We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely service great for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Melaka

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Melaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melaka
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #7 of 142 hotels in Melaka
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lovely service great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at the holiday inn for 2 nights with my husband and two kids. We stayed in straight view room. The beds are large and comfortable they also provide a free cot if required. The beach is not for swimming but provides a good view. The room was clean. And service was good. Breakfast was enjoyable lots of variety. Pool was great especially at night with the lights overlooking the beach. they provide towels to.
The only reason why i didn't give 5 stars in the location. It was fairly central but required walking across a few busy roads. It Wasn't ideal with kids in that way. Its about a 15 minute walk into jonker street and dutch square. Its also near large malls if shopping is what you like to do. The hotel provides a free shuttle which we didn't use. Internet is a little slow. These are small things though and overall its a great place and welcoming place to stay with kids. Kids stay and eat free. The staff are very helpful and pleasant to.....would stay here again with kids.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Assistant Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Melaka.

We do admit that travelling on foot around this city can be challenging, especially with the heavy traffic during the weekend. This is why we always recommend our guests to take our free shuttle that stops at local attractions such as Jonker Street, Dutch Square & others.

With regards to your comment on our internet, we would like to share that we are currently looking into improving the wireless signals in the corner rooms and it shall be completed by January 2013. Nevertheless, thank you for your patience and understanding.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We do look forward to your next stay at the Holiday Inn Melaka. Should that be in the very near future, please do visit our website and Stay Happy-Go-Lucky where you'll get to enjoy up to 30% off rooms rates, free internet & breakfast and a special 20% to dine at Sirocco Italian Restaurant or a pampering massage at Tea Tree Spa. Oh.... Did we mention that Kids Stay and Eat Free?

Best Regards,
Eric Ong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    432
    477
    108
    24
    14
See reviews for
420
243
45
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuantan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Hi, this hotel is very clean like a new hotel . International food no issue. Located strategically near to all tourist place. All most all tourist spots are in walking distance. Very helpfull staff. Very reasonable priced hotel. Fantastic swimming pool,spa and gym

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is my first stay at Holiday Inn Melaka. I have not been to Melaka for the past 5-6 years or so and Holiday Inn was not an available choice back then. I was overall impressed with the property, service and price point of the property after having spend 2 nights here. Allow me to elaborate on a few factors -

Locations wise - Pretty central, just across the road to Mahkota Shopping complex and Mega Mall which is about 10-15min walk to Jonker Street. Have to add that it's a highway that one has to cross to Mahkota, and that can be a bit challenging with older folks and kids. An underpass would be great.

Well appointed hotel - quite a well up kept project despite being around for a couple of years. Bears some nice touches like aroma oil burners in the washrooms. Attention to details is a good sign of a well kept hotel. Rooms are well kept and service prompt.

Good service staff - well trained and helpful from the front desk to restaurant. Well done!

Kids friendly - Very family oriented with the kids eat free programme, which was great when we were having the BBQ buffet. The spread of food and standard of cooking were good. We came away quite impressed with this. Breakfast buffet was also decent. On the rooms, while there were rooms with the the attached double decker beds for family, we were not able to secure one due to too few availability. Would be nice if there were more such rooms and a kids playroom if possible.

Didnt get to try the Tea Tree Spa which was a pity as we were impressed with the one at Holiday Inn Batam.

Overall I would recommend this as one of the best hotels to explore Melaka town from which in itself has enjoyed a renaissance of sorts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Assistant Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Melaka. It's delighting to learn that you enjoyed every part of your stay with us.

We are really grateful for your kind words as it's the true reflection of the hotel and the staff. Rest assured that I will share your feedback with my team members as I'm confidence that it will further fuel their passion to do more for our guests.

Again, thanks for the feedback. We look forward to your next visit to the hotel and if it's in the very near future, please check out our website and Stay Happy-Go-Lucky promotion where you'll get to enjoy a 30% off room rate and free internet & breakfast. While at the hotel, enjoy a scrumptious dinner at Sirocco Italian Restaurant or a pampering massage at Tea Tree Spa for a special 20% off. Oh.... Did we mention that Kids Stay and Eat Free?

