We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fenix Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fenix Inn to your Saves list
Fenix Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   156 Jalan Merdeka | Taman Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 146 Hotels in Melaka
singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Was looking for a no-frills hotel that is affordable, clean and near the shopping ctrs in malacca and I must say that Fenix Inn is a rare gem! Used to put up at the Mahkota Hotel but was really put off by the fact that I ve to run across a huge spanse of busy road before reaching the shopping areas-no joke when u ve a stroller/pram and young kids with u!. Fenix Inn is just a stone throw away from the main shopping ctrs. I travelled with hubi and 3 kids and were given a family suite which is not reflected on its web. I wrote in to Fenix and enquire about the avail room suitable for my family and was recommended their Family suite - 2 queen beds. Email reply was very prompt. Before arriving I email them for early check-in request at 12pm instd of 2pm n was given it upon arrival. The room is small, 2 queen size bed and a toilet w shower. No cupboard but there is a rail w/ hangers for clothes. No basic toiletries provided but it is a no frill hotel so its alrite. Room is very clean. Toliets though are worn looking but it is very clean too. My only complain when I first enter is there is no windows in my room as it is built in the middle of the whole building but after a day of non-stop shopping, I really couldn't care less..lol. There is guarded valet parking at the hotel and leaving the car to them is very safe. Staffs are very nice and friendly, all service with smiles. What really surprises me the next day after coming back from breakfast, was that my room was made, towels all changed to new clean ones and all mess including my kids' toys, PJs, which was all over the beds and room was neatly placed aside! Kudos to them as I did not expect room service at a no-frills hotel! That was the highlight of my stay as I valued cleaniness the most. Checking out was a breeze too. Whole transaction took less than 5 mins. All in all it was a good trip for me and my family. Thank you Fenix and please keep up the good work! Will definitely stay with you again!

Room Tip: Bring yr own tolietries.:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolkoh, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Dear ineeanap,

Happy day! First of all, we are honored that you have selected Fenix Inn as your recent trip. Indeed it's very encouraging for all of us to learn that your experience with us was an enjoyable one.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and thank you for your commendation. We certainly look forward to welcoming you and family back again.

Thank you very much & have a good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    182
    91
    9
    11
See reviews for
93
66
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in a double room by myself. Room looked renovated not too long ago. The place was clean, bathroom looked nicely, even though the ventilation system needs about two days to actually make the bathroom dry again after a shower.

Fenix Inn is not a very personal hotel though being the most suitable for business travellers or people that do not spend too much time in the hotel itself. Internet is available through an internet cafe that is part of the hotel and which still needs to be payed for (in a small amount). Breakfast wasn't included, but there are enough options for that in the direct neighbourhood.

With the construction of a new (?) mall very close to the hotel, the location is very attractive if you want to combine the old and new Melaka. Some people would say Chinatown is a better location, but I preferred this location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolkoh, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2011
Dear Volkstuintje,

Greetings! Thank you very much for patronizing our Inn lately. We were honored to have you here with us. Moreover, we thank you for your time and valuable feedback.

We will continue to take all appropriate measures to provide a more personalized service (as highlighted) for all our guests. Thank you once again, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Fenix Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Location of the hotel is fantastic, right next to the shopping centres.
The room is a reasonable size for a family of 3 adults, 1 child and 1 infant.

On the surface, the laminated floor room looks very clean. However, we returned from dinner at 8pm to find tons of mini-sized cockroaches running about.

We had to grab the only chair and elevate all our bags one on top of the other. Start stomping the floor in attempt to kill the roaches. My little girl was screaming on top of her voice pointing us to this and that direction...

At the end of 15 minutes of chasing, we managed to kill 8 of them....

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolkoh, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear BakingMum,

Greetings from all of us! Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us. We are regretful to learn that our service rendered had failed you.

The management is now & still working hard to tackle on this roaches issue as we seriously do not wish to disappoint anymore valued guests of ours. So, please accept our sincere apology on this untoward incident & rest assured that every measures are now being taken in place to put it a stop on this issue.

