We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly it's clean hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fenix Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fenix Inn to your Saves list
Fenix Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   156 Jalan Merdeka | Taman Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Surprisingly it's clean hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here last January 2014, drove from Singapore. I chose Fenix because they have own carpark and safe. Unlike other boutique hotels nearby.

Fenix Inn near to shopping malls such as Dataran Pahlawan and Mahkota. As well as Mahkota Medical Centre. It only takes about 5 minutes walking distance. Go to Jonker Street, you need to take a cab...otherwise walking about 20 minutes.

Clean and small room, but it's fine for us as long as it's clean. It does not provide breakfast, but mineral water is provided. Another good things, WiFi is free!
For those who have difficulties walking up on stairs, then you should avoid this hotel as they do not have lift.

We will be back to this hotel because it's affordable! most important is safe-carpark.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    191
    107
    10
    11
See reviews for
100
74
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The hotel wifi is quite slow and the hotel provides basic accomodation which is comfortable if you intend not to stay most of your time in the hotel. If not, find a better hotel as you need to climb up the stairs which is not convenient.

Room Tip: "Hotel is quite cramp" "Some room has no window" "The hotel has two diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I would like to share my disappointment with my one-night-stay in Fenix Inn. Despite its strategic location of being located just opposite Dataran Pahlawan, the actual condition and the interior are not what it looks like in the photos portrayed on its website. only the lobby looks decent but the room is in very terrible condition. I choose a family room for three, upon entering the room we were welcomed with a horrible smell, with dirty walls and floor, busted socket, no shampoo provided, and there is no pipe connected to the tape beside the toilet bowl. Not to forget the malfuntioned TV with no sound and no astro channels. We didnt ask for a change of room as we were on a tight schedule and we checked out early morn the next day at 630am. The stairs towards the first floor was also very dirty with no lighting and it will be difficult for elderly to climb up so many steps to get to the room. Plus there was no one to help u to usher you to your room or get your baggages to the room. It was a terrible experience and we would not wanna come again.
Don't be fool by the decent look of the lobby as portrayed.

Room Tip: Don't be fool by the decent look of the lobby as portrayed. You will regret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

my name is Ivan Chong , i would like to share out my disappointed experience staying at this Fenix Inn . i been check in on last saturday 15/2/2014 and check out on the next day .between on these 2 days 1 night vacation at melaka , i had losted my ang pow money with RM 50 each in these hotel Fenix Inn . i had put 2 - 3 pcs angpow in side my car thrower when i am back to this hotel (Before i handle my car to the jockey) . however , i was find out 2 pcs ang pow money losted on next morning (Total RM 100) . and i suspected they was doing stealing action and searching out matter in my car without my permission from the jockey PIC on my vehicle . the purpose i am sharing this message , it was given attention to who are staying these hotel in coming time . please be alert or behavior to yours wallet or any costly material . kindly please do not leave any costly material into your hotel / vehicle when you are leaving .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here for two nights when we were in Malacca. Hotel is conveniently located and offers decent value for money. Reception staff is a little slow, although helpful overall. Rooms are clean but nothing great. There is a Starbucks around the corner. The hotel also arranges for a very comfortable drop to the bus terminal or the airport. No restaurant included and no elevator. Basic rooms have no windows and can get a little stuffy.

Room Tip: Look for a room on the first level as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed for 4 days and 3 night, we like where the hotel located is. The place was near to shopping mall and easy to get halal food around the area. The room is just nice for 2 of us and we quit happy with the cleanliness of the room. Our boss engaged the hotel transport to ferry us back to Singapore. The car is very clean and neat, most important is the driver very polite.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I asked for an iron around 12 a.m and the receptionists said the housekeeper was already going home. So she said the iron facilities will be delivered to our room by 7a.m in the morning. And yeah, by 7 a.m, the housekeeper came and send the iron and iron board to our room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fenix Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Inn

Address: 156 Jalan Merdeka | Taman Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fenix Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a break with the best value added promotion in the market to cater your accommodation and business needs! Looking for a convenient, comfortable, clean and affordable place to stay? Then Fenix Inn is your choice! Enjoy comfortable accommodation and get to know Melaka inside-out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Fenix Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fenix Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.