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great place to stay with friendly staff. Rooms are large and clean although are getting a touch dated now.. but still very very good. The Sirocco restaurant downstairs is fantastic with great Italian meals.

Pool and spa are unreal and well worth a visit..

One word of caution regarding room choice is that if you wish for an ocean view room, make sure it is high up in the building as the Arena Nightclub at the jetty can be heard until late in the night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Assistant Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We couldn't agree more that the local nightlife is indeed vibrant, especially on the weekends and we understand that this could disturb the comfort of our guests. Rest assured that the management is working along with the night clubs for a solution to curb this issue. Nevertheless, we thank you for your patience and understanding.

We hope that your future travel plans will still bring you back to Melaka. Should that be in the very near future, please visit our website and Stay Happy-Go-Lucky where you'll get to enjoy a 30% off room rate and free internet & breakfast. While at the hotel, enjoy a scrumptious dinner at Sirocco Italian Restaurant or a pampering massage at Tea Tree Spa for a special 20% off. Oh.... Did we mention that Kids stay and eat free?

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Check in was a breeze. front desk lady, savinder, was lovely and could even remember our names and faces.batter leaving a request which was promptly fulfilled, she even called my room to check if everything was alright. She really set the tone for the stay! good job, Savinder!

F&B manager Joshua Lee was also excellent in meeting our request for a large table of 10 despite the restaurant being full. Same for Steven.

Hotel was well kept and clean. V child friendly, esp with the kids eat free. They have some rooms with a kids sleepeing area which was a real hit, though these rooms are v limited. Maybe they can have more?

Overall, fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Booked a last minute stay at this hotel, was not disappointed at all. Wonderful Service, Professional staff and every request we made was addressed promptly despite the hotel running 100% occupancy. We requested for an extra bed and by the time we returned from our tour of the city, the extra bed had been neatly arranged in our room with exactly the type of additional amenities we had requested for. Hotel room was well appointed, all equipment functional, had exactly the right amenities that afforded the most comfortable stay including an in-room safe, iron and ironing board ready in the closet, rain shower, clothes drying line, tea making facilities, flat screen TV , hairdryer and a complete set of essential toiletries. Pillow choices, firm, soft were available in room. I was truly impressed with the excellent service and the lovely aromatherapy scent that pervades the entire hotel. Kudos to the management - well done indeed!

Room Tip: I believe all rooms should be quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salon de provence
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Staff were very helpful. The room was big and very clean. It's in a great location. The shuttle is very convenient and there is also a bus that stops just outside the hotel. I would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: There is only a jacuzzi for men
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Assistant Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to learn about your enjoyable stay with us.

We are looking forward to your next visit again. Should that be in the very near future, please visit our website and Stay Happy-Go-Lucky with a special 30% discount off room and free internet & breakfast. While at the hotel, enjoy a scrumptious dinner at Sirocco Italian Restaurant or a pampering massage at Tea Tree Spa with a special 20% off. Oh.... Did we mention that Kids Stay and Eat free?

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melaka

Address: Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Melaka
#2 Business Hotel in Melaka
#4 Family Hotel in Melaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#5 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Melaka 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melaka is the choice for families and business travelers alike who are looking for a relaxing base with award-winning service, close proximity to shopping and business district, all in a new contemporary setting. This hotel in Melaka boasts an unrivaled location, residing on the stylish waterfront overlooking the Straits of Melaka, with easy access to the hidden gems surrounding Bandar Hilir or shopping around at Melaka Raya. Retreat to the 275-rooms including deluxe, suites, and Kids Suite with featuring Wi-Fi Internet service throughout the hotel. Soak in the fun at the hotel's infinity pool complimented by a picturesque view. Conduct business and meetings in comfort with its state of the art function rooms and pillar-less ballroom, all with floor to ceiling windows for natural sunlight. Discover a brand new you at the Balinese inspired Tea Tree Spa by pampering yourselves with its wide range of treatments. At es.Sense kitchen, indulge in the international favourites and local inspired cuisines such as Baba Nyonya and authentic Peranakan. Then there is Sirocco Italian Restaurant, a relaxed dining outlet serving the best wood fired pizza in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melaka Hotel Melaka
Melaka Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.