We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, budget, clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fenix Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fenix Inn to your Saves list
Fenix Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   156 Jalan Merdeka | Taman Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Price Guarantee!
Ranked #16 of 149 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Convenient, budget, clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I went to Fenix about 2 months ago and it really satisfied all my needs in a budget hotel. The room and washroom are clean and well kept. The receptionist are attentive and helpful. The location is rather near to Kota A Famosa. All you need to do is just walk through the mall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Cheyeong,

Thank your for choosing Fenix Inn as your ideal hotel during your recent trip to Melaka. We sincerely appreciate your feedback which is valuable to us in order to further improve our facilities and services

We are extremely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our team and I certainly look forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Best Regards,
Vivek Vadevelu
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    187
    101
    9
    11
See reviews for
96
69
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Excellent location.
However, standards have dropped. The room was not clean. The dressing table had dirt all over it. The kettle had coffee stains and the rim was stained brown with goodness knows what. The bedsheet was torn. And the transport service touted on their website is forever not available.
Service staff are polite and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear PleeS,

Firstly, please allow me to Thank You for choosing us as your ideal hotel during your recent trip to Melaka. We sincerely appreciate your time for the feedback which is valuable to us in order to improve further

Our sincere apologies for the shortcomings during your stay in which you have pointed out your experience especially in the areas of Housekeeping. Based on your feedback, we have fixed the necessary matters with the department and further proper supervision and training to all our housekeeping associates are currently in progress to ensure these type of issues will not re-occur again

Our team and I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future for a more comfy and satisfying experience!

Best Regards,
Vivek Vadevelu
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Excellent small hotel with excellent service and quality. The room was very clean and the staff was very helpful, polite and friendly.. the hotel's location also very strategic and surrounded by good restaurants. .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Valentinelvong,

Thank your for choosing Fenix Inn as your ideal hotel during your recent trip to Melaka. We sincerely appreciate your feedback which is valuable to us in order to further improve our facilities and services

We are extremely delighted to hear that you enjoyed our services, facilities and location of our property very much and enjoyed the various food & beverage offerings within close proximity of our hotel during your stay!

Our team and i sincerely look forward to welcome you back for another enjoyable and memorable stay in the future..

Best Regards,
Vivek Vadevelu
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stay Period: 7 June to 9 June 2014
Party: 4 adults
Room: Family Quad Share with Window - Room D87 (Fenix Express Wing)
Room Rate: 1st night = RM250, 2nd night RM200 - not very cheap but then it was the super peak weekend because of a Marathon, and the Melaka Festival, and the School Holidays.

Check in:
We arrive at nearly 2pm. Though there were a few persons in the queue in front of us, it did not take long for us to be served. However, there was only one staff at the front desk handling everything - from check in, check out, phone calls, enquiries, etc. Check in procedure was swift but the room was not ready at that time so we had to wait for nearly an hour.

Main Wing and Express Wing:
The hotel is actually located in 2 blocks of shop houses. Fenix Inn (Main) has 3 adjacent shop house lots and the Fenix Express Wing is in the shop house (across a little alley) behind the Main Wing. Was told that the Family Rooms are all situated in the Express Wing. The intention is for the rooms there (Express) to be of the budget sort while the Main wing will have the more classy rooms.

To get to the Room (in the Express Wing):
To get to our room, we were given 2 key cards. One to access the glass door into the lobby of the Express Wing (no security apart from that key card access) and the other key card to access the room itself.

Room was on level 2 - no lifts - had to walk up 2 long flights of stairs. No problem for able bodied people but may be challenging for older folk or anyone with knee problems.

Room and Amenities:
Room was simply but clean. 2 queen beds. Flat screen wall-mounted TV. Small Window. Tiny Corner with hangars (the kind can only be hung from the ring on the rack) for clothes. Downside of that is that beneath the hanging area was a wall-mounted console with tea/coffee making facilities and that meant that we could not hang long pants for it would drape over the beverage stuff.