Lastly, we appreciate your valuable feedback and thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

small hotel, not very popular with the taxi drivers, but very close to equitorial n carrefour. paid 94RM for 1 night stay, about 15-20mins walk to the attraction sights, but very close to shopping centre where there's heaps of bargins.

stayed at the new wing, rooms are quite small but clean, toilets and bathroom very clean, they hotel does not have any lifts, and the new wing is not connected to reception, therefore would be quite tiring if you have alot of luggage, so only suitable for light travellers.

down side is limited number of TV channnels, which could get a bit boring if you're trying to watch some tv before bed. otherwise, it's quite a comfortable stay if you're out and about most of the day and only needed a bed to sleep in.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolkoh, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Dear Kewlfruitz,

Greetings from all of us! It was indeed our pleasure to have hosted you during your last vacation to Historical Melaka. We hope you have had a great time.

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. The valuable points have been noted and we will work on these issues eventually. Once again, thank you for your patronage and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights. The location is great - esp. as it is just away from the very noisy Jonker Walk area - but still accessible to the various 'tourist' options. Several Chinese/Malay breakfast options nearby.

The rooms are (relatively) small, but so is the price. The front counter staff were helpful, just a little short on knowledge of advice regarding local attractions (eg. eateries, bookstores).

What we disliked was the shabby interior of the room.

The mould in the shower area could be easily removed with a soaking with bleach.

The scuffed walls really need a repaint.

The tired, broken plastic floor coverings need replacement.

And, the hotel should implement an immediate BAN on smoking in rooms/corridors (ie. install smoke alarms in ALL rooms/corridors).

This really is a place for those on a budget willing to turn a blind eye towards the shabby rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolkoh, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Dear Lucky-Oldie,

Great day! Thanks for your recent patronage and we do hope that you have had an enjoyable vacation in Melaka.

We appreciate all of the mentioned areas for improvement. Rest assured that we will continue to take all appropriate measures to upkeep our rooms & services provided.

Once again, thank you very much and you have a beautiful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

I booked for 1 night stay and found that it's good for short stay, great location walking distance to the shopping mall and few good food around that area.
Room was small and we found baby cockroaches, inform the counter and they change another room for us which was much smaller. After settled down, discovered that the toilet got some unpleasant smell, check but can't find the reason.

Didn't inform them bcos don't want to change room again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolkoh, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Dear Joyce2228,

Greetings! Thanks for your review alerting on the cleanliness & comfort of our room. We have identified the room & immediate measures have been taken to rectify the problems. We appreciate your sincere feedback & rest assured that this issue has reached the utmost attention of the management.

Please accept our sincere apology should there be any inconveniences caused. Once again, thank you for your patronage & we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Fenix Inn. Have a beautiful day ahead.


I booked for 1 night stay and found that it's good for short stay, great location walking distance to the shopping mall and few good food around that area.
Room was small and we found baby cockroaches, inform the counter and they change another room for us which was much smaller. After settled down, discovered that the toilet got some unpleasant smell, check but can't find the reason.

Didn't inform them bcos don't want to change room again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011 via mobile

I have stay in fenix a couple of time whenever I am at malacca. Normally i stay for a night as I need to transit.

Bad

At times u could find roaches, no hair dryer available,no windows for some of the rooms. Able to hear ur neighbors and along the hallway.tv is quite far from the bed. No radio channel.

Good
Central, near shopping malls and many great eating place just behind the hotel. 10mins walk away from brother John cafe. Wifi signal is always strong.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolkoh, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Dear ZaitunOlive,

Greetings! Thanks for your review highlighting areas for improvement at Fenix Inn. Rest assured that periodical pest control exercise has been practiced to tackle on this issue. For your information, hair dryer is available upon request and will be delivered to your room as well. We, at Fenix Inn has now working on upgrading our amenities & facilities in the hotel. Do check out our new face-lift in the not distant future.

Once again, we appreciate your genuine feedback on the above mentioned. We definitely love to welcoming you back to Fenix Inn again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fenix Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Inn

Address: 156 Jalan Merdeka | Taman Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fenix Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a break with the best value added promotion in the market to cater your accommodation and business needs! Looking for a convenient, comfortable, clean and affordable place to stay? Then Fenix Inn is your choice! Enjoy comfortable accommodation and get to know Melaka inside-out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fenix Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fenix Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.