The room is south-facing, hence cannot really view the sunset (though you can have a great view of the sun-set from the pool).

The pools are a bit too small (1 child pool and a longer lap pool), and can get a big crowded on Sunday morning. On a clear day, the pool has a great view of the sun-set!.

The breakfast was decent, with quite a good spread of food.

The hotel is near to Makhota Parade and the Dataran Megamall. However, there is no proper crossing to both malls, and involves dashing across some busy roads. It would be better to take the free shuttle bus from the hotel to the malls. From the Dataran Megamall, it is only a short walk to the other attractions in Melaka, the A'Famosa fort, the Stadthuys, Jonker Walk etc.
Try the Trishaw ride for about RM20 to save on the walking.

Remember to book the shuttle service early, esp. on Saturdays. During my stay, the duty manager, Irene, was especially kind to help arrange for an extra trip to pick us up during the night at Jonker Walk.

Room Tip: * Choose a straits-view room, the view is fantastic. * For a good view of the sunset, go to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Assistant Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing and we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have taken note on the areas that we could have done better. Rest assured that this will be shared with our team-members. Nevertheless, thank you for your patience.

Stay Relaxed and thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The staff is great and gives you all the attention you need; we booked the executive floor with lounge-access, where the service is optimal as well as the quality of wines and snacks.
The rooms have a good size and the windows can open. It is a modern hotel and their swimming pool of about 30m. length is just the best ever! This is like a 5-star H.Inn and the distance to the historic centre is not too far, you can walk, although the climate is much too hot for us Europeans. We booked a 2-night stay which was perfect to explore this beautiful town.
One con however: there is music in the night from a pub in the neighbourhood; it lasts until 2-3 am and you cannot sleep with an open window; the staff knows about this and they 'll try to do something about this.

Room Tip: we had a straitview, which is not so overwhelming, but the cityview is also very good and cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Assistant Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and for sharing your reviews.

Having said that, our apologies for the noise pollution. Rest assured that management will again meet the relevant party for a proper solution. Nevertheless, we thank you for your kind understanding and patience.

Stay Relaxed and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melaka

Address: Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Melaka
#2 Business Hotel in Melaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#5 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#5 Family Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Melaka 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melaka is the choice for families and business travelers alike who are looking for a relaxing base with award-winning service, close proximity to shopping and business district, all in a new contemporary setting. This hotel in Melaka boasts an unrivaled location, residing on the stylish waterfront overlooking the Straits of Melaka, with easy access to the hidden gems surrounding Bandar Hilir or shopping around at Melaka Raya. Retreat to the 275-rooms including deluxe, suites, and Kids Suite with featuring Wi-Fi Internet service throughout the hotel. Soak in the fun at the hotel's infinity pool complimented by a picturesque view. Conduct business and meetings in comfort with its state of the art function rooms and pillar-less ballroom, all with floor to ceiling windows for natural sunlight. Discover a brand new you at the Balinese inspired Tea Tree Spa by pampering yourselves with its wide range of treatments. At es.Sense kitchen, indulge in the international favourites and local inspired cuisines such as Baba Nyonya and authentic Peranakan. Then there is Sirocco Italian Restaurant, a relaxed dining outlet serving the best wood fired pizza in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melaka Hotel Melaka
Melaka Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.