Small vanity table with a stool and hairdryer in the drawer. That sufficed. There was a full-length mirror in the room.

Apart from the above mentioned items, the room was quite bare - no pictures on the walls, nor additional hooks to hang our clothes. So if you anticipate the need to dry wet clothes and stuff, bring your own laundry line or hangars.

Bathroom:
Bathroom was clean. No toiletries except 2 small bars of soap and a wall-mounted soap dispenser which was labelled 'all-in-1 shampoo and soap'. There was an instant heater for hot shower.

Aircon:
Single condenser unit - so it was powerful and good.

Room D87:
Good sized room - enough for 4. Downside is that the afternoon sun beats on the wall where the window is and it gets rather hot. But then with the zircon at full blast, the room gets cool quite fast.

Water-cooler:
There is a water-cooler on level 1 Express Wing. There you can get hot and cold filtered water.

Wifi from Room:
Wifi access was fast and good. No complaints what-so-ever.

Check out:
Was swift - again served by that same staff. Very efficient she was.

Transportation around Melaka:
Like in many reviews, transportation in Melaka is not superbly convenient although there are public buses running. Many attractions are within walking distance from the hotel but it is just too hot to be walking around too much.

Temperature:
Starts to get very hot from about 8:30am to 6:30pm. Beware - bring lots of sunblock and hats, shades and umbrellas.

Food around Fenix Inn:
Just across the street on the Fenix Express Side, there is a Bah Kut Teh shop. Braised sesame chicken clay pot was good. Not oily and no skin. The Bah Kut Teh soup was a little bit too herbal for our liking but otherwise good and hot. Price - reasonable.

Further down the street, Chicken Rice Ball Shop - sold out by 8:30pm. Did not get to try but will do so next time.

Across that Chicken Rice Shop, an Indian Eatery that served very good Nasi Lemak (Coconut Rice with Fried Egg, Anchovies, Peanuts, Cucumbers, Chilli). Their Roti Canai (aka Roti Prata) is definitely good - not oily and crispy.

Other eateries near the hotel include Starbucks, and many more on the other side of the main road.

Shuttle Service:
Paid for shuttle service to Melaka Sentral Terminal (Inter-state Bus Station). 4 pax = RM25 in an MPV. Took about 20-25 minutes. Discovered that the hotel staff (Mr Liang) can recommend many good eats in Melaka. Seek him out. :o)

Overall Stay Experience:
Convenience was absolutely great. Mahkota Parade Mall and Dataran Pahlawan Mall just 2 streets away. Room was clean. Check in and out - swift enough. Will stay there again in the future. :o)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Orange3J,

Thank your for choosing Fenix Inn as your ideal hotel during your recent trip to Melaka. We sincerely appreciate your feedback which is valuable to us in order to further improve our facilities and services

Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience caused in which your room was not ready on your arrival due to the hotel experiencing full house back to back situations daily due to the Malaysia & Singapore school holidays. We also take this opportunity to apologize for the short comings in our rooms such as interiors and in-room amenities. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations and refurbishment works in stages which will give our rooms a complete new look and concept for the enjoyment of our guests in the future

Our team and I look forward to welcome you back in the future for a more comfy, enjoyable and memorable experience...

Kind Regards,
Vivek Vadevelu
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Would like to share with fellow travellers that this is my 4th time I've stayed at Fenix Inn. Having just checked out with my mum & daughter on Jun 2nd, 2014, I'm still impressed with the level of courteous services & attitude accorded by the reception and car park valet, Mr Aziz. With no lift access, I've requested for a low floor bedroom as my elderly mum was travelling with me, and was very glad that my request was met. Jasmine was at the reception during our check-in and she was very warm and friendly as commended by other guests, as well as Mr Liang of whom we've met so timely and greeted us with a warm smile too.

