We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Midcity Hotel Melaka

Save Saved
You added Midcity Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Midcity Hotel Melaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 499, Jalan Melaka Raya 12, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 144 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Bed had bed protector. The pillowcases had protector too. Clean sheets, bath etc. good location. The housekeeping could improve by shutting the 'door' quietly. keep it up!!!............................

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Spent 2 nights at Midcity Hotel with my family in June which is peak season. Hence hotel was quite packed. In spite of this, the check-in process was smooth. We booked 2 deluxe rooms and was allocated rooms 601 and 602. Only one cardkey was issued for each room. We tried to ask for extra card keys but was told by the receptionist that only one extra card key can be issued per check-in despite booking 2 rooms - strange rules.

The rooms are clean and new. Plenty of space to put luggages. Complete toiletry sets were provided (shower gel, comb, toothbrush, shaver, cotton bud etc). Bed is firm but fairly comfortable. I like the lighting concept in the room - bright and good. However, we have some minor issues with the aircon unit in room 602. It was not able to cool the room at all. We called in a hotel technician to assist us. Help came within 10mins and issue fixed. The other issue was that on the hotel website, it states that the hotel provides statellite channels, but only 6 local channels were provided, however we manage to catch some worldcup matches thru one of the channels.

The hotel location is reasonably good, with a number of nonya, chinese, korean restaurants nearby. It's livelier at night. Most resturants open till quite late during the weekend. Only10 mins walk to the city malls.

Hotel breakfast was not too impressive though. Minimalist but food were refilled timely.

Although we encountered a couple of minor issues, overall I would rate this hotel somewhere between satisfactory to good. I will definately come back and will recommend Midcity hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed in a family room,with 2king size beds.would have preferred with 2single beds for my teenager but the receptionist said only possible with a family suite ..no free upgrade was given,like what another reviewer had got..guess it was the peak period. Thats why..Overall, nice size and the best thing was the shower! My kids really liked it. Near eateries, 10mins walk to Palawan and mahkota parade.free parking and away from the crowd but stil convenient.dont expect too much for breakfast though.. Good price overall..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We went there last weekend and stayed for one night. This hotel was newly opened and we get the price at a very good rate due to the promotion. The location is next to restoran tiga abdul and just 5 minutes away to A' Famosa, river cruise and dataran pahlawan.
The room is very small and for muslim, it only can accommodate one person at one time for prayer. As for buffet breakfast it is very limited choice with only bread, fried rice, coffee, tea, orange cordial, fried chicken, sosej, cornflakes and fried mee.
If based on their normal board rate, i think there would be other better choice surrounding the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel is very near to the main attraction at Melaka as it only a walking distance to secret recipe and etc. Not very far from Dataran Pahlawan and Plenty of place to enjoy local food such as Asam Pedas and satay. The staff is very helpful and always smile. Room condition is superb as it is a new hotel. breakfast is okay although they served in ala carte instead of buffet because not many guest during my visit . I got room facing the "Selat Melaka" and it is nice enjoying the view during night. The roof cafe are still under construction "I think as no sign of people visiting". overall I am satisfy during my visit and surely come here again.

Room Tip: ask for room facing Strait of Malacca and if you travel with family please ask for the family suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

My friend booked this hotel via Agoda. However, she has booked the date wrongly. So she has called up the hotel personally and informed to change the date and the front desk personnel said ok. Upon arrival, they couldn't find our booking and when told about the changes, nobody seems to remember the changes. So the front desk staff re-entered our booking date and upgraded us to a junior suit. We were happy to b upgraded and there was a single bed and a double bed. ( we booked a deluxe room with an extra bed) Over all was good. Parking behind the hotel is free, but it is limited. If you choose to park your car right in front of the hotel, then make sure you buy the coupon and place it in your car wind screen. Breakfast too basic and not that great in taste. But no problem, lots of good food outside d main road.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The hotel is brand new, it is opened around April 2014. We booked Family Deluxe, but upgraded to Family Suite. There is also good discount over for the opening period ! (up to 50% off, don't forget to take advantage of this, if they still have :))

The car park in front of the receptionist is only for temporary drop-off, with coupon. If you need to stay overnight, please ensure you park the car in empty space across the hotel. The receptionist is very helpful, they will guide you to it.

The lift is very secure, it can only be controlled with the room key. The room has 1 large king size, and 2 super single size. There are 2 aircon (window), one of them are facing the beds, which sometime too cold for us (i.e. spraying air directly to us), so in the end we turn it off overnight.

The bed was very comfortable, not too soft, but firm enough. The make up mirror is also very modern, with lights touchable on the mirror itself. The bathroom was having "rain like" showers.
The sink is a bit tricky, you need to push the pipe cover to put it up, this is the first time for us to encounter such a thing :).

The view from the room is great, you can see the main road towards the dataran merdeka, hatten square and so on. It is just a short walk away to these areas. If you want to go to Jonker street, you may need to take a taxi or local rickshaw, it is not that near ..

There are plenty food nearby restaurant (i.e. korean, peranakan, etc.) and also hair saloon.
The breakfast was good, with sufficient choice of nasi lemak, porridge, toast, and ribena.

Room Tip: Air-con are facing the bed directly, if you can ask for those that are not facing the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Midcity Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midcity Hotel Melaka

Address: No. 499, Jalan Melaka Raya 12, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 144 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Midcity Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Midcity Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midcity Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.