We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heeren Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heeren Inn
Save Saved
You added Heeren Inn to your Saves list
23, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 144 Hotels in Melaka
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I was travelling solo for the weekend and I arrived in Malacca at 10.30am after a 2.5hr from Johor. I wandered around looking for a basic clean hotel that was an easy walk from the action. I stumbled upon Heeren Inn & I asked at the desk about a double room with own bathroom. The rate was RM90 per night which was a lot cheaper than other places I had enquired at. I asked to see the room & it was great; own shower & toilet, double bed, desk, TV and small wardrobe plus air-conditioning and a window which opened. The hoteI is 1 street from Jonkers Walk with lots of restaurants fro breakfast, lunch & dinner and quite a few small bars also. Jonkers walk also turns into a night market every night. I stayed for 2 nights and it was exactly what i wanted at the right price. They also gave me a free parking space at the rear of the hotel.
My recommendation is whenever possible travel to your destination then find accommodation. You can then shop around and get what you want in the right area for the right price.

Room Tip: The most of the second floor rooms have exterior windows. Ask for one as the you can get fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
KL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The location is great, 2 minutes walk to all the main sites and restaurant you will go to, fort, jonker walk. Yet located in a quiet street, quiet enough you will not hear the night music buzzing. There is nothing fantastic about the hotel itself or its service. The owner is a no nonsense guy, will not likely go out of his way to help you in a sticky situation. Clean enough beds for those who are not too picky. Triple room and family rooms available is great for the budget minded. Most rooms are not carpeted, I like that because its less dusty. Some don't like that as it can be more noisy. Good value for the location. The 4* rating is purely for the Location, Value and Sleep quality NOT for the service. I stayed here every time I am in Melaka for 15 years. No complain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows facing outside, for less damp and sun light will help sanitize the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Reasonable price for what we got.

The bathroom sink was a bit small but that wasn't much of a bother. My family of 4 took the family room and the beds were comfortable and clean.

The ceiling and walls in some places need a bit of a paint job, it looks like it leaks when it rains. The guy at the counter was not the friendliest though...

But all in all we had a wonderful nights sleep, and the place was clean and homey.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have a long window on the corner. If you open it, people can see inside your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

For the price it seems like a pretty good option.
We also slept very fine due to the rooms in the back, that had no noise from the street.
The service was professional poleight, but nothing more.

We could stay here again, but I dont think that we would return to Melaka.
The city seems to be pretty overrated.
But taste is different!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volgograd, Russia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Malacca is a fantastic destination in Malaysia. The city is well known for its historical center, listed as UNESCO World Heritage Site. To experience Malacca the best way, we always make sure we stay at a guesthouse near Jonker Street.

Parallel to the popular Jonker Street there is Heeren Street with many guesthouses for travelers with various budgets. Hotel Heeren Inn is a decent guesthouse where you can have a room for less than RM100 per night. The location of the hotel is perfect; you reach Jonker Street after a 2 minute walk. We stayed there for two nights (check in 04/11/2010) and had a room at the back of the hotel. Rooms are quite basic, but have all that is needed for a few nights stay in Malacca. All are air-conditioned. Toilet room is tiny; the shower, sink and toilet are all packed in tiny area. Communal fridge and hot water are available on the ground floor!

If you are traveling on a budget, then Heeren Inn might be the right hotel for you.

Room Tip: The room at the back of the hotel is biggest and it has a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We chanced upon this hotel while looking for another guesthouse with a similar name. After taking a look inside some of the rooms, we decided to camp here. At RM90 for a standard double bed, it cannot get better than this. We got a very clean room,albeit a little small, with fresh towels and bed sheets. The bathroom was also quite clean with hot shower and good water pressure at all times. The AC was a bit too powerful so remember to ask for an extra blanket.
Contrary to one of the reviewers who complained about smoking everywhere - we noticed that this hotel was smoke-free (so were most of the streets in Melaka).Overall, I would rate this as a good, no-frills hotel, ideal for a 2 night stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My family of 3 stayed from Aug 30 to Sep 1, 2011 in the family room. Henry and Marica are warm and excellent hosts. Inn is in the center of Melaka's tourist core area. Given the lack of quality accommodations in Melaka, would recommend Heeren Inn. (Holiday Inn is a bit too far from the tourist areas, and a brand new luxury property, Rio de Casa, is located next to the Melaka river, are other alternatives.)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heeren Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heeren Inn

Address: 23, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 144 Hotels in Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heeren Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.