Would recommend to tourists who are looking for a reasonably priced hotel with close proximity to shopping centres and yummy peranakan restaurants found alongside.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear ChevySue,

Thank your for choosing Fenix Inn as your ideal hotel during your recent trip to Melaka. We sincerely appreciate your feedback which is valuable to us in order to further improve our facilities and services

We are extremely delighted to hear of your compliments to our team members - Mr Liang, Ms Jasmine & En Azizi for the good services provided to you and your party during your stay! Our team members are always eager to provide the best services possible

We are pleased you enjoyed our services, facilities and location of our hotel very much and enjoyed the various food & beverage offerings within close proximity of our hotel during your stay!

Our team and I sincerely look forward to welcome you back for another enjoyable and memorable stay in the future..

Best Regards,
Vivek Vadevelu
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had stayed there for 2 nights in March. We had booked the room directly from the hotel's website with promotional rate. The hotel is 2 streets away from Hatten Hotel. We have stayed in the new wing and enjoying as everything are new :) Though it's facing the roadside, the noises from the moving traffic was not as bad as I have thought. There is no one manning the front desk in the new wing but it is safe as we need to tap the access card when entering the main door. The hotel have their own private carpark which is converted from a shop to a carpark. One thing I like about the hotel is that they have distilled water dispenser along the corridor. This save us the trouble and money to buy drinking water and carry it all the way back to the hotel. The room size is normal. Just enough to accommodate 2 person. There are no lifts and the staircase are narrow. It will be a little difficult to move up and down the stairs if you have large luggages. The hotel has free WiFi..

There are some miscommunication during the stay. Due to unforseen circumstances, we will need to extend our stay for another night. The front desk staff had assured me that the rate for the additional night will be charged based on promotional rate. But on the third day, the staff called my room and asked me to check out. Problem was solved after I have told them about the extension. However, they did not clean up the room on that day. When checking out, I was charged walk-in rate for the additional night. After talking to 3 personnel and explaining to them the reason for the extension (friend was admitted to hospital due to accident and could not be discharged in time), and infact I did not fully utilise the extension (I have checked out on the same day at 7pm. Theoretically, I have only stayed for half a day), they have finally agreed to settle with the promotional rate. Thank you.
I will stay there again because of the location and reasonable room rates.

Additional: Pls be careful when you cross the road. Even though it is red light, some vehicles do not bother to stop and they had even beat the red light at high speed. Pls wait for the vehicles to stop before crossing the roads or cross with the locals.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Sincerereview,

Thank your for choosing Fenix Inn as your ideal hotel during your recent trip to Melaka. We sincerely appreciate your feedback which is valuable to us in order to further improve our facilities and services

Please allow me to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused in which you had some issues extending your room. Rest be assured we have looked into this matter generally and are in re-training our Front Office team members to be more efficient and fluent in handling guest related matters.

As a whole, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our services, facilities and location of our hotel very much and the various food & beverage offerings within close proximity of our hotel during your stay!

Our team and I sincerely look forward to welcome you back for another enjoyable and memorable stay in the future..

Best Regards,
Vivek Vadevelu
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We booked a triple room with the price of rm125. Indeed it is very cheap with free valet parking. Additional car need to pay rm15 per day to obtain valet service which also consider quite reasonable. The room is super basic and clean thou we can tell that the room was aged. Shopping complex is just diagonally opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear backpack_lover,

Thank your for choosing Fenix Inn as your ideal hotel during your recent trip to Melaka. We sincerely appreciate your feedback which is valuable to us in order to further improve our facilities and services

We are extremely delighted to hear that you enjoyed our services, facilities and location of our hotel very much and enjoyed the various food & beverage offerings within close proximity of our hotel during your stay!
Our team and I sincerely look forward to welcome you back for another enjoyable and memorable stay in the future..

Best Regards,
Vivek Vadevelu
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fenix Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Inn

Address: 156 Jalan Merdeka | Taman Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fenix Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a break with the best value added promotion in the market to cater your accommodation and business needs! Looking for a convenient, comfortable, clean and affordable place to stay? Then Fenix Inn is your choice! Enjoy comfortable accommodation and get to know Melaka inside-out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fenix Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fenix Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.